Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
PK-6
Private
Fort Collins, CO
Students enrolled: 150
Before care: Yes
After care: Yes
School principal icon 130x130 140902

School Official Point of View

Rivendell communicates closely with the public school system in order to assure our students preparedness for middle and high school. Placement tests are administered as well as standardized tests. Parents are given all information and test results for their children. The feedback from the public schools is that our students are well prepared, and better still, personally invested in their educations.
April 30, 2012

4 stars
Based on 22 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


22 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Rivendell School of Northern Colorado 5

Posted February 02, 2014
- a parent
Love it love it love it! A recent move to the area brought us to Rivendell and it has been a life-changer for my kids. Small, intimate classes with really smart, caring teachers was just the beginning. The program philosophy of "individualized academic education" allows a child to pursue each subject at a pace that is appropriate to their development instead of trying to shoe-horn all of the kids through the curriculum at the same speed. Kids gain confidence because they are not comparing themselves to others and master a subject before moving on. The program fosters creativity and tolerance. A reasonable price for private education in any case and worth EVERY penny when your kid comes home and says "I love it here!"

Rivendell School of Northern Colorado 5

Posted December 02, 2013
- a parent
Rivendell is an amazing school. The teachers are highly qualified. The ratio of students per teacher is very low...which means much more care, encouragement and academic success! The results from the annual Iowa Tests prove it! Love Rivendell School!


Rivendell School of Northern Colorado 5

Posted October 28, 2013
- a teacher
Rivendell is about mastery-based learning. Giving a grade, good or bad, and moving on to the next topic is not an effective way to determine if a student has mastered the content. With the individualized curriculum offered at Rivendell, each student is moving forward at his/her own pace, and so the teachers have really committed to understanding each student and his/her needs. Grading is not necessary when students have frequent one-on-one check-ins with the teacher and various forms of feedback that all contribute to the student having opportunities to truly master the content at hand. Teachers do not assign letter grades, but students do get their work evaluated frequently and thoroughly. Feedback in the learning process is much more effective than a grade. Opportunities to revisit material are more effective than a low grade or being forced to move to the next topic when a student might not be ready. Rivendell not only has a philosophy of individualized education, but they also have a structure in place to offer it. The school is deeply committed to the philosophy of individualized education, and one can see evidence of it in all aspects of the students' learning experiences.

Rivendell School of Northern Colorado 5

Posted June 17, 2013
- a parent
Yes it is a private school, yes it is expensive and yes it is so completely worth it. My son had already done a private KG the year before he started at Rivendell. He was a year early (started at 4 in KG) and public schools were not going to take him in 1st grade because of age limits (he was too young). I had already been through what happens when he is in a class where he is not challenged enough and was not about to embark on this nightmare again, so Rivendell was the best option for us since it is a completely individualized program. I was skeptical about it until I actually observed it in the classroom. The school is extremely well organized, the teachers are very dedicated and competent and there is very low turnover because everybody loves it there. They also have spanish and german, music, computer science, art and PE. There is a real dialogue between staff and parents (and kids), you work as a team. Class sizes are small, they had 13 kids at the beginning of the year and ended with 16 in my son's class after a few joined mid-year. Kids love this school to and there is a real feeling of community. Don't hesitate if you have your eyes on this school, you won't regret.

Rivendell School of Northern Colorado 5

Posted May 10, 2013
- a parent
Rivendell is a wonderful place for children to be nurtured with a well-rounded education. They are treated with respect by a multi-talented group of educators who deliver a first-rate individualized education. While every child has unique needs, Rivendell is THE place for my child. Very happy there!


Rivendell School of Northern Colorado 1

Posted June 04, 2012
- a parent
WRONG to the last entry. Rivendell does NOT grade assignments. Ask the staff before you enroll.

Rivendell School of Northern Colorado 5

Posted June 02, 2012
- a parent
I am a proud Rivendell parent, and have never seen a teacher NOT provide grades and feedback on anything that our children work on at school. It is important to remember that you can stimulate the minds of our youth but motivation is intrinsic. I think that some parents spend money at a private school, and they might have unrealistic expectations from the educators. I m very pleased with this school!!

Rivendell School of Northern Colorado 1

Posted June 01, 2012
- a community member
This school is not worth the money. They do have an excellent student/teacher ratio and the curriculum is loaded with extras, like German and Spanish, but your child will learn very little of these languages. The basics (math, reading and writing) are mostly self paced or done independently, and NEVER graded, Be careful about this school. It is no better, and sometimes worse, than the public schools in Fort Collins.


Rivendell School of Northern Colorado 5

Posted April 27, 2012
- a parent
As with any school regardless of Public or Private, it starts with good management (The Principal), and that sets the tone for the culture, and quality of the teachers and learning environment... We have two kids at Rivendell, and if you are looking for the best of the best and can afford the cost of sending your children to a Private school, such as Rivendell, you will be providing your children with the academic foundation they certainly deserve... Rivendell has always kept us informed and been very candid about any behavioral or motivational issues with our children, and we as parents have the responsibility to deal with that... It's our job to be parents!

Rivendell School of Northern Colorado 5

Posted March 07, 2012
- a parent
We have our oldest Son in Rivendell and couldn't be happier with the quality of the education and the wonderful learning environment. Trust me, we spent a great deal of time researching and interviewing the large number of schools in the Fort Collins area. Although there are some good public schools to choose from... Rivendell provides the quality that we were looking for in a private school. The foundation years are so critically important and the staff of seasoned educators at Rivendell met all of our requirements. In fact, all of the Iowa test scores are well above the Standard State scores and kids are more than prepared to handle the testing requirements in the public school system. No worries for those parents having concerns about the test scores. All of the results are also posted on the school's website from 2007 to 2011. We are planning to send our youngest Son to Rivendell as well starting next year. It is well worth the investment!

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Rivendell School of Northern Colorado
1800 E Prospect Rd, Fort Collins, CO  80525
(970) 493-9052
Last modified Rivendell School of Northern Colorado is a Private school that serves grades PK-6
Rivendell School of Northern Colorado Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 22 reviews. Top