Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
12 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (1 response)
characters left.
There are 19 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Bacon Elementary School
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted January 22, 2016
- a parent
Miss Eurek has gone out of her way to make sure my son has a great school year, grows friendships and builds a positive character and influence for others.

Bacon Elementary School
Develops grit: Strongly agree

Posted January 22, 2016
- a parent
The monthly awards are awesome, they help develop leaders and good examples for other children to follow.


Bacon Elementary School
Develops respect: Agree

Posted January 22, 2016
- a parent
Children are held accountable for their actions and are responsible for how they treat others.

Bacon Elementary School 5

Posted February 28, 2015
- a parent
Great school! I have sent two kids through Bacon and two threw another. Bacon is incredible. They have a top notch special education program.

Bacon Elementary School 2

Posted November 05, 2014
- a parent
The classes end at 3:45 and school closes at 4:00 pm. My kid rides the bus and reaches home at 4:00 pm. My kid being autistic often forgets either his planner or lunch box. Recently he forgot lunch box for 3 days in a row. We send home lunch in order to bring any improvements possible with a planned diet. We have run out of lunch boxes now. So I went to the school with my kid at 4:02. The staff were present inside, after school programs were also on but doors were closed for outside. Staff would stare from inside but won't open the doors. I waited for someone to come out and after 10 mins a staff member did come out but despite our pleas just closed the door saying it is their "policy" not to allow anyone after 4 pm. Explained and pleaded for my kid's situation but failed to find any soft corner. "Policy" word was repeatedly hurled at us. Felt helpless and humiliated. Schools were supposed to be for kids. They want peace after 4 p.m. Let the kids and parents go... The policy appears to have been made for the betterment and benefit of the staff only. Other schools have ample time from classes to actual school close time e.g. 3:10 pm to 4:00 pm.


Bacon Elementary School 5

Posted September 22, 2014
- a parent
This school is a gem! We were new to Fort Collins & had previously always had our kids in parochial schools. Didn't like our options in FC and tried Bacon. The school welcomed our kids and made them feel part of the community from the moment they stepped into the building. The teachers, academics & families are GREAT. Character building is interwoven into the school day and the school provides a plethora of enrichment activities for kids who want to expand their learning beyond the regular subjects. The atmosphere is incredible; there's a calmness & happiness projected by the staff that is so refreshing. Hats off to the principal who clearly has a vision for what the elementary school experience should be about!

Bacon Elementary School 3

Posted August 27, 2013
- a parent
We spent a few years at this school. The teachers were wonderful people and there were plenty of opportunities for parental involvement. However, we do not feel our children progressed as much as they should have. There is little emphasis on individual student development, even when parents are eager to push their children. Students who fall behind are not given extra work, nor encouraged to catch up. Additionally, there appears to be a lack of leadership and elucidated goals.

Bacon Elementary School 4

Posted May 16, 2013
- a parent
Wonderful! We've been very happy there academiclly and socially!! We have only been there one year but it feels like "Home".


Bacon Elementary School 5

Posted April 16, 2010
- a parent
An amazing school... our daughter has gone through 2,3 & now 4th grade at Bacon. Our son is in full day kindergarten. I have yet to have a bad experience with a teacher. Mrs. Poduska and Mrs. Biedscheid are simply amazing. I was thinking about trying for the 'Core Knowledge' schools when we first got here... I am so happy we didn't. Bacon is amazing!

Bacon Elementary School 5

Posted January 24, 2010
- a parent
This is our first year at Bacon. The staff is wonderful, and there is quite a community feel to the school. Lots of parent involvement too. We are proud to be part of the Bacon family!

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Bacon Elementary School
5844 South Timberline Road, Fort Collins, CO  80528
(970) 488-5300
Last modified Bacon Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 7 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Bacon Elementary School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 19 reviews. Top