Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Discovery Montessori

Private

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Fort Collins

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $227,500. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $760.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

8 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 22, 2014

We are starting our 2nd year here and we absolutely love it. We were a bit nervous about the school because it's a 30-minute drive for us, but after last year, we know we'll continue to make the drive for the next 5 years so both our children can go! We watched our daughter grow from a child who could never entertain herself into an extremely imaginative, confident, self-directed person who takes great pride in the "work" she does - at school and at home. To answer the concerns I've read in other reviews... Re: phone not getting answered... It's true. No one is on staff purely for administration, so every teacher is focused on what they're supposed to be doing - teaching. If you really need to get ahold of them, they say to keep calling (they'll notice and realize it's an emergency,) or text. I've found both of these suggestions to work just fine. Teachers being instructed "not to talk about the child's day": they actually talk about this in the handbook. The Montessori approach respects children as fully-formed human beings and the teachers believe it's rude to talk *about* someone right in front of them. If there's anything you need to know - they'll call or write a note.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 14, 2013

My daughter entered this school as a shy 3 year old with many anxiety problem. The teaching style is just perfect for her, and I contribute most of her change in confidence to Discovery Montessori. We are excited to start one more preschool year!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 28, 2013

No one ever answers the phone when you call, and the after-hours caregivers are instructed not to tell parents about their child's day. The "Directress" does not run this school in keeping with Montessori philosophy. If I could give it ZERO stars, I would.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 17, 2011

We have been a Discovery Family for almost 5 years. All 3 of my children have gone here since they turned 2 1/2. The loving and nurturing environment that is provided for them is incredible. And you won't find another pre-school in Fort Collins that offers the diversity of experiences that kids at Discovery Montessori receive. Where else can you ride horses, learn French, make pottery, plant a vegetable garden and run a farmers market and make home made applesauce all in one day??? Montessori learning and structure isn't for everyone, but if you, like me, want your child to leave Preschool well-rounded and eager to learn. Then this is the place!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 28, 2011

My children have thrived here. The child-centered approach to learning has given my now 1st grader the drive and desire to pursue his educational interests. The staff is supportive and caring without dominating the classroom or lessons - the way a Montessori teacher should be!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 4, 2010

I have had all of my four children attend this school and so I can and do PERSONALLY give my vote to Discovery Montessori. The staff is well trained and cares deeply for the children. My youngest child is now thriving in 1st grade and our oldest is preparing for her second year in College. The amount of passion that Mrs. McGovern has for her school is evident with how meticulous she is for following through with her profound knowledge of Maria Montessori and her educational philosophy.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 7, 2010

We decided not to send our child back to this school. We have a long list of reasons why not. There are a couple of really great teachers at the school and several really unfriendly and/or unqualified. There are better choices out there!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 7, 2010

Terrible, terrible school... no parental information, thinks they're superior but really awful. I took my son out mid-year. Don't send your child here!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
 

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

Unfortunately, this school doesn't have sufficient data to generate an academic rating.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 93% 56%
Two or more races 7% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 0% 3%
Black 0% 5%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Hispanic 0% 32%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Nonsectarian

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Montessori

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

225 East Skyway Drive
Fort Collins, CO 80525
Phone: (970) 223-2445

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Werner Elementary School
Fort Collins, CO




Mcgraw Elementary School
Fort Collins, CO


St. Peter Lutheran School
Fort Collins, CO


Bacon Elementary School
Fort Collins, CO


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT