Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

T.R. Paul Academy Of Arts & Knowledge

Charter | K-5 | 264 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 15 ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
Based on 8 ratings
2011:
Based on 14 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

115 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted September 17, 2009

Because it is one of the best Schools my Grand Daughters could attend. they learn so much there while having fun, they love their teachers and look forward to school every day.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 17, 2009

Northern Colorado Academy of Arts & Knowledge is a wonderful school I couldn't ask for my child to attend a better school. Everything from the curriculum to the caring and attentive staff. The approach to learning has woked great for my daughter. She loves the focus groups of art,drama,and music,not to mention that we love that spainish is also taught. TR PAUL thank you for three great years and many more to come!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 17, 2009

That the kids get so much interaction with art and language! Creativity is a childs outlet and the way they see the world, I don't know how they learn without it.


Posted September 17, 2009

This incredible school is teaching my grandchildren things that regular schools just don't teach. My grandchildren started out brilliant! This school not only keeps up with them, but keeps their interest and encourages them to be individuals. Bravo!


Posted September 17, 2009

I really love how the kids are taught about all different cultures throughout history. My kids have learned so much! I also love that art will always be a big part of the curriculum.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 16, 2009

The Paragon program for this school has completely changed my children's outlook on learning.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 25, 2009

I have a child at TPAAK and have been happy with my child's teachers but have been more than dissapointed in the administration and tight group of parents that seem to run the school. It's understandable to have bumps in the road when you start up any type of business but when only the select few get to voice their opinion it totally negates the Charter school philosophy. I only hope this changes soon or more of us will take our children out.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 8, 2009

We found the opposite to what others have posted. Our children had very good grades at TPAAK and we were told that they were doing well academically. When they left for schools in the Thompson district, their grade did drop, but only because they hadn't been learning what they should have by the grades they were in. TPAAK has a tight group of parents who lambast anyone with concerns and drive out any efforts at change for the better.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 29, 2009

I have two children that now attend TPAAK, after leaving a state school in Loveland. This school has changed my children from being very depressed at their state school, to becoming confident, happy children, who always are smiling when I pick them up. I would really recommend TPAAK to any parent looking for a school for any children, but if you have a child with special needs, this school is truly excellent.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 22, 2009

I am a parent of 3 children at TPAAK. We have been hear since the first year that it opened. Each of my children have a different aptitudes and the teachers are so excellent at work with them on the level. I feel like we have the best teachers at TPAAK then any school around! When we moved to Fort Collins, our family looked at so many other schools and we where so impressed with the teachers and the school. My children have been excelling in their classes and have already moved up grade levels! TPAAK is awesome! Thank you! Michael
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 15, 2008

Our son started as a kindergartner and is now in second grade. We would have him nowhere else. The Paragon curriculum, teachers and administration, and SMART boards are great for his achievement. He is definitely ahead of other children at the same age from other schools.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 20, 2008

Teachers are great but leadership especially at pick up time is terrible. I offered to buy walkie talkies to help but another mom said she did the same and they won't use them!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 18, 2008

Amazing Teachers who really care!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 17, 2008

This is our 1st year at TPAAK & we absolutely love it! Our son is once again in a learning environment, keeping challenged and thriving. The academics are rigorous and expectations high. This is a great school for students who love school and love to learn! The teachers are extremely dedicated, hard working and fair. What a relief to find this school! The majority of start up issues have now been resolved. This school will only get stronger each year with highly committed parents, teachers, students and principal.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 15, 2008

This school is sort of like a split personality. The amazing teachers and education vs. the 'Hyde' board. There have been 4 principals in the last two years, and the current one has absolutely no experience, but has been doing a great job at trying to communicate with the parents while being acting principal. My son loves his class, his teacher and his ITBS scores are getting better each time. My mother, a teacher with 30+ years experience, says he is doing great. The board, however, is secretive and has a reputation of being nasty to those who disagree with them. Over the next few years, the board will become all parent based, and I hope that this will improve things.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 9, 2008

While most of the teachers at this school are phenomenal (with more teaching experience and education than the newly appointed principal, I might add) the administration has made it impossible for us to return next year. I agree with other reviews touting the great curriculum, but it really cannot thrive without a solid foundation. Education should not be treated as a business. Likewise, education is best left to educators.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 2, 2008

We love TPAAK, and advise anyone considering sending their kids there to visit the school. Before moving to Ft. Collins my kids went to private school and I would rate TPAAK as good or better than the school we were paying thousands of dollars each year to attend.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 27, 2008

This school is facing major problems in its administration, from Mosaica to the so-called 'board' to the interim principal! None are functioning at an acceptable level. Many teachers are doing a wonderful job, but there are also many whose skills are questionable at best. The curriculum is conceptually strong, but weak in its delivery. We've found the public school system to have much more to offer in the arts as well as in the core knowledge approach.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 16, 2008

In less than two years of being open, we have had 5 principals! The chaos at this school is just too much for us.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 16, 2007

The ability to subject accelerate is a great thing. However, the quality of teaching staff is not very good. Last year there were some very experienced teachers who did a wonderful job for our child. This year, there are a bunch of novice teachers and teachers who just cannot meet the needs of advanced children. I attibute this to poor treatment of staff by administration. Acceleration isn't enough when the classrooms to which the children advance have very little to offer.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 72% in 2013.

37 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
95%

2012

 
 
89%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 73% in 2013.

37 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
89%

2012

 
 
86%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 51% in 2013.

37 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
68%

2012

 
 
73%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 72% in 2013.

39 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
92%

2012

 
 
90%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 68% in 2013.

39 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
82%

2012

 
 
90%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2013.

39 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
82%

2012

 
 
75%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

20 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
65%

2012

 
 
72%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 70% in 2013.

20 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
75%

2012

 
 
59%
Science

The state average for Science was 49% in 2013.

20 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
50%

2012

 
 
62%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 57% in 2013.

20 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
65%

2012

 
 
69%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

All Students95%
Female89%
Male100%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)92%
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch95%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities95%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English94%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant95%

Reading

All Students89%
Female90%
Male89%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)92%
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch95%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities89%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English92%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant89%

Writing

All Students68%
Female68%
Male67%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)62%
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch68%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities68%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English69%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant68%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

The different student groups are identified by the Colorado Department of Education. If there are fewer than 16 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

All Students92%
Female100%
Male86%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)93%
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch100%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities95%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English92%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant92%

Reading

All Students82%
Female94%
Male71%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)79%
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch84%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities84%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English81%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant82%

Writing

All Students82%
Female89%
Male76%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)75%
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch84%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities84%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English81%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant82%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

The different student groups are identified by the Colorado Department of Education. If there are fewer than 16 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

All Students65%
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunchn/a
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities68%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English65%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant65%

Reading

All Students75%
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunchn/a
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities79%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English75%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant75%

Science

All Students50%
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunchn/a
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities53%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English50%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant50%

Writing

All Students65%
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunchn/a
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities69%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English65%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant65%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

The different student groups are identified by the Colorado Department of Education. If there are fewer than 16 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 73% 56%
Hispanic 13% 32%
Black 7% 5%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 6% 3%
Two or more races 2% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 31%N/A41%
Male 45%N/A51%
Female 55%N/A49%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
Dance teacher(s)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
Nurse(s)
PE instructor(s)
School psychologist
Special education coordinator
Speech and language therapist(s)
Tutor(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school officials and community members.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Staff resources available to students
  • Special education coordinator
  • Speech and language therapist(s)

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
Visual arts
  • Ceramics
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
  • Orchestra
  • Rock band
Performing and written arts
  • Drama

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Staff resources available to students
  • Speech and language therapist(s)

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • School psychologist
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School start time
  • 7:45 am
School end time
  • 3:45 pm
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • Before school
  • After school
School Leader's name
  • Phyllis Nakagawa
Fax number
  • (970) 226-2806

Programs

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • School psychologist
  • Special education coordinator
  • Speech and language therapist(s)
  • Tutor(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Cafeteria
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Girls sports
  • Cheerleading

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Ceramics
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
  • Orchestra
  • Rock band
Performing arts
  • Drama
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Coach sports teams or extracurricular activities
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Present special topics during curricular units
  • Volunteer in the classroom
  • Volunteer time after school
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

4512 Mcmurry Ave.
Fort Collins, CO 80525
Website: Click here
Phone: (970) 226-2800

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Kruse Elementary School
Fort Collins, CO



Linton Elementary School
Fort Collins, CO



St. Peter Lutheran School
Fort Collins, CO



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT