Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
15 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Not enough (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Somewhat effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered School leader (1 response)
characters left.
There are 30 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Polaris Expeditionary Learning School 5

Posted June 24, 2016
- a community member
My experience with Polaris has been nothing but positive and I can't say enough positive things about the staff and students there. Students seem, for the most part, to be enthusiastic learners and teachers consistently strive to challenge students by helping them learn how to think rather than what to think. Also note that their composite ACT scores have improved markedly over the 9 years that they've been around from 17.7 to 22.5.

Polaris Expeditionary Learning School
Grateful to: School leader

Posted June 24, 2016
- a community member
I want to thank Joe Gawronski, the principal, for supporting staff and encouraging students to be the best they can be.


Polaris Expeditionary Learning School
Teacher effectiveness: Somewhat effective

Posted August 22, 2015
- a parent
English strong. Science and math weak. Music is somewhat near garage band randomness. Watch out for many kids who use this school as a last stop.

Polaris Expeditionary Learning School 5

Posted February 15, 2015
- a student
This year I am a freshmen at Polaris. Though this is my first year (I recently switched over from a much more traditional school), I know I have certainly found my place. It's incredibly close-knit which I think is a benefit of the small size. I enjoy learning by doing and discussion rather than lectures and textbooks. I have found that Polaris is definitely the best place for experiential learning. It's also an amazingly open-minded place. You can be yourself and nobody could care less if you have piercings and purple hair or are gay or button your shirts to the top and go to church every day. Teachers are always there for you, always there to help you one-on-one with schoolwork or even personal problems. It is very laid back and students have a lot of freedom. I'm sure lots of people might disagree with this and think that "hey, these kids are much too young to have that much choice" but the truth is that you won't be prepared for college or the so called "real world" unless you learn how not to abuse freedom. The school is fairly casual and puts very little stress on standardized testing and homework. It provides lots of opportunities to find yourself. I love this school.

Polaris Expeditionary Learning School 4

Posted November 13, 2014
- a parent
If you were to go to CDE's webpage and look at each school's "report card" (School Performance Framework), you'll notice that Polaris in 2014 became the highest ranked school out of all the public schools within the district. This is a testament to the staff. They don't filter kids into AP/remedial courses, they have about 20 fewer days in class to get these results due to their Intensive Weeks and Fieldwork days, they don't inundate my child with homework, and they only use textbooks in math and foreign language. Kids to digital portfolios and preset them to panels at the end of 8th, 10th, and 12th grade. True 21st century learning in my eyes.


Polaris Expeditionary Learning School 5

Posted September 05, 2014
- a parent
11/10 wud skool agen mlg pro much legit so skewl 11/10 wud skool agen -mastr of sweg

Polaris Expeditionary Learning School 5

Posted August 02, 2013
- a community member
As a several-year student of Polaris, I believe it is a school which provides incredible opportunities for students. Coming from another, more traditional high school in Fort Collins, I found my voice was not heard and I was more of a statistic than a member of the community. At Polaris, all the wonderful teachers are supportive and push you as you need. I feel at Polaris, students must foster their own motivation however, because of the system. Although we do not have an AP, or IB program, the classes are engaging and I have learned much more than my time at other schools. With the hands-on, small classroom community, we can have discussions and learn how to critically think. With any criticism towards this school, I would say that the individual may not have flourished because of their lack of effort. The best way to have a rewarding learning experience here is to value your own education, which I have found easy here.

Polaris Expeditionary Learning School 1

Posted July 07, 2013
- a parent
Polaris is a weak school. While some of the teachers are kind, dedicated, and hardworking, other teachers and support staff are disorganized, petty, lacking in professional knowledge and compassion to the point of being mean and in a few cases, actually harassing students. The principal contributes to this dysfunctional behavior by enabling these teachers through selectively addressing parental concerns and ignoring others, being arrogant, patronizing, manipulative, and unfortunately, even dishonest. Furthermore, the school does not fully embrace the expeditionary learning model with either character development or teaching practices on a daily basis. Expeditionary learning is rarely evident outside of the three, week-long intensives each year. The school is definitely something that students and parents should think twice about.


Polaris Expeditionary Learning School 1

Posted June 13, 2013
- a parent
This school cultivates a culture of mediocrity, starting with the principal and going down through the ranks all the way to the students. The student population they attract are largely those who are unable to be successful in a "traditional" school atmosphere. Many people send their children there because they think Polaris provides more opportunities for individual attention, flexibility, and creativity. However, they in reality seem to cater to and encourage not much more than an anti-establishment mentality that in fact stunts the development of a good number of their students who otherwise have potential. Overall, there is an anti-intellectual culture -- among both staff and parents -- that is resentful of students who strive to achieve academically. Parents who take an active interest in their child's education are treated with suspicion and even disdain. In sum, this school is a great fit for students who do not have especially high academic aspirations, but anyone who is academically motivated should steer clear.

Polaris Expeditionary Learning School 5

Posted July 17, 2012
- a parent
This is an incredible school! Motivated, kind teachers and staff- individual attention, understanding of each child's potential. This is not a school for slackers- learning skills for the 21st century- hands on - I highly suggest you take a tour of the school, meet the principal and teachers. All are the most highly comitted people I have ever met. Kids are active, group oriented, and very interesting people! We love this school.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Polaris Expeditionary Learning School
1905 Orchard Place, Fort Collins, CO  80521
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 30 reviews. (970) 488-8260
Last modified Polaris Expeditionary Learning School is a Public school that serves grades 6-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 8 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top