Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
14 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Don't know (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very ineffective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 22 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Kruse Elementary School
Teacher effectiveness: Very ineffective

Posted May 20, 2016
- a parent
Each year I hope the last year was just a bad teacher. But this seems to be a constant trend now. The teachers won't communicate with parents, even when asked too, and don't always even communicate with the principles about their own actions, but will consistently punish the child. But somehow the teacher is always considered right. I am all for supporting your staff, but no one is perfect and you should be able to admit mistakes and make a plan to move forward.

Kruse Elementary School
Develops grit: Strongly disagree

Posted May 20, 2016
- a parent
When we came to kruse my child already struggled wth school and through being at kruse as learned to just hate school. The teachers gave up on helping him a long time ago and their answer to everything is just take any of the good activities away but not provide resources to the child who is clearly struggling.


Kruse Elementary School
Develops respect: Strongly disagree

Posted May 20, 2016
- a parent
I felt this school demanded a lot more respect for its staff than the staff showed for their students. The teachers are always right no matter what and the student is wrong and punishable.

Kruse Elementary School
Develops empathy: Strongly disagree

Posted May 20, 2016
- a parent
My family has had a very difficult year, including numerous deaths in the family, divorce, and the loss of a pet. During this time I asked the school to reach out to my child more and help him through this time. My child did not receive this help and furthermore the teacher decided to take away the one primary tool we had established, and then started to punish my child when he acted out, still never providing the resources the school does have, even with me asking for help. This is a very heartless school who is so set on their standardizing of everything to see the humanity of this situation.

Kruse Elementary School
Develops honesty: Strongly disagree

Posted May 20, 2016
- a parent
If a child does something wrong the school makes them write an apology letter. At first this seemed like a good idea, but when they didn't follow up with anything else my child has now learned to say the words I'm sorry without meaning them and with no expectation of changing behavior. It's just a very surface level effort on the schools behalf to show integrity.


Kruse Elementary School 1

Posted May 20, 2016
- a parent
The admin say they will communicate and work with you and your child, but I have been severely disappointed in their lack of any attempt to communicate or to try and provide tools for my child. Even after I asked to develop a IEP for my child I heard nothing further from the school and my son continues to struggle with no additional resources. I have came into the school innumerous times trying to help develop a plan for my child that would work for all parties and nothing has been implemented. We will be leaving this school permanently.

Kruse Elementary School 5

Posted November 10, 2014
- a parent
really wonderful. The office staff is helpful and kind, the principal, assistant principal, and other professionals really care about each and every student. Diversity is appreciated and respected here. I feel like we hit the jackpot with my three students going here for the last 8 years...and one more year to go!!!

Kruse Elementary School 5

Posted July 29, 2014
- a parent
Kruse is awesome!! This will be our second school year. We moved here from Arizona and absolutely loved our school there (rated a 10 on great schools) and so I was very nervous that we wouldn't like this school as much but we do! The principal is totally awesome! My kids were only there for about a week when he knew them by their first names and we speak to them every time he passed them in the hallways and use their names. I think that is amazing. Both of my kids' teachers were great. We are excited for our second school year here!


Kruse Elementary School 5

Posted November 24, 2013
- a parent
We are in our second year at Kruse, and I am an incredibly happy parent. My biggest complaint is that many of the activities are difficult for a single, working parent to attend. However, I feel confident that my daughter is in good hands. As an educator, I am impressed with what she's learning. As a parent, I am confident in the teachers, staff, and principal. Their achievement levels are impressive, and my daughter wakes up stoked to go to school and comes home excited to tell me about her day. I couldn't ask for much more than that.

Kruse Elementary School 5

Posted July 31, 2013
- a parent
We love Kruse. I don't know why there hasn't been a review done since 2011 but last year we really enjoyed our 2nd year in the school. The teachers are great! The principle is amazing, he will know your child's first name by the end of the first week too! Everyone has been so friendly and welcoming. This neighborhood school is highly recommended by our family. Another thing I would like to mention is that it is more diverse then I expected and I love that!

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Kruse Elementary School
4400 Mcmurry Avenue, Fort Collins, CO  80525
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 22 reviews. (970) 488-5625
Last modified Kruse Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 9 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top