Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
14 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 14 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Werner Elementary School 5

Posted May 09, 2014
- a community member
what i think about this school is it is grate. I was a student there it was really grate they helped me get throw some tuff times in school and there are grate teachers and students I love this school.

Werner Elementary School 5

Posted April 04, 2014
- a parent
We have been very pleased with Werner. My children were new last year and we were welcomed immediately. The principal takes the time to get to know each family and it really feels like a community. This year, my daughter's reading was a little lower than it should have been. She received extra help, including an after school "homework club." At the same time, my son is getting plenty of challenge in his advanced class. The PTA seems a bit "clique-y" but I think that is how it goes at any school. For the most part the parents are warm and friendly.


Werner Elementary School 3

Posted June 02, 2013
- a parent
Based on our experience the school did not live up to my expectations. The teacher was very unorganized. My child had a folder that was supposed to come home on Thursdays with homework for the week. Instead the homework was often crumpled up in the backpack with a pile of crumpled art projects and schoolwork. I had to sift through piles of junk paper to dig for homework and communications from the teacher. We never had a clear understanding of what was expected. I volunteered in class and was surprised at how loud, unorganized and chaotic things were. The children didn't seem to know what they were supposed to be doing. In my opinion, elementary school children need to have some structure and a clear understanding of what is expected of them. I found the school to be very unstructured. Even the lost and found pile just sits in the hallway full of lost belongings that are just strewn about - another element adding to the chaos and disorganization that appears prevalent here. There were aspects of the school we liked but in general we were disappointed.

Werner Elementary School 5

Posted March 28, 2011
- a parent
Wow, this has been just about the best move we could have made for our family. The teachers have been great for both of my kids. They were made to feel welcome and got right into fantastic social groups. I can't say enough about this wonderful learning community.

Werner Elementary School 1

Posted February 07, 2011
- a parent
My kids first year at the school was 5th grade (2010/11) and it has been the worst of all the schools he has attended. He received a "F" on the second day of school! He didn't even know where his classroom was yet!! The teachers are very ridged and they don't take the time to get to know new students. If your family grew up in Werner you are good. If not good luck if you dont fit the right mold. My child who was a excellent student in 3 other states now hates school. Thanks a lot!


Werner Elementary School 1

Posted February 07, 2011
- a community member
I will have to say that this is the worst school that we have encountered. Not only did my children lose a good quality education that they had received prior to coming here but they have great animosity towards their previous 5th grade teachers there. The principal has done nothing to improve the quality of staff that is teaching there and shows no interest in the concerns of the parents. The staff has NO interest in teaching but just receiving a paycheck and that is the saddest part of this experience. They should be ashamed of themselves having called themselves educators.

Werner Elementary School 5

Posted November 04, 2009
- a community member
As a former parent, I want to thank Werner's staff. My children received an outstanding education, and I contribute much of their success to the teachers at Werner.

Werner Elementary School 1

Posted March 07, 2009
- a parent
I was disappointed with this school when my children attended. I have a child with special needs, and the school could not fit him into the special needs class, so we had to pay for private lessons for him to help him. The school has a good reputation on the whole, but some people keep their bad opinions to themselves.


Werner Elementary School 5

Posted November 20, 2007
- a parent
We just moved into the area and our kids felt welcomed and they really like Werner. The teachers seem to really care about each child's individual learning styles. The teachers also seem sincerely interested in getting to know the parents. This is a gem.

Werner Elementary School 5

Posted December 28, 2006
- a parent
Fort Collins has many outstanding options for elementary schools. We evaluated several of them on the south side of town. Werner stood out. It has great staff, strong parental involvement, and a well-balanced mix of extracurricular and academic programs. We are very happy with it, and so are our kids.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Werner Elementary School
5400 Mail Creek Lane, Fort Collins, CO  80525
(970) 488-5550
Last modified Werner Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 10 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Werner Elementary School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 14 reviews. Top