Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
PK-5
Public
Fort Collins, CO
Students enrolled: 449

4 stars
Based on 7 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


8 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Olander Elementary School 5

Posted December 17, 2014
- a parent
We love Olander! My children love to go to school and really love project based learning!

Olander Elementary School 1

Posted June 06, 2014
- a community member
Weird... and suspicious... WHERE are all the low reviews the March 11, 2014 poster is referring to??? I see no bad reviews listed... how sad that you can't trust reviews regarding your child's education!!! Regardless, the 4/10 school rating speaks volumes... maybe this school can try and falsify those results too. Last time I checked 40% was FAILING... but nice try Olander... nice try. Your faculty must pride themselves in their 4/10 rating. You get a F. You FAIL. Just like the kids you "educate".


Olander Elementary School 5

Posted March 11, 2014
- a parent
I cannot imagine what measures were used to give such an excellent school such a bizarrely low rating. Olander is the best school I have ever seen or experienced. The teachers are excellent, dedicated professionals, most with advanced degrees, who continue their professional development. The students are uniformly engaged in interesting, meaningful work, learning grade-appropriate materials in fun ways that connect to their real lives and which build enthusiasm for learning. The culture is one of inclusion and kindness with sensible, consistent discipline applied appropriately, both pro-actively and, when needed, reactively. Kids with a variety of disabilities are fully and appropriately included in all areas of school life. After 4 years and 2 kids at Olander, I have never seen any of the problems that I grew up with: bullying, teasing, boredom, cliques, disengaged administration or teachers. Never. Not one single hint. The facility is similarly excellent with a comfortable, clean building, fun playground, garden, gym with a climbing wall. There are smart boards in every classroom. The library books are abundant and in good condition. Seriously, this is the best school ever.

Olander Elementary School 5

Posted March 10, 2014
- a parent
We have five kids that have been through the school and another that will start in a couple years. Our oldest daughter has special needs, and the community around the Olander school (teachers, parents, staff, & students) has always been very supportive. Even our other kids joined the rest of the community who have not had special needs in helping all kids, with or without disabilities. Supporting all kids is a key strength of the school. With the addition of the Project-Based Learning curriculum, all kids have the chance to experience both book- and experiential-learning and dive into a subject as deep as they are interested. Given all our kids' experiences, we'd highly recommend the school to anyone.
1 person found this helpful

Olander Elementary School 5

Posted May 29, 2013
- a parent
Olander has excellent teachers who are dedicated to making a difference for each and every student regardless of his or her level of need. Diversity is celebrated in such a way that everyone contributes to and learns from the project-based learning format. Parents are welcomed, valued, and included in the building culture that has a solid history of excellence in our community.


Olander Elementary School 0
no rating

Posted October 07, 2009
- a parent
Olander is the first School for Project Based Learning in the state of Colorado - an innovative educational approach that promotes the development of the whole child and arms them with 21st century skills in research, collaboration, problem solving and presentation of real world topics.

Olander Elementary School 5

Posted May 10, 2007
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Olander Elementary School 5

Posted April 21, 2006
- a parent
Our six year old son attends Kindergarten at Olander. We have found the faculty, staff, and administrators to be outstanding. The education our son receives has exceeded our expectations. The school keeps us informed via weekly Friday newsletters. The school is small enough (400 students) that there is a small school feeling which promotes getting to know students in other grades. The schoool sponsors monthly family nites that our six year old looks forward to as do we. The school faculty truly care about the children and teach to and address and accomodate the individuality of each child. We can not be happier with our son's education at this point.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Olander Elementary School
3401 Auntie Stone St, Fort Collins, CO  80526
(970) 488-8410
Last modified Olander Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 4 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Olander Elementary School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 8 reviews. Top