Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
16 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Not enough (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (1 response)
characters left.
There are 24 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Fountain Middle School 4

Posted May 19, 2016
- a community member
The School and teachers are Great, Whoever The Dean Mr. Walker has some type of problem with the kids and the kids can not do anything wrong because instead of him helping them he critize and tries to punish them. He is not a good role model for the kids so I do not know why he has this position. What he should do is a prosecutor for the court.

Fountain Middle School 2

Posted October 10, 2014
- a parent
The school overall is pretty good, the teachers are nice and willing to offer help. However the Dean Mr Walker needs to get off his high horse and realize he doesn't need to have a power trip with parents and especially the students. Treating children as if they are liers because they have attendance issues (that are medically documented) is absolutely not ok. My child doesn't even want to go back to school because he feels bullied by the dean and the teachers every time there's an absence. He can't help if he falls I'll I have explained this to the school and if they have an issue they need to contact me not harass the students. The Deans behavior is as if he is dealing with a thug/punk kid and he's not. My child has never misbehaved in a way for this man to need to be aggressive or angry with kids. Perhaps his tactics would be better in a high crime city like Chicago! I'm not very impressed nor does his power trip scare me in the least bit.


Fountain Middle School 4

Posted August 28, 2014
- a parent
This is my daughter's 3rd year at Fountain Middle and I couldn't be happier. She enjoys going to school, and there are plenty of advanced classes to challenge her. She is involved in multiple sports which cost me little to nothing, and there is bus service for kids after practice and after school programs. There is tutoring offered after school every single day. For such a large school they have the kids organized in a way that it is not overwhelming for them and they work with the same group of kids and teachers for their 3 years at Fountain Middle. I do agree that communication with parents on school events is lacking. All in all, great school, we have had a great experience.

Fountain Middle School 4

Posted January 17, 2012
- a parent
I would have to give this a school good rating based on the fact that my son loves going to school everyday. As a parent I don't feel like the school keeps us well informed and at times the staff seems a little unorganized. However my son loves middle school. He takes advantage of the after school activities and seems to enjoy the majority of his teachers. A good school but still has room for improvement.

Fountain Middle School 1

Posted October 15, 2011
- a community member
I recently switched out of Fountain Middle for 8th grade to go to Janitell. Fountain Middle doesnt allow the parents to be very involved, and the administration as well as counselors simply dont do their jobs. Some of the teachers are good but some are bad, the school lacks leadership and I do not reccomend going to this school.


Fountain Middle School
no rating

Posted April 19, 2010
- a community member
I just want the students there to have a better place to go and a better education system. Once I left it, everything seemed to have gone downhill. So, hopefully, this may help them more.

Fountain Middle School 5

Posted September 08, 2008
- a parent
FMS is a great school. The teachers truly care about the students and do anything they can to help the students with their academics. I have a very open communication with the teachers and I have 2 students there. Not once have I had trouble reaching a teacher with a quetsion or concern.

Fountain Middle School 3

Posted July 30, 2006
- a parent
We are very involved parents and we had some problem getting information about our son's progress in 7th grade. Teachers could be a little more in tune with parents.


Fountain Middle School 2

Posted August 18, 2005
- a parent
Programs are average, after school activities very limited. Administrative staff is not good. There has been a high turn over in administrative staff. Teachers try hard but lack the leadership to make the school better.

Fountain Middle School 3

Posted April 28, 2005
- a parent
I think that the quality if acadmic programs are second to none in this school. The teachers truely care about the students and where they are headed in the future and do all they can to help the student succeed in meeting their goals. The teachers in Fountain Middle School are highly trained and skilled in the areas in which they teach. There is a great music program at Fountain Middle School headed by Laurie Poffenbarger. She is outstanding in her conviction that any child can learn to play an instrument. She is very patient and caring and gives great incentives for helping a child learn. The sports program is also excellent, they offer football, track, baseball, and basket ball. Parental involvement at this age is hard to come by. Parents do show up for parent teacher conferences, as well as perfomances given by their students for band and choir.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Fountain Middle School
515 North Santa Fe Avenue, Fountain, CO  80817
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 24 reviews. (719) 382-1580
Last modified Fountain Middle School is a Public school that serves grades 6-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 5 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top