Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Manning Options School

Public | 7-8

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

12 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted May 20, 2014

Not what it used to be. Seems someone at the school read my original post since it was removed. Good. Here is a brand new post. ("School leader") is downright callous towards students and their lives. ("Second in command") needs to stop being (redacted) "juvenile" around impressionable middle schoolers, wear more conservative clothing, and set a good example for these kids. Let's just say her taste in vanity plates shows her vanity. Abide by your own dress code. How is it that students know what color of (redacted) the ("second in command") is wearing all the time? Grow up and pull up your ("article of lower body clothing"). The ("people who do the teaching") are holding this school together (barely). ("People who don't do teaching") should show some compassion and empathy for the next generation. Now that should pass the censors...are you trying to hide bad news behind your perfect score?
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 4, 2014

My child went to this school and he has experienced a lot of discrimination towards him and he would always come home crying to me of how he didn't want to go to school anymore and how the teachers and students were being racist and mean to him. He is afraid of going to school and wants to stay home. I find this unacceptable that the students and teachers at this school are being discriminatory against my child. He was in the GT program in elementary school and always got straight As and was always happy and joyful. this school has given him failing grades because the teachers are encouraging him to fail just because he is different. He is also very depressed because of the school and wants to stay home. I am very disappointed with this school and I think it should be shut down.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 19, 2010

School is good if your kid is already good. If ths student is lagging behind, they do not do any extra effor to bring him to the par. They just complain to parents that he/she is not doing good, so parents have to do something. Many parents like us are not able to help at home in many subjects and hope the school could have done something to help students lagging behind and not hoping that they will learn everything at home and do good at school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 14, 2010

This was a wonderful middle school and provided a solid foundation for my daughter as she entered high school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 26, 2010

This is our first year at Manning 09/10 and my daughter is enjoying it. She has an avearge of two hours of homework each night and seems well prepared for the homework assigned. I like that at an age where things can get rough socially for a kid, Manning seems to have risen above a lot of those issues. Even if your child isn't gifted Manning provides an environment conducive to learning.Great school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 23, 2009

Manning might suit some driven, and parentally controlled students, who strive to achieve academia (good grades) above all else. As for an enjoyable education, you need to go elsewhere. Just academics, four hours of homework a night, stressful weeks at the end of trimesters where you have to complete presentations and papers in all subjects, and sometimes inadequate teaching (with stressed out teachers, small lockers, tight hallways, old bathrooms, leads to success for those who strive on the stress, and whose parents stay up late with them every night. Education with no heart = Manning.


Posted May 27, 2009

Manning has an excellent academic program and students are challenged in a safe environment. The change in Principal for the 2008/09 school year has had a noticeable (negative) impact on this schools stellar reputation created under Tripp Sargent; enforcement of school discipline is very inconsistent among faculty and administration and consequences for severe infractions not tough enough. Monitoring of teacher classroom performance and execution of curriculum, and teacher participation in school conferences and activities also needs improvement.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 19, 2009

Must be the hardest middle school in the entire state of CO! Great foundation for high school and college. Be prepared for four hours of homework each night. Most recommendations for middle school level homework assignments are 80 - 90 minutes daily not 240 minutes! Otherwise, school totally prepares students for higher learning. Typical middle school peer issues, parking lot drop off/pick up process is very dangerous and a total nightmare. Staff seems to be well meaning and well educated for the most part. Can use Manning School as a very good foundation as stated earlier for higher learning, way ahead of most middle schools in the entire state of CO. A parent review
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 30, 2008

Manning is a truly exceptional middle school. I graduated in 2007, and I still miss the motivated kids, teachers and environment. I am now in 10th grade and I am taking the most advanced courses available. Manning prepared me so well for high school and although the environment is 'sheltered,' it is what a school should be- focused on learning and maturing instead of accomadating crazy teenagers. All programs are exceptional and the extracurricular academic opportunities rival my current high school. Manning is a school of excellence both academically and socially.


Posted July 22, 2008

I am a manning Alumni of 4 years now. I will always consiter it my school and my high school just a place I spend my days cause I have to. I was in a very gifted class and looking back it was the single greatest experince of my life. I was beyodn well educated. I always struggled in math and for the first time I was ahead and actuallly felt like i knew what i was doing. THe math i do now in high school, it doesnt have the lasting affect. The teachers were allof the highest quality and I never had difficulty getting along with them or learn what ever it was they were trying to convey. I wont lie in saying its a sheltered school. Middle school is where wild teen tendencies develop. Manning has no such issues. The quality of educators and students is unparalleled.
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 22, 2008

I am a student at manning and i love it there. The academics are great, the teachers are awesome, and the kids mostly work hard, but always have fun. Good school.
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 29, 2005

This is our second child at Manning Middle School. We are extremely happy with the high academic requirements and the over all school
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 55% in 2013.

222 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
92%

2012

 
 
86%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 68% in 2013.

222 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
94%

2012

 
 
94%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 61% in 2013.

222 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
91%

2012

 
 
88%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 52% in 2013.

219 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
87%

2012

 
 
92%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 67% in 2013.

219 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
95%

2012

 
 
96%
Science

The state average for Science was 52% in 2013.

219 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
84%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 56% in 2013.

219 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
89%

2012

 
 
92%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

All Students92%
Female89%
Male94%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic92%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)91%
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch92%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities92%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English92%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant92%

Reading

All Students94%
Female96%
Male93%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic96%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)93%
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch94%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities94%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English94%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant94%

Writing

All Students91%
Female96%
Male86%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic89%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)91%
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch92%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities91%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English91%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant91%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

The different student groups are identified by the Colorado Department of Education. If there are fewer than 16 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

All Students87%
Female85%
Male90%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic85%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)88%
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch88%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities87%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English88%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant87%

Reading

All Students95%
Female95%
Male94%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic95%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)94%
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch96%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities95%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English94%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant95%

Science

All Students88%
Female87%
Male88%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic95%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)87%
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch89%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities88%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English88%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant88%

Writing

All Students89%
Female91%
Male87%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic80%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)89%
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch90%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities89%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English90%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant89%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

The different student groups are identified by the Colorado Department of Education. If there are fewer than 16 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
Above average

Test score rating
Student growth rating

1-3 Below Average

4-7 Average

8-10 Above Average

 

How schools in the state rate:

23%
of schools in the state are Below average
52%
of schools in the state are Average
24%
of schools in the state are Above average

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

The graphs below compare this school's results in each area to other schools in the district and state.

Test score rating 20131What's this?

Test score rating examines how students at this school performed on standardized tests compared with other schools in Colorado. Test scores are based on 2012-13 TCAP results from the state of Colorado.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Student growth rating 20132What's this?

Student growth rating measures whether students at this school are making academic progress over time. Specifically, the rating looks at how much progress individual students have made on reading and math assessments during the past year or more.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Math growth at this school

Above average

Reading growth at this school

Above average


1 Test scores are based on 2012-13 TCAP results from the state of Colorado.

2 This rating is based on 2011-12 and 2012-13 Median Growth Percentiles in Math, English Language Arts, and Writing from the state of Colorado.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 84% 56%
Hispanic 7% 32%
Two or more races 4% 3%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 3% 3%
Black 1% 5%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 9%N/A41%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Assistant principal(s)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
PE instructor(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school community.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
  • Orchestra

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • PE instructor(s)
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Cafeteria
  • Library
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
Girls sports
  • Basketball

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
  • Orchestra
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

13200 West 32nd Place
Golden, CO 80401
Phone: (303) 982-6340

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



Alpine Valley School
Wheat Ridge, CO





ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT