Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Free Horizon Montessori Charter School

Charter | PK-8 | 381 students

Families choose Free Horizon Montessori for inspiring life-long learning.
 
 

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 3 ratings
2013:
Based on 25 ratings
2012:
Based on 9 ratings
2011:
Based on 14 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

62 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 11, 2014

I can't say enough about how this school's approach to learning has benefitted my children. My daughter is extremely high achieving, a little OCD, and tends to stress herself out seeking perfection. The Montessori model gave her a weekly to-do list, which allowed her to feel in control, structured, and focussed. She has been so successful there (I still remember the day she brought home a division worksheet in Kindergarten, her teacher just wanted to see if she could do it - she aced it!). My son has a completely different learning style. He is more social, and easily talks himself out of hard work. And yet somehow, the same education model has worked wonders with him. He has become a little leader, helps his friends, and works on the same "work" over and over again until he gets it. I think the teachers spend an unusual amount of time evaluating each student (compared to other education models). They stress individualized learning to the extent that two very different kids can both be extremely successful - academically and socially. I am so impressed!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 1, 2014

My child attended PreK and Kindergarten at FHM. We will be attending a new school beginning in Summer 2014. After being tested for the 1st grade level, my child may have to repeat Kindergarten because she is so unprepared after her education at FHM. Two years and over $12,000.00 in expenses to educate her and we have absolutely nothing to show for it!! I would never recommend this school to anyone who is serious about their child(rens) education - you will be incredibly disappointed with the results. They hide behind the "Montessori" philosophy as an explanation to why their students can't measure up to the rest of the county when in fact they just don't teach your child anything. I truly believe that this school should be shut down and the attending children be moved into better learning environments. TERRIBLE!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 28, 2014

My child has been a student at FHM for 4 years. 4 years ago, FHM was ranked as one of the best schools in Jefferson County. Sadly, this is no longer the case. Although my child continues to rank in the 90th percentile on standardized testing, I no longer feel confident that this will continue to be the case. FHM's proficiency ratings continue to fall the higher the grade level. The turnover rate of their teachers is horrific and the quality of their teachers along with their test scores continue to decline. I can no longer trust that my child's education is a priority at FHM. We will be leaving this school at the end of the school year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 27, 2013

After touring 11 different Montessori's on the front range, we are happy to say that Free Horizon easily measures up to, or exceeeds, even the best private Montessori's. The staff is caring and responsive and the communication is excellent. After-school activities have been really enjoyed by our student, and their gifted programs have also been very enriching. Highly recommended.!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 21, 2013

FHM gives our family a well rounded world view within education. I feel like I get my questions answered and my and my kids needs met in a warm, peaceful and loving environment.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 18, 2013

Free Horizon Montessori has been like a magic wand for my daughter. She joined FHM as an unsure student with little confidence. Now, after 3 years @ FHM, she is thriving - she is happy, confident and proud. As I've read the other comments posted about FHM, it is accurate that no school is perfect, however, FHM does a terrific job of doing their best with limited resources. We are extremely thankful for FHM's spirit, community and commitment.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 18, 2013

We came to FHM after a rough couple of years at a very test-focused, heavy homework school where we saw our son's love of learning and self confidence get worse every day. In just the 3 months he's been at FHM he is happier, healthier, more excited, and more in love with learning than I've ever seen him. This isn't a school for you if you think that test scores are the only thing that matters, or if you are an active participant in the sport of competitive parenting. But if you want a school that nurtures your child as a whole human being, and if you want a child that is in school to become a lifelong learner, not a test-taker, then this is a great school for you. And the long term evidence with Montessori shows that by high school these kids are doing better on the ACTs, getting into the colleges of their choice, and finishing college in 4 years - all without hours of homework at night and weeks of rote test-prep during the day. We are very happy with FHM - we wish they had more money for building repairs, etc. - but that's the district's fault, not the school's.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 17, 2013

I could write a very long post about all the things I love about Free Horizon Montessori (but don't worry I won't!). My children LOVE to go to school each day and they are enthusiastic about learning - that is certainly at the top of the list. The school community is amazing - there is an incredible commitment to FHM at all levels (students, teachers, Administration, and parents). Respect for others and peace education are incorporated into daily classroom routines. This school meets my children's academic, social, and emotional needs and I wouldn't choose any other school for them.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 16, 2013

Our family has been at Free Horizon for 6 years. Our two kids have thrived in the Montessori environment at Free Horizon due to the focus on individualized learning. We have always felt that our kids are being challenged on a daily basis. They are encouraged to "go deep" and truly understand their work. Free Horizon has even helped to enrich our home life through the school's focus on peace and global citizenship; we have learned so much by becoming a "Montessori family." Free Horizon educates the students in more than just reading, writing, and arithmetic; the school helps the students see the "bigger picture" of life through cultural studies and a peace curriculum. Our school's leadership and staff are fabulous! Our principal is *AMAZINGLY* dedicated to and passionate about Free Horizon. Parental involvement is very high at Free Horizon, which makes for a great school community and helps our staff in innumerable ways. Parents, want to make your school a better place? GET INVOLVED!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 25, 2013

I have at times been impressed and at times disappointed with the schools ability. There seems to have been a challenge bridging the gap from 3rd grade to 4th grade in terms of skill level as measured by standardized testing and in our own experience. The school has struggled to maintain consistent leadership and staff in part due to the desire for Montessori background and training. The community though is supportive, diverse and interested. We have not been aware of any significant bullying and my child feels that he is cared about. Communication with home could be improved upon. They do have a reasonable plan to address their performance measures. It just appears to be a daunting process to mesh both a Montessori curriculum with state guranteed viable curriculum requirements. There is not enough consistency yet to address special or outside the box needs of students who would have them.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 23, 2013

I moved my daughter to this school her 2nd grade year because I was not at all happy with the results at the public school she was in. She, like many other children did not thrive in the standard classroom and was academically far behind. She is now in 6th grade and is doing great and loves going to school. Free horizon has been the best thing I have ever done as a parent for my kid. We have moved in the last year and I make the 45 minute drive round trip to keep her there because it is that important to me.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 9, 2013

My feedback was also removed! Good early childhood option, but the 1-5 combind classrooms are very large. Crisis of leadership and high faculty and staff tuenover make for a difficult environment. Teacher quality highly variable. Excellent in some cases and abysmal in others.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 28, 2013

Had high hopes for Free Horizon as I my experience with their pre K-K classes was great. When it comes to Lower elementary (1-3rd grade), that is a different story. I feel my kids have not learned a whole lot this year at FHM. Learning was below average, and there was not a lot of Montessori teaching going on. We had to do a lot of supplemental work at home to feel like our kids were taking anything away from this school year. Between the bullying issues that seemed to go ignored by staff, the turnover of principles mid- year and the turnover of a classroom teach after 3 weeks, we cannot take any more and will not be returning to FHM next year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 25, 2013

Our school is excellent with regards to helping my children excel. Reading is a major focus, as is encouraging children to love learning (rather than having to study for tests). Communication with the school is ... well... terrible (failure to return phone calls, newsletters and school info isn't passed out until the last minute, etc), but that is my only major complaint. We love the staff, the majority of the teachers, and the montessori method that is embraced here.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 25, 2013

FHM used to be an amazing school and while I am still happy there for the majority (my children love it and are excelling in reading and math), I remain disappointed in the communication problems, the concentration on expanding the school rather than expanding the quality of education, and the high turn over. For the past 2 years, we've struggled with whether to find a new school or not, because the emphasis on individual learning and montessori methods had significantly reduced here.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 25, 2013

Free Horizon Montessori (FHM) is a place where you can see the light of learning in the children's eyes. My children have been going here since they were both 3 years old (6 years now), and while it has not been without its bumps, they are truly thriving. The teachers, principal and parents really care about student engagement, learning and autonomy. In our culture of school choice, it is very easy for a parent to bounce their children around from school to school rather than invest in the quality of the school they have chosen. Many parents and teachers at Free Horizon Montessori are investing in this school for the good of the children, the school community, and the community writ large. One example of this is teachers donating funds at the school fundraiser. It is common knowledge that teachers are not overly wealthy, but many teachers were willing to donate money back to their employer in order to further the mission of the school. It is impossible to remain completely true to the Montessori methods in this era of high-stakes testing, but FHM is close. (You can't expect to only use Montessori methods AND have kids know how to take the TCAP/CSAP/etc.). We <3 FHM!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 9, 2013

This is a school that somehow balances individualized learning, while promoting teamwork; all aiding with growing the entire student. I have two strong learners that enjoy being challenged in certain subjects. Free Horizon provides this option allowing for students to work at their own pace. Administration changes in the last 3 months have also led to some huge improvements; teaching assistants are back with budget dollars planned for next school year as well. The assistant principal (6+ years with the school) has moved into the principal role with the staff happy and excited about this change due to her strong commiment to children, and staff at FHM. From an improvemennt area, the school could use an actual gym (they currently use a room that is more like a classroom on days when PE outside isn't an option), as well as updated computers. Both of these require money that would need to be raised.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 20, 2013

Sadly, the quality of this school continues to decline with each passing month. Staff turnover has become a huge problem, and with it, test scores have drastically fallen, enrollment is dwindling, and a financial crisis is eminent. This is no longer a montessori school, and it no longer offers a viable alternative to traditional schools.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 10, 2013

One of the magical elements of what Free Horizon Montessori offers my children is the connections that teachers make between subject areas. It's not just Language, Math, Science and Social Studies taught in isolation. Rather, the content is intentionally woven together. The learning is rich and purposeful. Talk about 21st-century learning - I love it!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 20, 2013

We are extremely pleased with FHM after 18 months. Education is an important value in our family (my wife and I both have Masters degrees) and we've seen our daughter (grade K, age 6) flourish with planning her day, being a leader, getting help from older kids, and having a high degree of freedom to explore her world. FHM will make sense if you wish to play an active part in your child's education- daily attention to homework, volunteering, frequent community events, and being actively engaged in the school. As a charter school, we do have to work harder than mainstream schools (i.e. fundraising for capital projects, school expansions) but this also presents the opportunity to create and develop the classrooms and community we know is possible.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 72% in 2013.

48 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
54%

2012

 
 
53%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 73% in 2013.

48 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
75%

2012

 
 
78%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 51% in 2013.

48 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
38%

2012

 
 
38%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 72% in 2013.

41 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
54%

2012

 
 
59%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 68% in 2013.

41 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
73%

2012

 
 
63%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2013.

41 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
41%

2012

 
 
39%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

35 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
63%

2012

 
 
40%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 70% in 2013.

35 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
74%

2012

 
 
76%
Science

The state average for Science was 49% in 2013.

35 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
57%

2012

 
 
37%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 57% in 2013.

35 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
54%

2012

 
 
47%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 62% in 2013.

34 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
41%

2012

 
 
59%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 73% in 2013.

34 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
79%

2012

 
 
91%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 58% in 2013.

34 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
53%

2012

 
 
75%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 55% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
48%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 68% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
76%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 61% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
67%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 52% in 2013.

17 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
41%

2012

 
 
n/a
Reading

The state average for Reading was 67% in 2013.

17 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
n/a
Science

The state average for Science was 52% in 2013.

17 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
47%

2012

 
 
n/a
Writing

The state average for Writing was 56% in 2013.

17 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
59%

2012

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

All Students54%
Female46%
Male62%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)50%
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch59%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities57%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English53%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant54%

Reading

All Students75%
Female82%
Male69%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)71%
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch77%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities75%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English75%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant75%

Writing

All Students38%
Female55%
Male23%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)41%
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch39%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities41%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English36%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant38%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

The different student groups are identified by the Colorado Department of Education. If there are fewer than 16 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

All Students54%
Female58%
Male47%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)56%
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch65%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities56%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English53%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant54%

Reading

All Students73%
Female71%
Male77%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)71%
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch77%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities77%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English73%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant73%

Writing

All Students41%
Female46%
Male35%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)44%
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch50%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities44%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English40%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant41%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

The different student groups are identified by the Colorado Department of Education. If there are fewer than 16 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

All Students63%
Female57%
Malen/a
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)56%
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch74%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities71%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English63%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant63%

Reading

All Students74%
Female72%
Malen/a
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)72%
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch87%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities81%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English74%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant74%

Science

All Students57%
Female48%
Malen/a
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)56%
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch74%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities65%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English57%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant57%

Writing

All Students54%
Female52%
Malen/a
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)52%
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch61%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities61%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English54%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant54%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

The different student groups are identified by the Colorado Department of Education. If there are fewer than 16 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

All Students41%
Femalen/a
Male42%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)41%
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch44%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities44%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English39%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant41%

Reading

All Students79%
Femalen/a
Male68%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)85%
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch88%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities84%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English81%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant79%

Writing

All Students53%
Femalen/a
Male53%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)56%
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch60%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities56%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English52%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant53%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

The different student groups are identified by the Colorado Department of Education. If there are fewer than 16 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunchn/a
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilitiesn/a
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrantn/a

Reading

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunchn/a
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilitiesn/a
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrantn/a

Writing

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunchn/a
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilitiesn/a
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrantn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

The different student groups are identified by the Colorado Department of Education. If there are fewer than 16 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

All Students41%
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)44%
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunchn/a
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities44%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English41%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant41%

Reading

All Students88%
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)88%
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunchn/a
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities88%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English88%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant88%

Science

All Students47%
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)44%
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunchn/a
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities50%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English47%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant47%

Writing

All Students59%
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)56%
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunchn/a
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities63%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English59%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant59%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

The different student groups are identified by the Colorado Department of Education. If there are fewer than 16 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
Below average

Test score rating
Student growth rating

1-3 Below Average

4-7 Average

8-10 Above Average

 

How schools in the state rate:

23%
of schools in the state are Below average
52%
of schools in the state are Average
24%
of schools in the state are Above average

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

The graphs below compare this school's results in each area to other schools in the district and state.

Test score rating 20131What's this?

Test score rating examines how students at this school performed on standardized tests compared with other schools in Colorado. Test scores are based on 2012-13 TCAP results from the state of Colorado.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Student growth rating 20132What's this?

Student growth rating measures whether students at this school are making academic progress over time. Specifically, the rating looks at how much progress individual students have made on reading and math assessments during the past year or more.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Math growth at this school

Below Average

Reading growth at this school

Average


1 Test scores are based on 2012-13 TCAP results from the state of Colorado.

2 This rating is based on 2011-12 and 2012-13 Median Growth Percentiles in Math, English Language Arts, and Writing from the state of Colorado.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 79% 56%
Hispanic 10% 32%
Two or more races 8% 3%
Black 2% 5%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 1% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 15%N/A41%
Male 50%N/A51%
Female 50%N/A49%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Assistant principal(s)
Art teacher(s)
Computer specialist(s)
ELL/ESL Coordinator
Gifted specialist(s)
Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
PE instructor(s)
Reading specialist(s)
School psychologist
School social worker/counselors(s)
Special education coordinator
Speech and language therapist(s)
Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Extra learning resources offered
  • Differentiated learning programs
Staff resources available to students
  • Special education coordinator
  • Speech and language therapist(s)

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Staff resources available to students
  • Computer specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Access to farm or natural area
  • Computer lab
  • Garden/Greenhouse
Clubs
  • Technology club

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Sculpture
Music
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Jazz band
  • Theory
Performing and written arts
  • Drama
  • Poetry
Media arts
  • Technical design and production
  • Video / Film production
Clubs
  • Arts and crafts
  • Drama club
  • Student newspaper
  • Yearbook

Language learning

Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Staff resources available to students
  • ELL/ESL Coordinator
  • Speech and language therapist(s)
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Translation Services Available

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • School psychologist
School facilities
  • Access to farm or natural area
  • Access to sports fields
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")

Gifted & talented

Extra learning resources offered
  • Acceleration
Staff resources available to students
  • Gifted specialist(s)
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School start time
  • 8:00 am
School end time
  • 3:30 pm
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • Before school: starts at 7:00 a.m.
  • After school: ends at 6:00 p.m.
School Leader's name
  • Kresta S. M. Vuolo
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Phone
Age at which early childhood or Pre-K program begins
  • 3 years old
Gender
  • Coed
Special schedule
  • Extended/longer school day
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Fax number
  • (303) 231-9983

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Montessori
  • Multi-aged
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • None
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • No
Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Foreign languages taught
  • None
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • ELL/ESL Coordinator
  • Gifted specialist(s)
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Reading specialist(s)
  • School psychologist
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
  • Special education coordinator
  • Speech and language therapist(s)
  • Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Translation Services Available
Extra learning resources offered
  • Acceleration
  • Career/college counseling
  • Counseling
  • Differentiated learning programs
Transportation options
  • None
School facilities
  • Access to farm or natural area
  • Access to sports fields
  • Art room
  • Computer lab
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Internet access
  • Library
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
  • Music room
  • Playground
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Football
  • Soccer
  • Track
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Soccer
  • Track
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Sculpture
Music
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Jazz band
  • Theory
Performing arts
  • Drama
  • Poetry
Media arts
  • Technical design and production
  • Video / Film production

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Arts and crafts
  • Drama club
  • Student council/government
  • Student newspaper
  • Technology club
  • Yearbook
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Photos

School culture

Dress Code
  • Dress code
Bullying policy
  • This school has a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Coach sports teams or extracurricular activities
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Monitor the playground
  • Organize cultural events
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Present special topics during curricular units
  • Serve on Board of Directors
  • Serve on school improvement team or governance council
  • Volunteer in the classroom
More from this school
  • Free Horizon Montessori, a public charter school serving children in preschool through 8th grade, is a richly diverse community nestled in the foothills of Golden, Colorado. We are a growing school with more than 375 students and a strong, supportive parent body and passionate, committed faculty. FHM utilizes Montessori philosophy in balance with the rigor of Colorado state standards in providing individualized instruction, delivering an engaging curriculum, and supporting a strong community.
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

This school accepts applications on a

rolling basis

 
Apply now
 

What are your chances?


5 out of 10students were accepted for the 2012-2013 school year.


Students accepted for the 2012-2013 school year
98
Applications received for the 2012-2013 school year
200

Planning ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
Golden High School
Lakewood High School - IB Program
Pomona High School - PAH Program
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

581 Conference Place
Golden, CO 80401
Website: Click here
Phone: (303) 231-9801

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT