Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile

4 stars
Based on 12 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


12 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Coal Creek Canyon K-8 Elementary School 5

Posted July 18, 2014
- a parent
Fantastic small mountain school. Moved to the canyon from northeast Denver and my child is thriving in this community. The school has a very supportive parent community and the smaller number of students is a welcomed change from Denver's overcrowded classrooms. It feels like the kids have the chance to take things slowly and breathe in this environment and the teachers, school staff and PTSA members are accessible and helpful. So glad we made the change from the city!

Coal Creek Canyon K-8 Elementary School 5

Posted January 10, 2012
- a parent
Great school, nurturing dedicated staff, amazing parent/community involvement, safe & beautiful mountain location. Our son loves it here and his progress on test scores has been amazing - I attribute this to his excellent & caring classroom teachers. Something about the academic environment & challenges motivates him tremendously; he actually looks forward to going to school each day & strives to excel. We don't even have to enforce homework rules - he comes home & does it at his own initiative every day! Have lived in big cities before, we watched many friends spend a fortune sending their kids to private schools since local schools funded by property taxes were so poor -- here, we feel like we really get our money's worth in an excellent public school funded by our tax dollars. There's an unusual lack of ethnic and socio-economic diversity for a public school, seemingly because of the people who choose to live in Coal Creek Canyon. The overwhelming majorty of student families are white and middle-class, but despite this there are no signs of descrimination or exclusivity - there's also no gang or drug culture. Small school means limited extracurricular activities, however.


Coal Creek Canyon K-8 Elementary School 4

Posted January 26, 2011
- a parent
excellent, dedicated teachers and principal; can't understand the one negative review except that it is from a parent with a personal grudge. This school is very highly focused on the subjects mentioned and the PTSA is very active with more extracurricular activities than in previous years

Coal Creek Canyon K-8 Elementary School 5

Posted September 28, 2010
- a parent
Friendly and caring parent-teacher relationships in a community willing to grow children.

Coal Creek Canyon K-8 Elementary School 5

Posted February 10, 2009
- a student
This review submitted without content.


Coal Creek Canyon K-8 Elementary School 4

Posted August 28, 2008
- a parent
Very good quality school, excellent teachers, very small class size, very safe environment, very involved community. Beautiful, clean environment - surrounded by mountains and horse properties high above the Denver smog. Everyone knows everyone. The spring talent show packs the gym to overflowing every year, and almost every kid tries out for the talent show. Downside - small school, so the extracurricular activities are not as diverse.

Coal Creek Canyon K-8 Elementary School 5

Posted August 11, 2008
- a parent
Coal Creek Canyon is an outstanding school where the children feel safe, loved and respected. There have been many changes in teaching/admin staff over the 7+ years we have been involved with the school but a safe and nurturing environment in which to learn has always been a constant here. The school district itself here has gone through many changes over these years making the curriculum inconsistent but the staff has adapted and is top notch.

Coal Creek Canyon K-8 Elementary School 1

Posted June 30, 2008
- a parent
CCK-8's focus on reading, writing, and arithmetic is abominable, and extracurricular opportunities are few and far-between. Teachers come and go often at Coal Creek, but continue to be far more interested in politics and agendas than they are academics.


Coal Creek Canyon K-8 Elementary School 5

Posted January 04, 2008
- a parent
Awesome school no doubt about it!

Coal Creek Canyon K-8 Elementary School 5

Posted December 28, 2007
- a student
This review submitted without content.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Coal Creek Canyon K-8 Elementary School
11719 Ranch Elsie Rd, Golden, CO  80403
(303) 982-3409
Last modified Coal Creek Canyon K-8 Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 8 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Coal Creek Canyon K-8 Elementary School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 12 reviews. Top