Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Golden High School

Public | 9-12 | 1249 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

29 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted January 14, 2014

Some really exciting things happening at Golden High School. This is the only real "neighborhood high school" in Jeffco - and it serves kids across the spectrum well!! GHS is a STEM school, without feeling the need to be labeled such. At the same time, it has an excellent arts program and very high-level culinary courses. In other words, ALL the kids from the GHS neighborhood will find their niche here. Honors and AP kids thrive. ESS kids thrive. Teachers are engaged and care about kids even outside of the classroom. Team spirit runs deep and community involvement is high. The Golden City Council has only one high school on which to focus - GHS benefits from that community connection. The oldest high school in Colorado is a GREAT SCHOOL!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 7, 2013

I have transferred many times since starting school. I am about to start my senior year at GHS. I have been there for a year and a half now and I love it. The academics are challenging and I have been welcomed into the community. Through social opportunities and athletics I feel like I truly am a part of the school. All of the teachers and staff have been great. I love GHS and am glad that I will be graduating from the school.
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 14, 2012

My name is Juan carlos I went to GHS in 1977 as a foreing student from Venezuela, I loved that school, theTeachers were very strict, I had a wonderfull friends. I will sent my son when he graduated from high school here in Venezuela to GHS to learn english. a Very good school and the people excelent.


Posted April 23, 2012

Each of my three children attended this school, but none graduated; I removed them due to issues with the administration. This is not a school that will work to meet the individual needs of the student. On several occassions, I tried to work with staff to modify course schedule to best fit my student's progress and capabilities. Each time I was told that changes could not be accommodated. Tired of edictorial policy and false promises, I decided to look elsewhere for a quality education . I found out that in Jeffco, school policies are mostly controlled by the local school administrators. In the case of Principal Murphy at GHS, this meant no special effort to work with the student. The policy trickled down to the other administratos as well, including current Principal Conroy, who as AP did not keep several commitments. Since the class of 2011 graduated, several of the adminstrators have left the school, presumably retired. However, what every parent should know is that even in the public school system there are options. Other Jeffco schools are more accommodating. Contact your school superintendent to discuss the options if you have a student that does not fit the rigid GHS mold.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 17, 2011

My son graduated from GHS in 2007. He has now graduated from an out of state university with excellent grades. He was extremely well prepared for college. In fact, his freshman year of college my son commented that he was better prepared for college than many of his classmates who had attended private prep schools. Like everything you will get out of GHS what you put into it. We now have a son entering 10th grade at GHS are pleased with his progress there as well.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 1, 2010

The school its self is great! but the teachers and students have a 'blah' attutide! I sugest a different school!


Posted January 19, 2010

I am a parent of a Freshman at GHS and thus far I love this school! The academic challenge is definitely there in the honors program and there is a wonderful community of really smart and interesting kids. There is a sense of 'community' in this school that is lacking in all of the other Jeffco High Schools. Their drama department is nothing short of unbelievable in what they produce, and the sports teams, while not the very best are competitive at most levels. The brand new facility is first rate and has brought a whole new atmosphere to this school. These kids are getting the best teachers in brand new classrooms with views that most people have to pay for! A real nugget (no pun intended!) of a school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 29, 2009

After spending a semester at GHS I would have to say the the people at golden are very friendly unfortunatly acedemicaly I was never challanged and find myself having to catch up going back to finish my high school years
—Submitted by a student


Posted December 9, 2009

I loved my experience at GHS! However, they could have prepared me/others better for college! I was one of the very few students to go to school out of state. Many students didn t even go to college. SO disappointing! Once I got to college I felt unprepared academically. At GHS I never studied, did my homework right before class (or during), yet still got a 3.4 GPA. With how easy GHS was, I was surprised to get such a bad GPA my freshman year of college and realized I could not slack off anymore! I think off-blocks and off-campus lunch is a great way to teach students responsibility. Let s be honest all kids are going to ditch class and experiment with drinking and smoking. This has nothing to do with the school they attend. Please don t worry about sending your kid to GHS. Just be proactive about their college search!


Posted March 1, 2009

I am not very impressed with the quality of this school. The principal tends to give excuses, bowing to pressure rather than providing leadership by setting goals and high expectations for the students. Much of the student body has a 'just get by' attitude. There is too much drug usage and excessive displays of sexual activity allowed. The administration has a punitive rather than encouraging attitude. All of this leads to low achievement by students. The new school building, the teachers and choir director are very good, however.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 18, 2008

I love Golden High School! As a graduate of GHS I can tell you that I enjoyed a healthy balance of strong academic integrity, driven extra-curricular activities, and an accepting and inviting social atmosphere during my four years there. The teachers pushed me to succeed and were willing to sit with me individually to work out problems or concepts that were hard to grasp. In my search for the right college and scholarships, the counseling staff was instrumental, and was always willing to take time from their schedules to help me personally. Currently I am a freshman at a private Christian college, and the recipient of a very competitive full-ride academic scholarship, which I believe my high school prepared and enabled me to compete for. Attending GHS was an enriching experience that I encourage anyone to seek after.
—Submitted by a student


Posted July 22, 2008

I am currently entering my senior year. After reading teh review I think they are all justifed. I think most parents if not all overlook one goal of highschool. Its about learning personal responsibility. When parnts complain about off blocks, falling grades and lack of aid its not the schools fault. I will vouch that excellent teachers and unrivield oppertunities exist at golden. You just have to step up to the plate and take advantage of it. That said their science department is untouchable. THey offer a wide variety of both honors and AP courses. If you have a child who is willing to work/seek such oppertunities it may vry well be one of the best high schools in existance. I wont lie though, many contempary students are rough around the edges.
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 27, 2008

I love this school. I graduated in 2007 and I now attend college in nebraska at kearney. Teachers are willing to give a helping hand
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 12, 2007

this school rocks
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 2, 2007

My daughter transfered to Golden last year as a Junior. She was happy with her decison to transfer the first day and did not ever look back. Her counselor was helpful and supportive. She did well both academically and socially. As an athlete she experienced great coaching and she loved her team mates. She is well postioned to succeed in what ever she chooses.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 23, 2007

I am about to graduate from Golden High School and although there are many things I think they could improve the school was great. I had a few teachers that were off their rocker but the teachers that really do care made up for that. One thing I would change is the support that goes into all of the arts from the Principal and rest of the school, I've seen a decline in activities in the arts, good supplies and enthusiasm, which greatly disappoints me. But other than that I don't think I could have asked to go to a better high school, in a better community. I feel safe at Golden and I will always be able to call it home.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted April 19, 2007

I have been struggling with some teachers regarding curriculum. There seems to be no set curriculum in some of the classes. How do we encourage or help our student with no guidelines?
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 10, 2007

This is our fourth child that has attended and graduating from GHS. This senior year has been a major disappointment for our son as well as ourselves. From the parking lot fiasco to poor interaction with school counselors, Sports/Coaching/favoritism issues for the past four years. We are happy to be through with Jeffco schools!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 15, 2007

We love GHS. Our son graduated in 2003 and was accepted to an Ivy League school as well as 12 other very highly ranked schools including Middlebury, Williams, WashU, etc. In other words, if a student is willing to apply themselves, they can get an exceptional education and can achieve as much as they could going to a private school. But, at GHS they will have a more rounded experience. We now have a daughter at GHS and she loves it, although she has to work very hard. The school has been on a positive upward trend for the past 6-8 years as a result of good leadership, teachers, and coaches who care. With a new school under construction, the students and staff will be in an environment even more conducive to learning and generally a more positive experience.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 15, 2006

My son graduated from GHS this past May. I was very pleased with the academic and well rounded education he received. He will be going on to college and is well prepared. My other son will be a sophomore at GHS this fall. He had a great freshman year at Golden. He managed a 3.8 gpa.in honors classes. This was a kid who was on an ILP (individual literacy plan) throughout elem. school. He is challenged, diciplined, and thriving. The teaching staff appears to be deticated (ever been to conference night?) The administrative staff is adeuate. It will be interesting to see how the environment will change as the new school is built. I enjoy the online newsletter & infinat campus. The sports fees in Jeffco are skyhigh.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 39% in 2013.

327 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
46%

2012

 
 
47%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 68% in 2013.

327 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
75%

2012

 
 
73%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 55% in 2013.

327 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
61%

2012

 
 
57%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 34% in 2013.

334 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
42%

2012

 
 
39%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 70% in 2013.

333 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
78%

2012

 
 
74%
Science

The state average for Science was 51% in 2013.

334 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
64%

2012

 
 
62%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 49% in 2013.

333 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
54%

2012

 
 
55%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

All Students46%
Female36%
Male55%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic22%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)50%
Free lunch eligible21%
Reduced lunch eligible41%
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch56%
Students with disabilities (IEP)4%
Students without disabilities49%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English47%
Migrantn/a
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant46%

Reading

All Students75%
Female78%
Male73%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic60%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)78%
Free lunch eligible53%
Reduced lunch eligible64%
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch85%
Students with disabilities (IEP)28%
Students without disabilities79%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English77%
Migrantn/a
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant75%

Writing

All Students61%
Female65%
Male57%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic44%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)65%
Free lunch eligible31%
Reduced lunch eligible50%
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch73%
Students with disabilities (IEP)12%
Students without disabilities65%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English63%
Migrantn/a
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant61%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

The different student groups are identified by the Colorado Department of Education. If there are fewer than 16 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

All Students42%
Female40%
Male45%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic26%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)44%
Free lunch eligible20%
Reduced lunch eligible13%
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch49%
Students with disabilities (IEP)0%
Students without disabilities46%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English44%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant42%

Reading

All Students78%
Female84%
Male73%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic76%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)78%
Free lunch eligible60%
Reduced lunch eligible56%
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch84%
Students with disabilities (IEP)38%
Students without disabilities82%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English79%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant78%

Science

All Students64%
Female64%
Male62%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic53%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)66%
Free lunch eligible46%
Reduced lunch eligible50%
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch69%
Students with disabilities (IEP)21%
Students without disabilities67%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English65%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant64%

Writing

All Students54%
Female63%
Male45%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic42%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)57%
Free lunch eligible28%
Reduced lunch eligible44%
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch61%
Students with disabilities (IEP)4%
Students without disabilities58%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English56%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant54%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

The different student groups are identified by the Colorado Department of Education. If there are fewer than 16 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
Average

Test score rating
Student growth rating
College readiness rating

1-3 Below Average

4-7 Average

8-10 Above Average

 

How schools in the state rate:

23%
of schools in the state are Below average
52%
of schools in the state are Average
24%
of schools in the state are Above average

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

The graphs below compare this school's results in each area to other schools in the district and state.

Test score rating 20131What's this?

Test score rating examines how students at this school performed on standardized tests compared with other schools in Colorado. Test scores are based on 2012-13 TCAP results from the state of Colorado.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Student growth rating 20132What's this?

Student growth rating measures whether students at this school are making academic progress over time. Specifically, the rating looks at how much progress individual students have made on reading and math assessments during the past year or more.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Math growth at this school

Average

Reading growth at this school

Below Average


College readiness rating 20133What's this?

College readiness rating combines this high school's graduation rates with data about college entrance exams, both of which are indicators of how well schools are preparing students for success in college and beyond.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

ACT participation

96%

Average ACT score

21

Graduation rate

85%


1 Test scores are based on 2012-13 TCAP results from the state of Colorado.

2 This rating is based on 2011-12 and 2012-13 Median Growth Percentiles in Math, English Language Arts, and Writing from the state of Colorado.

3 This rating is based on composite ACT scores from 2012-13 and four-year adjusted graduation rates from 2011-12. ACT participation represents the percentage of 11th graders taking the ACT. Because the ACT is mandated in Colorado high schools, ACT participation is NOT included in the GreatSchools rating.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 81% 56%
Hispanic 11% 32%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 3% 3%
Two or more races 3% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 1%
Black 1% 5%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 22%N/A41%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Assistant principal(s)
ELL/ESL Coordinator
Librarian/media specialist(s)
School social worker/counselors(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school community.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
  • Orchestra

Language learning

Staff resources available to students
  • ELL/ESL Coordinator
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Fax number
  • (303) 982-4201

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • ELL/ESL Coordinator
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Cafeteria
  • Library
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Golf
  • Soccer
  • Tennis
Girls sports
  • Lacrosse
  • Soccer
  • Tennis

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
  • Orchestra
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

701 24th St
Golden, CO 80401
Website: Click here
Phone: (303) 982-4200

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools





Mc Lain High School
Lakewood, CO



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT