Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
35 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (1 response)
characters left.
There are 46 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Golden High School 5

Posted November 06, 2015
- a parent
The staff is incredibly invested in thier students and are so willing to provide support and guidance. Not to mention that they are all incredibly responsive. I have never waited more than 24 hours for an email response, unless it was the weekend or a holiday. And even then, I've often had teachers respond immediately to let me know they'd address the email Monday, which is above and beyond in my opinion. Also, their athletic staff is incredibly involved and supportive of the kids. Our experience has been wonderful!

Golden High School
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted November 06, 2015
- a parent
A HUGE thanks to Sia Anderson for being so intentional and building a team of girls that are kind, respectful, and are expected to display a high level of character and support for thier student body. I can't say enough about how valuable your influence is to these girls. Strong, dedicated, and kind. That's what you are and what you ask of the girls on your team.


Golden High School
Develops empathy: Strongly agree

Posted November 06, 2015
- a parent
The athletic administrators really encourage the involvement of kids from all levels of ability, both financial, mental, and physical, and they support them in success according to their level of need and ability to be involved. There are many developmentally disabled kids and kids from lower incomes thriving in athletic involvement there.

Golden High School 4

Posted December 04, 2014
- a parent
We are new to the Golden community. This school is great! The community is very supportive and welcoming. Golden is a lovely school and we chose it because it doesnt have IB. We were looking for challenging classes but like the idea of choosing which subjects these classes are in as well as not having the whole school focused on one program. We found a great fit with Golden. The teachers and coaches are supportive and take their job of being mentors to our children very seriously. I havent dealt with administration much so I cant speak to the leadership. After leaving Denver public schools (which are a joke) we couldnt be happier with Golden.

Golden High School 5

Posted January 14, 2014
- a parent
Some really exciting things happening at Golden High School. This is the only real "neighborhood high school" in Jeffco - and it serves kids across the spectrum well!! GHS is a STEM school, without feeling the need to be labeled such. At the same time, it has an excellent arts program and very high-level culinary courses. In other words, ALL the kids from the GHS neighborhood will find their niche here. Honors and AP kids thrive. ESS kids thrive. Teachers are engaged and care about kids even outside of the classroom. Team spirit runs deep and community involvement is high. The Golden City Council has only one high school on which to focus - GHS benefits from that community connection. The oldest high school in Colorado is a GREAT SCHOOL!


Golden High School 5

Posted July 07, 2013
- a student
I have transferred many times since starting school. I am about to start my senior year at GHS. I have been there for a year and a half now and I love it. The academics are challenging and I have been welcomed into the community. Through social opportunities and athletics I feel like I truly am a part of the school. All of the teachers and staff have been great. I love GHS and am glad that I will be graduating from the school.

Golden High School 5

Posted August 14, 2012
- a community member
My name is Juan carlos I went to GHS in 1977 as a foreing student from Venezuela, I loved that school, theTeachers were very strict, I had a wonderfull friends. I will sent my son when he graduated from high school here in Venezuela to GHS to learn english. a Very good school and the people excelent.

Golden High School 1

Posted April 23, 2012
- a parent
Each of my three children attended this school, but none graduated; I removed them due to issues with the administration. This is not a school that will work to meet the individual needs of the student. On several occassions, I tried to work with staff to modify course schedule to best fit my student's progress and capabilities. Each time I was told that changes could not be accommodated. Tired of edictorial policy and false promises, I decided to look elsewhere for a quality education . I found out that in Jeffco, school policies are mostly controlled by the local school administrators. In the case of Principal Murphy at GHS, this meant no special effort to work with the student. The policy trickled down to the other administratos as well, including current Principal Conroy, who as AP did not keep several commitments. Since the class of 2011 graduated, several of the adminstrators have left the school, presumably retired. However, what every parent should know is that even in the public school system there are options. Other Jeffco schools are more accommodating. Contact your school superintendent to discuss the options if you have a student that does not fit the rigid GHS mold.


Golden High School 4

Posted July 17, 2011
- a parent
My son graduated from GHS in 2007. He has now graduated from an out of state university with excellent grades. He was extremely well prepared for college. In fact, his freshman year of college my son commented that he was better prepared for college than many of his classmates who had attended private prep schools. Like everything you will get out of GHS what you put into it. We now have a son entering 10th grade at GHS are pleased with his progress there as well.

Golden High School 3

Posted February 01, 2010
- a community member
The school its self is great! but the teachers and students have a 'blah' attutide! I sugest a different school!

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Golden High School
701 24th Street, Golden, CO  80401
(303) 982-4200
Last modified Golden High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 7 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Golden High School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 46 reviews. Top