Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
25 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 30 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Maple Grove Elementary School 5

Posted August 24, 2016
- a parent
Staff members here are caring, respectful and interested in improvement. The principal is genuinely concerned about students and student achievement. Although mostly a traditional school, the emphasis is to support kids of all abilities and learning styles, including trying to expand teachers; repertoire of teaching methods. No school is perfect for every kid, but this neighborhood school does a fantastic job of trying to serve all of its families, with their varying needs.

Maple Grove Elementary School 1

Posted June 06, 2015
- a parent
It's all about the test scores only and children not being able to be children. Example a call home from an after school activity coirdinator saying your child and other children were giggling during a break mind you this was supposed to be a fun activity for them. They were instructed to stop. We've noticed parental clicks with other parents and teachers. Preferential treatment aka playing favorites with certain parents and unkind to other parents. The current principal all about the image (test scores) but ready to pass the buck in parent concerns when a teacher is not willing to fulfill their duties in parent teacher communication. He will attempt to project and verbally pin you in a corner creating false situations. Right off the bat we've dealt with unwelcoming teachers that are not friendly or considerate to certain parents and students. Very unprofessional seeing teachers stepping out of line and the principle supporting their bad behavior. On numerous occassions staff has been rude and unaccoutable including dishonest of their disrespectful behavior toward parents. Observing that a child's IEP was ignored, no backing in support when it comes to a child with special needs, ignoring the needs of these children and even separating these children away from their peers in class viewing them as problem children. Seeing now that in a previous review that another parent has unfortunately experienced this lack of equality. It does not match up what the principal stated about the no child left behind policy. Moody principle poor overbearing ways. We will not be placing our children at this school unless these repeat issues are addressed with tact and respect. Please rethink this school!!!


Maple Grove Elementary School 2

Posted February 23, 2015
- a parent
Unfortunately, this formerly great school on longer provides the high quality education that it once did. The current principal's over-controlling philosophy has pushed away both great teachers and active parents. It is very hard for me to say because this is our neighborhood school and in fact I went to this school as a child, but we have had a student in this school for the last 13 years and I would attempt to not enroll another if I had a viable option.

Maple Grove Elementary School 5

Posted March 21, 2014
- a parent
The staff and principal are excellent. This is a traditional learning environment but many teachers try to integrate experiential learning when possible. The current principal has been there 2 years and is really approachable and does a great job of supporting all stakeholders, including students, parents, and staff.

Maple Grove Elementary School 1

Posted September 26, 2013
- a parent
Maple Grove is a terrible school. My daughter loved school until she went to this school. Her teacher ignored her IEP and was very mean to my daughter. Her teacher ignored my emails and phone calls. The principal was NO HELP!! He refused to intervene because he was their to support his staff. Not the parents or the children, but the staff.


Maple Grove Elementary School 5

Posted April 19, 2009
- a parent
We recently moved to Colorado. I conducted a huge amount of research on grade & middle schools in the surrounding areas. I visited a number of schools and Maple Grove just felt the best. It was a really good decision. It is a fantastic school. The teachers are very sharp and care about their students. Communication is excellent and the PTA is very active. Everyone that I have met is welcoming and friendly. The kids are respectful and my kids have made great friends. I would highly recommend this school to parents interested in an overall solid education, competent teachers and principal and a friendly and safe environment.

Maple Grove Elementary School 5

Posted February 05, 2009
- a parent
My son started K at this school. It has been such a great experience. He has so many opportunities with at the school- including extra curricular activities; his K teacher really works with the parents to make sure they are going to succeed into 1st grade. The PTA is very involved in ensuring the environment is a safe, secure place to go.

Maple Grove Elementary School 5

Posted September 30, 2008
- a student
I left another elementary school to attend Maple Grove and it was the best decision I could have made. The environment fosters learning, community responsibility and dedication to work. The teachers, especially 5th and 6th grade, are amazing and well qualified. I was so well prepared for The Manning School and I made so many great memories.


Maple Grove Elementary School 5

Posted May 09, 2008
- a parent
We have loved our daughter's experience at Maple Grove so far. It's an amazing community of students and families in a nice, safe, small school setting. The level of parent involvement is fantastic and the teachers are amazing. Our daughter hasn't gotten to the testing phase of schooling yet, so maybe I'll feel differently eventually, but I'm impressed with all she's learning and happy about the academics and social environment.

Maple Grove Elementary School 3

Posted March 21, 2008
- a parent
Maple Grove has historically been an ecellent school. The new principle has been here for two years. We have found him to be very much a politician. He is very smooth and will say what he feels will pacify you, but don't expect much to get implemented. He will attempt to talk circles around you so you really can't pin him down on anything. Follow through and communication is difficult with this Principle. The math program is terrible (this is district wide) and there is NO writing program of any kind. There are some fantastic and dedicated teachers here, but have heard rumblings that they are frustrated with the Principle are some are leaving because of it. I'm hoping the district can set things straight with this school befroe it falls apart.

Nearby schools

Maple Grove Elementary School
3085 Alkire Street, Golden, CO  80401
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 30 reviews. (303) 982-5808
Last modified Maple Grove Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-6. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 10 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top