Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile

3 stars
Based on 7 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


8 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Welchester Elementary School 5

Posted September 26, 2013
- a parent
Great School Fun activities and lots of good advice to parents. PTA does a lot for the kids

Welchester Elementary School 1

Posted February 11, 2013
- a parent
This is a horrible school. The secretary (Bonnie) is rude to parents and mean to the students. The principal is even worse. I'm not sure how he got the position. Mr. Younger is not qualified to be the janitor let alone the principal. He's oblivious to the needs of the students. He lacks compassion and knowledge. Parents and teachers are frustrated with his ignorance and lack of leadership skills.


Welchester Elementary School 3

Posted October 30, 2009
- a student
This review submitted without content.

Welchester Elementary School 2

Posted September 25, 2009
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Welchester Elementary School 5

Posted October 25, 2008
- a parent
As a parent of more than a few students at Welchester over almost a decade, I have seen a huge transformation at my neighborhood school. The new principal is in his second year and he has done more than the revolving door leadership that he inherited did in ten. The level of professionalism and absolute care of people is refreshing and wonderful. There is such attention to detail and focus on what matters most from him that has become a norm for that school. Also watching the new facility manager named Sally transform an otherwise lifeless grounds and complacent attitutde toward cleanliness has made me and my family fill with pride once again. All of the teachers are so filled with joy and enthusiasm. They know their stuff. The PTA is excellent and led by a firecracker of a lady who does more behind the scenes than folks know.


Welchester Elementary School 0
no rating

Posted January 24, 2008
- a parent
Welchester Elementary is one of the best schools in Jefferson County. It is our home school and I now have a 5th grade student who is been challenged since the day she entered school. I now have another kindergarten at the school and would not send my child any place else. The staff, teachers and PTA are the BEST! They provide support for ALL students-gifted, in the middle and below--no one feels left out or in fault. The PTA is awesome and provides many extra programs and help that the school would otherwise not receive. Come by and visit-don't judge a book by its cover.Welchester is simply put the best!

Welchester Elementary School 3

Posted August 14, 2006
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Welchester Elementary School 1

Posted December 23, 2005
- a parent
I am very disapointed in this school overall. While the teachers and staff are very nice, they do not seem to be able to provide the things my child needs. She is a very bright and articulate girl, and the teacher has allowed her to become very bored and complacent. She's only in kindergarten! As a former kindergarten teacher,I have asked several times for her to have more things to do, but the teacher has told us she has too many kids to teach 'the basics' to. The PTA has absolutley no money to help with any parties, and I have had to foot the bill for 2 parties so far. Again, while the staff is nice, niceness doesn't cut it when you're dealing with children's education. They only seem equipped to deal with the bare essentials of very basic education.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Welchester Elementary School
13000 West 10th Ave, Golden, CO  80401
(303) 982-7342
Last modified Welchester Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-6. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 4 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Welchester Elementary School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 8 reviews. Top