Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Independence Academy

Charter | K-8 | 257 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 3 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

19 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 24, 2014

Started out great but has a major bulling problem. Current principle has shown no desire to change. Will not be amending again.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 10, 2013

I absolutely love this school! The teachers who taught me in 7th grade were amazing! I'm very disappointed that this school doesn't continue into high school, because I for sure would attend it! The classrooms are structured and are a perfect learning enviroment than any school I have ever been too! GO IACS!


Posted February 27, 2013

I am very happy that my daughter is going to this school. She has been going since K.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 5, 2013

We moved to Grand Junction this year and chose IACS because it was a one of the few K-8's in town and it was recommended by a friend. We have nothing but praise for the school, it's leadership and teachers. My child's difficulties with math were identified within a few weeks of school starting, before I even had a chance to go to the teacher with my concerns she had him identified and was giving him the extra help he needed to catch up. I thought I would dislike the four day week schedule, but it turned out to be great for my child. He's doing so much better in school this year. The only reason I don't give IACS five stars is because they don't have band, orchestra or organized sports. I hope these will be available to the kids in future years.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 18, 2011

This school has made leaps and bounds of progress since the days it was in the church. Quality staff is dedicated to giving the best instruction possible and has taken their own time to form a professional learning community to make sure best practice is used in all academic areas. Students are held accountable and are treated with respect by all staff members. Don't know where a former reviewer got the idea that the school was not going to be around this year. It is going strong and adding another 3rd grade class for the 2011-2012 school year. The school will be two round from K-3rd grade. Keep up the great work teachers!


Posted November 17, 2010

Love it . Mr Lockhart is outstanding the best in the valley. Always thier to listen and help. You can find him in the middle of summer painting and re carpeting the school with several other staff. To spell it out his leadership and devotion is an A+. Kindness isnt forced and he is driven by the success of his students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 26, 2010

I was thinking of taking my child to this school, but after meeting the principle I was very discouraged. It was my perception he was very insensitive to my concerns about my childs needs and did not give any encouragement at all. I felt as thought he was doing me a favor by accepting my son into" his" school. The arrogance, unprofessionalism, and insensitivity was a huge turn off for me. I am sorry for those students that are exposed to this type of leadership.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 21, 2010

As a student who may be going there (school may be gone next year)next year and has gone there for 2 years before. i saw a change from how it is at a normal school and this school some is normal some isnt. i recivedsome education and at the same time.... i lost hope i just felt like none of the teachers there belived that i could go back to a normal school. only 3 of my teachers belived i could do it .(big shoutout to mr. kevin!!!!!) one day i missed my bus and i heard some of them talking about me and i sat there unnoticed for about 10 minutes and some of the things they said about me were awful and hurtful. i may have been one of the most unlikley students that was there but the things they said were uncalled for and rude.


Posted May 7, 2010

i like the idea of having the smaller classroom settings for the middle schoolers but if one of these teachers decide they dont like your student then its a no win situation for your child. out of the 6 middle school teachers there are really only 2 that can really relate to and teach the kids in my opinion. i also do not think any staff member has the right to swear at any student but thats always their word against your childs. i will be very happy when we are done there this year. thanks to the ones who really have tried and worked with my student but to the ones who have picked their favorite students you have not been fair to the others. so in my opinion this school would be great with a few different teachers and a few new office staff people
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 4, 2009

This is our 1st year @ IACS and our child loves it, the enthusiasm and zeal for learning has returned and improved in just a few short weeks. We like the overall attitude and environment and of course the 4 day school week. It is great to see the principal so visible, accessible and involved with the staff, parents and students. It is a fantastic alternative to regular public school. Keep it up staff!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 30, 2009

I attended Independence Academy for 3 out of $ years in m y high school carreer. for the first two years it was an amazing school; however, once the leadership was transferred to Damon Lockhart, this school has fallen horribly. I watched students lose moral and rebel as Lockhart's horrible choices affected all those attempting to learn. What once was a great, open, beautiful learning environment is now no better than the harsh, judgmental, and bland public schooling experience.
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 29, 2009

Atteding this school has made a world of difference for my kids and step-kids. My oldest son for example was having serious behavior issues in a the 'regular' public school he attended until halfway through second grade. His problem came from finishing his work ahead of the other students, and not being given anything to do so he became disruptive. He just finished 4th grade, and is excelling wonderfully, doing 6th grade reading and math. Their father and I were so impressed by his improvement, that we did not bother with the regular public school for our younger son who has now finished kindergarten and is expected to be doing 2nd grade work for some subjects this next school year. I love how hands on and involved the teachers are, and how the school has a feeling of being a large extended family. I recomend this school to others frequently.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 9, 2009

This school is by far under the worst leadership i've seen in my life!
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 23, 2008

My daughter and granddaughter went to IACS the last three months of this school year and they both were very happy there and learned alot. In my daughters previous school she was very discouraged because she was not learning to read and not gettting the help she needed so did not want to go, now she loves going and has not complained not even one day that she did not want to go to school. she loves it and everyone is very nice to her. I am happy with my choice to put her in thi school. My granddaughter would come home everyday and say that they did not learn anything new and she was bored
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 4, 2008

i go to this school and i love it . it is a small school and every one is friends there are not any cliques either . we also go on a lot of camping trips and other field trips . i would recomend it to any one!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 19, 2007

I like Independence Academy. so far it is the best school i've ever been to because it is out going, hands on and the teachers are great. Mrs.Igo is one awesome lady!
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 22, 2007

My daughter is starting her second year of school at Independence Academy. So far, we've been very happy with the school. They accepted her for kindergarten a year early, and she was moved into 2nd grade reading. She's excelled as a student, especially considering she's a year younger than her classmates. She reads at a phenomenal level, she knows more Spanish than I do, and her math skills are steadily improving. That being said, I can't see her staying at this school more than another year or two. The school simply does not have the amenities of a 'normal' public school. No hot lunches, no after school programs, no sports, and grades are grouped together in the same classrooms. And they 'lease' a church, since charter schools cannot levy construction bonds. It was a great start for her, but she's almost due to 'graduate' to a real public school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 11, 2007

My child came from a very negative school where teachers treated her very poorly. She felt that everyone there hated her, and I observed the same of these teachers, not just to her but myself as well. Since we've been at Independence Academy my child is a happy, loving child once again. Her academics at this school are very strong, she's even doing 3rd grade math! She is taught Spanish twice a week, along with art. PE is offered daily. Her class will be going on a dinosaur journey next week! Parents are always welcomed and very involved. We recommend this school to everyone! My child knows she is loved and wants to go to school every day!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 18, 2006

The academic quality of programs is lacking. Classes are a mix of grades. No music,sports etc offered.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 72% in 2013.

40 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
89%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 73% in 2013.

40 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
95%

2012

 
 
89%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 51% in 2013.

40 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
78%

2012

 
 
58%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 72% in 2013.

41 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
85%

2012

 
 
64%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 68% in 2013.

41 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
73%

2012

 
 
73%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2013.

41 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
56%

2012

 
 
36%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

21 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
62%

2012

 
 
43%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 70% in 2013.

21 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
76%
Science

The state average for Science was 49% in 2013.

21 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
52%

2012

 
 
38%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 57% in 2013.

21 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
57%

2012

 
 
48%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 62% in 2013.

20 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
40%

2012

 
 
37%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 73% in 2013.

20 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
75%

2012

 
 
74%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 58% in 2013.

20 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
50%

2012

 
 
58%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 55% in 2013.

20 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
30%

2012

 
 
35%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 68% in 2013.

20 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
60%

2012

 
 
69%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 61% in 2013.

20 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
60%

2012

 
 
44%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 52% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
Reading

The state average for Reading was 67% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
Science

The state average for Science was 52% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
Writing

The state average for Writing was 56% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

All Students100%
Female100%
Malen/a
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)100%
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch100%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities100%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English100%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant100%

Reading

All Students95%
Female96%
Malen/a
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)94%
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch95%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities95%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English95%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant95%

Writing

All Students78%
Female81%
Malen/a
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)79%
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch77%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities78%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English78%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant78%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

The different student groups are identified by the Colorado Department of Education. If there are fewer than 16 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

All Students85%
Female84%
Male86%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)84%
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch85%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities87%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English85%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant85%

Reading

All Students73%
Female95%
Male55%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)75%
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch73%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities78%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English73%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant73%

Writing

All Students56%
Female74%
Male41%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)56%
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch56%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities60%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English56%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant56%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

The different student groups are identified by the Colorado Department of Education. If there are fewer than 16 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

All Students62%
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)61%
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch62%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities65%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English62%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant62%

Reading

All Students81%
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)83%
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch81%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities85%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English81%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant81%

Science

All Students52%
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)56%
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch52%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities55%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English52%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant52%

Writing

All Students57%
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)67%
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch57%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities60%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English57%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant57%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

The different student groups are identified by the Colorado Department of Education. If there are fewer than 16 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

All Students40%
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch40%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities45%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English40%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant40%

Reading

All Students75%
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch75%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities78%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English75%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant75%

Writing

All Students50%
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch50%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities50%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English50%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant50%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

The different student groups are identified by the Colorado Department of Education. If there are fewer than 16 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

All Students30%
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)29%
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch30%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities32%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English30%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant30%

Reading

All Students60%
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)65%
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch60%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities63%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English60%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant60%

Writing

All Students60%
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)65%
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch60%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities63%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English60%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant60%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

The different student groups are identified by the Colorado Department of Education. If there are fewer than 16 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunchn/a
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilitiesn/a
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrantn/a

Reading

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunchn/a
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilitiesn/a
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrantn/a

Science

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunchn/a
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilitiesn/a
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrantn/a

Writing

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunchn/a
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilitiesn/a
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrantn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

The different student groups are identified by the Colorado Department of Education. If there are fewer than 16 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
Average

Test score rating
Student growth rating

1-3 Below Average

4-7 Average

8-10 Above Average

 

How schools in the state rate:

23%
of schools in the state are Below average
52%
of schools in the state are Average
24%
of schools in the state are Above average

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

The graphs below compare this school's results in each area to other schools in the district and state.

Test score rating 20131What's this?

Test score rating examines how students at this school performed on standardized tests compared with other schools in Colorado. Test scores are based on 2012-13 TCAP results from the state of Colorado.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Student growth rating 20132What's this?

Student growth rating measures whether students at this school are making academic progress over time. Specifically, the rating looks at how much progress individual students have made on reading and math assessments during the past year or more.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Math growth at this school

Below Average

Reading growth at this school

Below Average


1 Test scores are based on 2012-13 TCAP results from the state of Colorado.

2 This rating is based on 2011-12 and 2012-13 Median Growth Percentiles in Math, English Language Arts, and Writing from the state of Colorado.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 82% 56%
Hispanic 12% 32%
American Indian/Alaska Native 2% 1%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 2% 3%
Two or more races 2% 3%
Black 0% 5%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 20%N/A41%
Male 46%N/A51%
Female 54%N/A49%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

600 North 14th St
Grand Junction, CO 81501
Phone: (970) 254-6850

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Chipeta Elementary School
Grand Junction, CO


Landmark Baptist School
Grand Junction, CO


Grande River Virtual Academy
Grand Junction, CO




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT