Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

PK-8|Private
78 students
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
34 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 35 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Mountain View Academy 5

Posted April 13, 2010
- a parent
Great school! It is everything they say....however, they can't do it alone. If your a disconnected parent who thinks the school should solve your child's behavior problems...well then MVA probably isn't for you.

Mountain View Academy 5

Posted February 10, 2009
- a parent
I have seen the huge difference in coming to this school as a parent from public education. The kids achieve a wonderful self esteem boost in such a short time. The teacher's work over time, using their lunch hour to help a child to get caught up. That makes such a wonderful difference in all of our lives. To have a happy child come home and tell you they have great friends, explain what they have learned for the day, drive by streets signs and be proud to read them out loud! What a great school this is. The administration is always willing to work with you. All you have to do is ask. We love MVA!!!


Mountain View Academy 5

Posted February 10, 2009
- a parent
As I see other kids addicted to the t.v., internet, and their playstations, my child will not put down a book. MVA is child centered and has taught my child to love reading, learning, and knowledge. Thank you, MVA, for making a difference in my child's life.

Mountain View Academy 5

Posted December 27, 2008
- a parent
We knew we wanted our children to go to MVA before we moved to Greeley from Amarillo Texas. We have been happy with every teacher our children have had. It is like a family instead of a school. I have never felt that my children we in an unsafe place or that our family was no highly valued.

Mountain View Academy
no rating

Posted November 12, 2008
- a parent
Mountain View Academy is the greatest thing that ever happened to my two children. The staff and teachers showed understanding and flexibility while working with the kids during the time of their parents' ugly divorce. They are shining academically. BTW, I don't understand some of the comments about the school being unsafe. I know through unimpeachable sources that MVA is seen as a model of security and safety within the education community, as well as by law enforcement. They have audio and video monitoring with locked entry doors. How much safer could it be? I don't worry at all about my kids' safety at Mountain View. EME, an MVA parent for 2-1/2 years now


Mountain View Academy 5

Posted November 11, 2008
- a parent
MVA is a treasure. Our son was very bored at another school, and his pediatrician recommended MVA. Now 6 years later, we couldn t be happier with this school. Our son loves school and his teachers; his grades and test scores are very high, thanks to an outstanding MVA education. I discovered this site today, and was surprised that MVA s rating was not 5 stars. Then I read the ratings, ending with tears in my eyes. A small group of disgruntled parents' words paint a picture of a failing, uncaring school, while nothing could be further from the truth. Possibly MVA isn't for everyone. The documented results show it best: Regardless of aptitude, well behaved students with a strong desire to learn and strong support from home, always excel at MVA. Teachers and staff are devoted, skilled and compassionate, and I can t imagine a better learning environment. MP, MVA mom/aunt

Mountain View Academy 5

Posted August 12, 2008
- a parent
Nothing is perfect but MVA comes awfully close. Committed faculty, an excellent facility, small classes and high parental involvement with good communication make it an outstanding place to send a child.

Mountain View Academy 2

Posted May 02, 2008
- a parent
I find it interesting that parents can spend 4-5 years sending their student to this 'great' school only to leave with a bitter taste in their mouth. Up until this year I would have recommended this school to any parent with a child going to public school. Now I would not say the same thing. I wish I could! Can t! Up until this year I would have given the school a 4 out of 5 rating now I m hard pressed to give them 3 out 5. They really need to have staff training on FERPA laws and to keep privet information privet.


Mountain View Academy 5

Posted June 11, 2007
- a parent
This is an excellent school. It is not a school for everyone. It is for those children with a good work ethic, no behavior problems, and a desire to learn. We appreciate their stance on discipline, academics, and leadership style.

Mountain View Academy 5

Posted May 21, 2007
- a parent
Most schools in Greeley are failing, some are average, but only one school in Northern Colorado has earned an excellent score from the government with its NCLB National Blue Ribbon Award in 2003. That school is Mountain View Academy. Yes, do the research, and you will find the same results as the government. A school of excellence! Our grandchildren are thriving at this school, and for that we are forever grateful.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Mountain View Academy
6200 W 20th St, Greeley, CO  80634
(970) 330-3671
Last modified Mountain View Academy is a Private school that serves grades PK-8
Mountain View Academy Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 35 reviews. Top