Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
20 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (1 response)
characters left.
There are 27 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Brentwood Middle School 5

Posted October 30, 2015
- a parent
My daughter has gone to school at a charter school in Loveland, CO, then was homeschooled while we lived in Florida. After we moved back to CO, we choose to live in Greeley. I was very concerned about putting my daughter in a regular public school after spending her school career in a charter and being homeschooled. I was VERY wrong to be concerned!! Brentwood has been the best thing to happen to my 8th grade daughter. Brentwood offers everything that a parent could ever hope for: excellent teachers who truly care about the students, a principal and assistant principal who are extremely helpful, incredible band and choir teachers and programs, and so much more. I was blown away with the band concert. I was expecting sounds that come out of a cat in pain (because these kids were beginning and in middle school), but those teachers got their students to sound almost professional! Also, my daughter has been able to participate in an acting competition and has been taken on several field trips. My philosophy is that children learn best, NOT by sitting in a chair and being lectured to, but by experiencing all of their learning. WOW, does Brentwood live up to my philosophy! Thank you to all at Brentwood! You have made a very nervous mother feel that her daughter is, not only safe, but given a rigorous curriculum that is interesting and taught by caring teachers.

Brentwood Middle School 4

Posted March 02, 2015
- a parent
I have had the opportunity to put all of my children through Brentwood Middle School and it is a decision that I have never once regretted. The staff and administration care so much about the welfare of their students and their families which has not always been the case. The climate and culture of this school centers around rigor and relationships, which is something that every school needs. Not every school is perfect and parents who have posted negative comments about Brentwood based on a single visit are clearly not getting the bigger picture. I am and will always be a proud supporter of Brentwood Middle School.


Brentwood Middle School 1

Posted March 03, 2014
- a parent
I visited Brentwood and it was awful. The children were disrespectful and out of control. And with good reason! Half the 6th grade teachers I witnessed didn't even pay attention to the classes. In 3 classes I myself learned nothing. Fights. Gang activity. The students running the classrooms.......so sad.

Brentwood Middle School 5

Posted February 20, 2014
- a parent
The teachers and staff are extremely committed to the students. The school underwent a massive turnover in administration and teachers two years ago, but the new administration has stabilized the situation and teachers are much more engaged with administration and parents. Newl-implemented early testing has put kids in appropriate classes, especially for math and language arts students testing above grade-level. The band is the best in the state by any measure. I love this school.

Brentwood Middle School 1

Posted July 22, 2012
- a teacher
I was a staff member at this school and my experiences there have drove me out of education all together. This principal while appearing to want to make a difference is more concerned about moving up in the district than helping the kids. She had only been there a year when half of the staff 21 members decided to find other places to work. There would have been more staff leaving if Weld county didn't make it difficult to transfer out of the district. The students here were very disrespectful and bad behavior was constantly being ignored. I am very happy that I will not be coming back next year but feel bad for many of the teachers that have to deal with the principals poor decision making. Find another school for your childrent to attend because there is no more woodshop, food classes since they have been cut.


Brentwood Middle School 1

Posted May 18, 2012
- a parent
Brentwood, in our families experience, has been a very unsafe place to be. The bullying and fighting that goes on there is out of control. I have had 2 of my children attend this school over a span of 3 years and would not recommend this school. The staff at Brentwood try to be helpful but the kids drive the bus and therefore it is not the safe environment that parents seek for there children.

Brentwood Middle School 4

Posted September 09, 2011
- a parent
The teachers and administration are excellent. What I have noticed is a lack of parental involvement. The gym was more than half empty on back-to-school night. This, more than anything, is an indicator of low test scores--parents are not participating in the process! As an active parent, I feel that Brentwood is more than taking care of my daughter's educational needs.

Brentwood Middle School 1

Posted August 30, 2011
- a community member
Hi i really dont think this school could get any worse there is a fight just about every week and the teachers constantly suspend kids time after time hoping eventually they will get the message to stop. Kids are just about saying every cuss word they can. When I went to school there I constantly got threatened and bullied. I have now swithed to private school just to get away from all of this. And as a student I do not reccomend Brentwood middle school.


Brentwood Middle School 1

Posted July 07, 2011
- a parent
I think the kids are hear are extremely rude! And the teachers should actually do something besides sitting on their butts! And talk about horrible basketball and volleyball teams!

Brentwood Middle School 5

Posted October 07, 2010
- a community member
The teachers are in full blast to teach. The staff knows how to stop any violence or fouling around. They use a thing called a CLAW CARD. The ALM program is really great it truly lets us kids evaluate our goals and lets us have all the learning opportunities we need. The teachers really care about us as students and put a lot of effort towards us.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Brentwood Middle School
2600 24th Avenue Court, Greeley, CO  80634
(970) 348-3000
Last modified Brentwood Middle School is a Public school that serves grades 6-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 3 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Brentwood Middle School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 27 reviews. Top