Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
6-12
Public charter
Greeley, CO
Students enrolled: 420
 

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Union Colony Preparatory School
Develops grit: Strongly disagree

Posted May 22, 2015
- a parent
If they teachers are bullying the parents and children and lying about what the parents do, it teaches the children to do the same.

Union Colony Preparatory School
Develops respect: Strongly disagree

Posted May 22, 2015
- a parent
Not allowing parents with concerns to observe or participate and lying about whether or not the request was made. The request was made in writing and in person but suddenly a month later they don't remember. Very alarming. How do they remember what the child did to report on the report card or at conference time?


Union Colony Preparatory School
Develops empathy: Strongly disagree

Posted May 22, 2015
- a parent
Teachers discriminate against students. They will actually tell parents to take their children to another school. They basically don't care what parents think and if the parent disagrees, especially if they are a single parent, they are shown the door.

Union Colony Preparatory School 1

Posted May 22, 2015
- a parent
Unsympathetic teachers who single out children and leave them out of activities. Not my idea of education.

Union Colony Preparatory School
Teacher effectiveness: Very ineffective

Posted May 22, 2015
- a parent
Most of the children who have only attended this school are not currently at grade level.


Union Colony Preparatory School
Amount of homework: Not enough

Posted May 22, 2015
- a parent
They don't have homework. They feel it will be too confusing for the parents. Which is insulting and again shows disrespect for the parents.

Union Colony Preparatory School 3

Posted March 24, 2014
- a community member
As a student at this school currently, I would only recommend it if your student is ready for an academic challenge. Junior year is incredibly difficult and nearly impossible to stay on top of everything while being involved without being incredibly stressed. Senior year is less intimidating but there is a lot riding on a single paper that determines whether or not you graduate. The math program does NOT prepare you for college at all. The teachers that have been hired in the past two years are frustrating and I didn't learn or retain anything from the classes. The music and arts programs are great. The small class size is nice but can get boring and tensions have definitely formed especially during the senior year when you are hardly even at the school.

Union Colony Preparatory School 5

Posted February 03, 2013
- a community member
As a student at UCPS I recommend this school it is a great school and the teachers help students with their work. There is no bulling at this school and I think it does get you ready for the real world and college. It is a challenge but it has great learning systems!


Union Colony Preparatory School 4

Posted October 22, 2012
- a parent
This school is very challenging, but my kids thrive becuase of the small class size. My children came from a very low performing district school and both of them have had to learn the basics of grammer and math. Union Colony has been able to do this. Yes my kids spend alot of time doing homework, but their friends at other schools are out getting in trouble because they hardly have anything to do. I don't get along with all the teachers but I don't expect too. I do wish they had more shool clubs. When it comes right down to it I would not send my kids anywhere else. This school is doing what they are supposed to do, educating kids, not entertaining them. If they don't work they flunk or their parents move them out. At this school kids need parent support (no vacations or ski trips when homework is due) If education does not come first then don't go to this school.

Union Colony Preparatory School 1

Posted September 04, 2012
- a community member
As a current student at UCPS, I must advise prospective parents and students to think carefully before going here. The school is extremely crowded for the size of it, bullying is common, the pacing is very fast, the math program is terrible, and the workload is borderline rediculous (particularly junior and senior year of high school here). Due to the number of students, this school can take on a very "cliquey" atmosphere to it. Despite the schools best efforts, there have been a number of bullying incidents that have grown out of control, resulting once in having to leave the school for psychological reasons (Eventually I returned after having problems with staff at another school, thinking that things would have improved. They did not.). That in conjunction with the workload and trying to keep up with the very fast pace can prove very stressful. Then there is the math program. It does not teach math in a rigid, step by step, traditional method. It uses group activity, vague formulas, the student must first try to figure the problems out in the homework before being taught how to solve them, and often avoids the traditional methods in which to solve common mathematical problems.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Union Colony Preparatory School
2000 Clubhouse Dr, Greeley, CO  80634
(970) 348-2800
Last modified Union Colony Preparatory School is a Charter school that serves grades 6-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 5 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Union Colony Preparatory School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 29 reviews. Top