Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
6-12
Public charter
Greeley, CO
Students enrolled: 420

4 stars
Based on 21 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


23 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Union Colony Preparatory School 3

Posted March 24, 2014
- a community member
As a student at this school currently, I would only recommend it if your student is ready for an academic challenge. Junior year is incredibly difficult and nearly impossible to stay on top of everything while being involved without being incredibly stressed. Senior year is less intimidating but there is a lot riding on a single paper that determines whether or not you graduate. The math program does NOT prepare you for college at all. The teachers that have been hired in the past two years are frustrating and I didn't learn or retain anything from the classes. The music and arts programs are great. The small class size is nice but can get boring and tensions have definitely formed especially during the senior year when you are hardly even at the school.

Union Colony Preparatory School 5

Posted February 03, 2013
- a community member
As a student at UCPS I recommend this school it is a great school and the teachers help students with their work. There is no bulling at this school and I think it does get you ready for the real world and college. It is a challenge but it has great learning systems!


Union Colony Preparatory School 4

Posted October 22, 2012
- a parent
This school is very challenging, but my kids thrive becuase of the small class size. My children came from a very low performing district school and both of them have had to learn the basics of grammer and math. Union Colony has been able to do this. Yes my kids spend alot of time doing homework, but their friends at other schools are out getting in trouble because they hardly have anything to do. I don't get along with all the teachers but I don't expect too. I do wish they had more shool clubs. When it comes right down to it I would not send my kids anywhere else. This school is doing what they are supposed to do, educating kids, not entertaining them. If they don't work they flunk or their parents move them out. At this school kids need parent support (no vacations or ski trips when homework is due) If education does not come first then don't go to this school.

Union Colony Preparatory School 1

Posted September 04, 2012
- a community member
As a current student at UCPS, I must advise prospective parents and students to think carefully before going here. The school is extremely crowded for the size of it, bullying is common, the pacing is very fast, the math program is terrible, and the workload is borderline rediculous (particularly junior and senior year of high school here). Due to the number of students, this school can take on a very "cliquey" atmosphere to it. Despite the schools best efforts, there have been a number of bullying incidents that have grown out of control, resulting once in having to leave the school for psychological reasons (Eventually I returned after having problems with staff at another school, thinking that things would have improved. They did not.). That in conjunction with the workload and trying to keep up with the very fast pace can prove very stressful. Then there is the math program. It does not teach math in a rigid, step by step, traditional method. It uses group activity, vague formulas, the student must first try to figure the problems out in the homework before being taught how to solve them, and often avoids the traditional methods in which to solve common mathematical problems.

Union Colony Preparatory School 5

Posted April 23, 2011
- a parent
This School deserves 6 Stars! Led by a professional, challenging staff and being in smaller classes, the kids thrive. With the smaller class sizes, bullying does not exist. Parents are involved because there is no bus service provided and volunteering is expected. Students have bought into using proactive behavior because of the "Habits of mind" promoted at UCPS. Results for 2010-11: ONLY dist. 6 school to attend Regional and State Science Fair(1 State Champ,1-3rd place,1 water award) and started a student run recycyling/composting program. Undefeated Conference Volleyball Champs. Many music and arts awards and student choices. Clear-cut, consistant rules for absence/make-up work enhances learning growth. As 1 new 7th grader mentioned about the difference of attending UCPS over the former school--" there are great opportunities everywhere I turn,here"


Union Colony Preparatory School 1

Posted March 09, 2011
- a parent
The pricipal at this school provides a veiled threat to parents and students who choose to OPT OUT of CSAP testing which is legal in accordance with Colorado Revised Statute 22-1-123-(5) (a). The Supreme Court also upholds the rights of parents to guide their children's education protected by the Due Process Clause of the Fourteenth Amendment. YOU DO NOT HAVE TO TAKE CSAP TESTING...IT'S YOUR RIGHT TO CHOOSE!

Union Colony Preparatory School 5

Posted November 15, 2010
- a community member
I came to this school as a struggling seventh grader. I was absolutely determined to do well at this school. And with the help of the fantastic staff, accepting social climate, and challenging academics, I am confidently on my feet and being prepped for college brilliantly. I am so grateful for this school, and heartily encourage anyone who wants to succeed to come here.

Union Colony Preparatory School 5

Posted August 25, 2010
- a parent
If you want your child to leave school prepared to be successful in college, then this is the place to be. This school holds students to high standards in both academics and behavior. If you are a parent who refuses to hold your child accountable, and constantly tries to excuse your child's poor choices, then you probably want to look somewhere else.


Union Colony Preparatory School 5

Posted March 08, 2010
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Union Colony Preparatory School 0
no rating

Posted March 02, 2010
- a student
i am currently at UCPS, and it is fantastic! people who say the school is terrible, are only saying that because their children were probably the huligans. the teachers care about the students, only if the students care about learning and getting a good education. so i would definetly recommend Union Colony.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Union Colony Preparatory School
2000 Clubhouse Dr, Greeley, CO  80634
(970) 348-2800
Last modified Union Colony Preparatory School is a Charter school that serves grades 6-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 5 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Union Colony Preparatory School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 23 reviews. Top