Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Beacon Country Day School

Private | PK-8 | 103 students

21st Century education:personalized rigorous academics, Blue Ribbon School

 

Living in Greenwood...

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $370,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,100.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 7 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 9 ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

36 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 14, 2010

My daughter is currently attending JK at Beacon. This is a wonderful school. The teachers are extremely attentive, even to the very shy child. The curriculum is advanced and my daughter is learning so much and doing fantastic. I think the best thing I can say about this school is it is making my daughter love to learn. She is excited to go to school every day and when I pick her up she exclaims about how much fun she had. We also like the fact it is a non-religious school. If I could give this school 6 stars I would.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 10, 2010

My son has attended Beacon since Junior Kindergarten. He is now in 8th grade and will graduate this year. Beacon has: provided him with a great education (many times one on one), proven an awesome setting for him to grow personally without judgment, segregation or being subject to a predetermined clique, eliminated his chances of 'fading into the crowd' because of its size and warm, nurturing environment, given him the tools to become an expert at resolution, and forgiveness, by addressing situations when they occur. Beacon let's parents keep a pulse on their child s progress, or lack thereof, before it s too late, and has prepared its graduates for an exciting future, whether a high school with thousands of kids or a smaller community, the children have the skill set, maturity, work ethic and confidence to be successful. We love BEACON!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 30, 2010

This school is a very great and appropriate school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 20, 2009

Beacon is a loving environment that allows kids to learn and excel at their own pace with great confidence. I have a junior kindergarten child that can't get enough hugs from the middle schoolers every day while being challenged academically far above her age. And I have a 5th grader that is young for his grade but is constantly asking for more and Beacon's teachers continually work to challenge him at a level far above traditional schools or even other private schools curriculm. At the end of the day, when the kids don't want to leave school because they love it so much, we feel good with our decision to have them at Beacon.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 18, 2009

Beacon is an excellent, warm, inviting, friendly school with a rigorous academic program. The teachers make learning fun and instill the desire to learn. Plus, these teachers are very involved with the children and know each child inside & out and are always available to speak with daily. Beacon is like a large family with children and parents fully involved in activities that support learing and after school fun activities. The children are very supportive of each other, respectiful and welcoming of new classmates. My child is very happy, loves to go to school and is excelling. My only complaint is that Beacon doesn't go to 12th grade.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 5, 2009

I have two boys that attend Beacon for middle school. The reason I like Beacon so much is that the small class sizes in the middle school allows the children to grow during these very formative years without all of the extra peer pressure and other outside influences that typically come with middle school. The academics are rigorous but fun and the kids can focus on their learning without worrying about fitting it. They are all so accepting and supportive of each other, and when a new child enters, they are all very warm and welcoming. My boys couldn't be happier. Our only regret is that they have to leave after eighth grade.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 15, 2009

As a parent of a first-grader at Beacon Country Day School, I am extremely pleased with my child s progress and our overall experience with the school. Located in Greenwood Village, this Blue Ribbon school is in close proximity to virtually any south Denver neighborhood. The teachers are excellent and caring, and while they utilize modern tools, metrics and techniques in teaching, they are still fully involved in teaching core fundamentals and good citizenship. As a private, non-profit school, don t expect a lot of gratuitous fluff this school is focused on education; you can expect a level of teaching that is top notch. Also, the small class sizes allow for considerable individualized attention. In existence since 1954, this school has had the benefit of time to perfect its legacy of providing a REAL education without any of the superfluous politics, posturing, or distractions that are present in so many other private (and some public) schools.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 11, 2009

Teachers and staff consistently go the extra mile and work well as a team. The Beacon team seems to have mastered the ability to balance challenging curriculum with a positive, nurturing environment where children develop the knowledge and self confidence to achieve their best results. Beacon is a not-for-profit organization where the focus in on providing the best possible education for students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 26, 2009

Great school. Teachers are warm and teach to gifted population, they will adjust where needed for your child in all areas. Teachers are very responsive to parents. The only downside to this school is that there are no facility resources. The library is parent run and there is not a person responsible for keeping walks free of snow in the winter. Usually the teachers or parents end up doing it. If you can get past that, Beacon is a teriffic school. Also, class sizes are small, but that has turned out to be a downside for us since there are few boys in our classroom so there aren't many choices for playmates.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 20, 2008

We love this school. We transferred from another school midyear last year, which could have been really tough. The administration, teachers, students and parents made the transition wonderfully easy. My son loves his school! The administration is second to none, very visible and involved, very accessible and quick to respond to any special needs or concerns families have. The teachers are outstanding. Parents are not competitive with each other like at some schools, and there is a strong sense of mutual respect and caring among families. This school is more traditional and structured than other schools for the gifted, which is wonderful. There is high teacher accountability. My only regret is that I did not find the school sooner!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 13, 2008

I have 2 children at Beacon and have been there for 7 years.It is wonderful.They have a great curriculum, a caring community of parents, and teachers that understand how each child learns.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 1, 2008

I have two children at Beacon, one in elementary and one in the middle school. They have both flourished academically, socially and emotionally. It is a academically challenging atmosphere that is also fun and warm and nurturing. The teachers are wonderful and very knowledgeable about both academic content and learning styles. The kids are smart and kind and very welcoming! The principal is an expert in gifted education and really cares about each individual child. I cannot recommend this place highly enough.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 17, 2008

Beacon is an excellent school! My child is very happy at Beacon. I have a child in Kindergarten and am very happy with the teacher and the school overall. The school is challenging and has a warm and caring environment. My child looks forward to going to school and loves the computer class! This is a very special school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 30, 2006

Both of my children go to Beacon Country Day School (BCDS). BCDS focuses on the whole child. The small class environment is great. The school provides opportunities along the way that keep the children engaged and challenged.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 30, 2005

BCDS is a BLUE RIBBON SCHOOL under the Leave No Child Behind, and is accredited by NCA. Offering a completely enriched and accelerated program for bright and gifted students, children achieve on a very high level while learning to love learning. In addition to a complex academic curriculum, music, PE, art, drama, French, enrichment, expository writing, computer science, student council, science, social studies, and extra curricular activities are offered. Parents may be involved if they wish. A warm, supportive and positive environment is provided and a wonderful community of children, parents and faculty is present. Children learn in a low pressure environment with high expectations and love learning, which is joyful! All faculty are licensed and care deeply about the children. Beacon is a school with a heart, and values each child. An IEP is created yearly as part of the accountability program.
—Submitted by an administrator


Posted February 23, 2004

Beacon is far and wide one of the best learning environments I've ever seen. The staff works together incredibly well & my daughter can't wait to go to school each morning. She is a four year old who can keep up intellectually with her 8 year old cousin & she loves learning. The small classes, loving teachers, accessability for parents & warm, comfortable, safe atmosphere are worth every penny.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
 

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

Unfortunately, this school doesn't have sufficient data to generate an academic rating.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 78% 62%
Asian 9% N/A
Hispanic 7% 29%
Black 6% 5%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% N/A
Two or more races 0% N/A
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
Computer specialist(s)
Gifted specialist(s)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Math specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
PE instructor(s)
Nurse(s)
Foreign languages spoken by school staff French
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • None - the school offers no services
Extra learning resources offered
  • Differentiated learning programs

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Staff resources available to students
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Access to farm or natural area
  • Computer lab
  • Science lab

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Sculpture
Music
  • Vocal lessons / coaching
Performing and written arts
  • Creative writing
  • Drama
  • Poetry
Media arts
  • Computer animation
  • Video / Film production

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • French
  • Spanish
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • French

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Access to farm or natural area
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym
  • Kitchen
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")

Gifted & talented

Instructional and/or curriculum models used
  • Gifted / high performing
Extra learning resources offered
  • Acceleration
Staff resources available to students
  • Gifted specialist(s)
School leaders can update this information here.

School basics

School start time
  • 8:30 am
School end time
  • 3:00 pm
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school: ends at 5:30 p.m.
  • Before school: starts at 7:00 a.m.
School Leader's name
  • Cynthia A. Wallace, Ph.D., J.D.
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Email
  • Phone
Age at which early childhood or Pre-K program begins
  • 3 years old
Gender
  • Coed
Special schedule
  • Block scheduling
Boarding options
  • Day school
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Affiliation
  • Nonsectarian
Fax number
  • (303) 290-6462

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • College prep
  • Ecclectic Curricula
  • Gifted / high performing
  • Hybrid
  • Multi-aged
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • No
Level of special education programming offered
  • None - the school offers no services
Foreign languages taught
  • French
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • None

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Gifted specialist(s)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • French
Extra learning resources offered
  • Acceleration
  • Differentiated learning programs
  • Mentoring
  • Remediation
Transportation options
  • None
School facilities
  • Access to farm or natural area
  • Access to sports fields
  • Art room
  • Audiovisual aids
  • Computer lab
  • Gym
  • Internet access
  • Kitchen
  • Library
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
  • Playground
  • Science lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • Flag football
  • Golf
  • Kickball
  • Lacrosse
  • Soccer
  • Tennis
  • Volleyball
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Field hockey
  • Flag football
  • Golf
  • Lacrosse
  • Soccer
  • Tennis
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Sculpture
Music
  • Vocal lessons / coaching
Performing arts
  • Creative writing
  • Drama
  • Poetry
Media arts
  • Computer animation
  • Video / Film production

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Chess club
  • Geography club
  • Green Committee
  • Student council/government
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Dress Code
  • Dress code
Bullying policy
  • This school has a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Coach sports teams or extracurricular activities
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Organize cultural events
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Serve on school improvement team or governance council
  • Volunteer in the classroom
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

This school accepts applications on a

rolling basis

 
Apply now
 

What are your chances?


4 out of 10students were accepted for the 2012-2013 school year.


Students accepted for the 2012-2013 school year
20
Applications received for the 2012-2013 school year
50
Students typically come from these schools
Creme de la Creme
various ECE programs
public schools

What does it cost?

Tuition range for the 2013-2014 school year
$6000 - $16000
Vouchers accepted
Yes
Financial aid offered
Yes.
School-based aid
Outside scholarships

Planning ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
Regis Jesuit High School
Cherry Creek High School
various International Baccalaureate Programs
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

6100 E Belleview Ave
Greenwood Village, CO 80111
Website: Click here
Phone: (303) 771-3990

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

West Middle School
Greenwood Village, CO


Greenwood Elementary School
Greenwood Village, CO


Kent Denver School
Englewood, CO





ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT