Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Campus Middle School

Public | 6-8 | 1441 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

21 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted October 21, 2013

Both of my children went to Campus. One is in the 8th grade now and the other went on to Cherry Creek HS and graduated about a year ago. My complaint?! The teachers refuse to let kids be kids. My daughter in the 8th grade comes home every night with as much homework as I had in college and, frankly, I am a lawyer. What is it with teachers these days? They no longer teach children to enjoy learning...they teach to gain their own accolades or points in some system they have set up. I have two really smart kids who want to do their best, but the school sets them up for failure because they have some standard they are chasing instead of caring about the kids. I don't want you to get the wrong impression of my critique. Both of my kids have done well (As and Bs) but I have to ask at what cost? They've spent all of their time studying. Cherry Creek Schools....quit chasing the awards and start caring about the kids you are teaching! You put way too much pressure on kids so that you can get awards/funding...whatever. Ugh!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 8, 2013

My oldest child recently completed eighth grade, and I am certain that she is well prepared for the challenges of high school. In particular, my family has been impressed with Campus' science teachers. We have also really enjoyed the creative projects completed at the end of each math year. It is truly inspiring to walk into the commons turned "contemporary art museum" when the eighth graders display their scale model projects in May. The students and their eighth grade Social Studies teachers also deserve kudos for a very impressive "20th Amendment" capstone project. For parents, a not-to-be-missed event! Extracurricular activities are available for kids of all interests and talents. For those of us in district, a late bus is available to those who stay late for clubs or academic support. Both my husband and I have volunteered at all grade levels to chaperone field trips. The kids have always been engaged, attentive, and well-behaved. Parent volunteers are numerous, and the staff is friendly and welcoming. My daughter's counselor was supportive and responsive, always returning my calls promptly. My youngest will enter Campus this fall, and I couldn't be more pleased.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 26, 2012

Both of my children attended Campus after High Plains Elementary. While both the public system after grade 8, I feel that Campust maore than adequately prepared them for theit HS years.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 8, 2012

I currently go to this school and am in all Honors classes. The teachers do not understand how to make class interesting and we do the same routine every day. I love school but since going here have felt like i was entering prison as I walked in the doors. Most students are bored and we have no motivation to become better. Most students only care about popularity and many people attending this school including I don't believe we can be oursleves. I do not suggest going to this school at all.


Posted May 8, 2011

My daughter has been going to Campus for all the years! She is about to finish 8th grade, and never once has she come home and complain about her school day, nor have I. It is a pleasure to have her be in that school because it is truly a marvelous school! I am one of the many pleased parents who recommend Campus Middle School!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 16, 2010

My son is at Campus for his 2nd year (7th grade) and I am very happy with the school and teachers. It is a rigorous academic program, and my son is learning the value of being organized in addition to learning. The teachers have been great, very welcoming and interested in the success of the students. They are very available for extra help if needed. We live outside of the Campus neighborhoods at attend by School of Choice. When I attended the incoming 6th graders program I was extremely impressed that all of the 6th grade teachers were there, the Jr National Honor Society, the Jazz Band, and the organization and professionalism of the evening. It was a huge contrast with our neighborhood school Sky Vista. I'm not sure about parent involvement as my schedule and living farther away from the school make it hard to be involved myself.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 28, 2010

We moved to Denver and chose to live in the Cherry Creek School area because we heard it had the best schools by far. Unfortunately, this statement did not prove true for us. The teachers were marginal at best and the administration is deplorable. If you are looking for a school with teachers and administrators who truly care about the students look elsewhere!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 4, 2010

My son loves Campus because the teachers are excellent and they have a great sports program!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 28, 2010

Only a handful of 5-star teachers and staff, but bad student behavior, poor building appearence (but they are working on renovating this year), some poor educational activities, lack of school clubs and horrific social issues with students. The involvement of parents ranges from great to far below average, and the discipline is far too strict for small issues and not harsh enough for when my daughter got her wrist broken by a student in gym test and no one cared or the kid who brought illegal drugs to school and only faced a 5-day suspension. Choose a different school for your kids!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 9, 2008

a good school with great teachers but kinda clicky this is my last year there and its really good I highly recamend this school
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 21, 2008

this is one of the best schools i've ever been to. i got a lot of friends, and i have problems making friends so thats really saying something! im in high school now, and im also an artist. let me just tell you, mr. jones of the art department is the best art teacher in the world. he has inspired me to become who i am today, and i am truly greatful to him. without his influence in my life i would have been a noticeably different person. every teacher in that school is great, they get involved and participate with the students. i miss this school to death and wish i could go back there. the students are great too, even the 'popular' kids include the average kids every day during class. i was impressed, and the education was spectacular. go here and you will love it.


Posted December 5, 2007

I have a special needs child that currently attends this school. I am truly impressed and blessed to have this school working with my child. They have great student/staff ratios and they truly seem to love the kids. I am very impressed with what they are able to do with the kids.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 1, 2007

I don't care what everybody else says, campus is a great school.
—Submitted by a student


Posted December 16, 2006

Although I am not a parent, I am an alumna and have had 2 siblings go there as well. Campus is a great school. They have multiple after school activities as well as many electives. The school can get a bit clique-ey but it is still a very nice learning environment. Since I've graduated, the best dean I've ever had has quit and some of the administration now is pretty bad, but I still recommend this school. There are many academic courses to take and it feeds into one of the best high schools in Colorado. The Special Needs program is also quite fantastic. But if your child is one to not care, this is not for them. My best friends have failed multiple classes and the school doesn't seem to do much about this attitude. But otherwise, it's a very good school. I enjoyed every teacher I had.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted January 28, 2006

It is a great school in a traditional academic sense, with good test scores and such, and that is clearly where their emphasis is. However, I don't think that a preponderence of 'seat work' is the best way for learning to occur. The school doesn't shine in terms of innovative programs or character development or inclusion of students with differences. Teachers there have ranged from truly outstanding to okay. From what I have heard about other middle schools, this one is certainly better than average, but I would like to see it be even better than that.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 25, 2005

Its a great enviroment with wonderful caring staff and administration.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted August 24, 2005

Campus is a great environment if your child is at the top or bottom of their class academically or a social truant...otherwise your child 'falls under the radar' of the teachers and advisors. If your child is motivated to do well and have the maturity to manage themselves it is a good school. If they are easily distracted this is not a good place.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 5, 2005

great experience, teachers are truly committed to student learning
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 19, 2005

After Reading the reviews posted by parents of students at campus i must strongly dissagree with some remarks made. Although the surrounding area is Greenwood Village and is notoriously wealthy, almost half of the children who attend are from areas such as willow creek, walnut hills, and cherry creek vista. such neighborhoods do not hold nearly as much authority as wealth centers as Greenwood Village does. Also pertaining to the amount that test and homework are worth, i agree that homework should not be worth as much as a test, but as your child progresses in grade level at campus, the homework worth does go down compared to that of tests. In sixth grade, i beleive we were being taught the value of homework and subtly engouraged to continue doing it. As you progress at campus, it becomes more pertinent to do the homework than it does to listen in class.
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 23, 2004

The school has high performing students but this is a result of the socio economic make up of the area. The administration is unresponsive, smug and superior. Many of the teachers are disengaged or demoralized. There are some excellent faculty but not enough to make up for those that have chosen to ride the coattails of the districts 'reputation'.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 62% in 2013.

467 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
87%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 73% in 2013.

467 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
91%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 58% in 2013.

467 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
80%

2012

 
 
80%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 55% in 2013.

454 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
81%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 68% in 2013.

455 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
85%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 61% in 2013.

455 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
82%

2012

 
 
85%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 52% in 2013.

496 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
82%

2012

 
 
79%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 67% in 2013.

496 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
87%

2012

 
 
87%
Science

The state average for Science was 52% in 2013.

496 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
76%

2012

 
 
71%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 56% in 2013.

496 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
82%

2012

 
 
83%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

All Students88%
Female89%
Male87%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asian97%
Hispanic65%
Multiracial85%
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)89%
Free lunch eligible67%
Reduced lunch eligible74%
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch92%
Students with disabilities (IEP)28%
Students without disabilities92%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English88%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant88%

Reading

All Students88%
Female93%
Male83%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asian90%
Hispanic71%
Multiracial85%
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)90%
Free lunch eligible73%
Reduced lunch eligible83%
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch90%
Students with disabilities (IEP)38%
Students without disabilities92%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English90%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant88%

Writing

All Students80%
Female87%
Male73%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asian89%
Hispanic58%
Multiracial74%
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)83%
Free lunch eligible58%
Reduced lunch eligible61%
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch84%
Students with disabilities (IEP)22%
Students without disabilities84%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English82%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant80%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

The different student groups are identified by the Colorado Department of Education. If there are fewer than 16 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

All Students84%
Female86%
Male82%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asian97%
Hispanic61%
Multiracial75%
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)87%
Free lunch eligible58%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch87%
Students with disabilities (IEP)26%
Students without disabilities90%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English84%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant84%

Reading

All Students86%
Female87%
Male86%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asian86%
Hispanic66%
Multiracial81%
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)90%
Free lunch eligible68%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch88%
Students with disabilities (IEP)36%
Students without disabilities91%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English89%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant87%

Writing

All Students82%
Female86%
Male77%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asian88%
Hispanic66%
Multiracial81%
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)84%
Free lunch eligible56%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch85%
Students with disabilities (IEP)21%
Students without disabilities87%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English83%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant82%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

The different student groups are identified by the Colorado Department of Education. If there are fewer than 16 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

All Students82%
Female81%
Male82%
Black (not Hispanic)68%
Asian92%
Hispanic69%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)83%
Free lunch eligible55%
Reduced lunch eligible67%
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch85%
Students with disabilities (IEP)32%
Students without disabilities87%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English83%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant82%

Reading

All Students87%
Female91%
Male84%
Black (not Hispanic)74%
Asian95%
Hispanic70%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)89%
Free lunch eligible57%
Reduced lunch eligible83%
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch90%
Students with disabilities (IEP)34%
Students without disabilities92%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English89%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant87%

Science

All Students76%
Female75%
Male78%
Black (not Hispanic)58%
Asian90%
Hispanic61%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)77%
Free lunch eligible50%
Reduced lunch eligible61%
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch80%
Students with disabilities (IEP)27%
Students without disabilities81%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English78%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant77%

Writing

All Students82%
Female88%
Male75%
Black (not Hispanic)74%
Asian92%
Hispanic63%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)83%
Free lunch eligible41%
Reduced lunch eligible67%
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch87%
Students with disabilities (IEP)27%
Students without disabilities87%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English84%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant82%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

The different student groups are identified by the Colorado Department of Education. If there are fewer than 16 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
Above average

Test score rating
Student growth rating

1-3 Below Average

4-7 Average

8-10 Above Average

 

How schools in the state rate:

23%
of schools in the state are Below average
52%
of schools in the state are Average
24%
of schools in the state are Above average

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

The graphs below compare this school's results in each area to other schools in the district and state.

Test score rating 20131What's this?

Test score rating examines how students at this school performed on standardized tests compared with other schools in Colorado. Test scores are based on 2012-13 TCAP results from the state of Colorado.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Student growth rating 20132What's this?

Student growth rating measures whether students at this school are making academic progress over time. Specifically, the rating looks at how much progress individual students have made on reading and math assessments during the past year or more.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Math growth at this school

Above average

Reading growth at this school

Average


1 Test scores are based on 2012-13 TCAP results from the state of Colorado.

2 This rating is based on 2011-12 and 2012-13 Median Growth Percentiles in Math, English Language Arts, and Writing from the state of Colorado.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 72% 57%
Asian 12% 3%
Hispanic 9% 32%
Black 3% 5%
Two or more races 3% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 11%N/A40%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
Assistant principal(s)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Nurse(s)
Speech and language therapist(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school community.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Staff resources available to students
  • Speech and language therapist(s)

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Orchestra
Performing and written arts
  • Drama

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • French
  • Spanish
Staff resources available to students
  • Speech and language therapist(s)

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Nurse(s)
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school
School Leader's name
  • Donna McCarl

Programs

Foreign languages taught
  • French
  • Spanish

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Nurse(s)
  • Speech and language therapist(s)
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Cafeteria
  • Library
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • Track
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Track

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Orchestra
Performing arts
  • Drama
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Parent involvement
  • Join PTO/PTA
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

4785 South Dayton St
Greenwood Village, CO 80111
Website: Click here
Phone: (720) 554-2700

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Cherry Creek Charter Academy
Greenwood Village, CO


Beacon Country Day School
Greenwood Village, CO




West Middle School
Greenwood Village, CO



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT