Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
PK-5
Public
Greenwood Village, CO

4 stars
Based on 17 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


18 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Greenwood Elementary School 5

Posted October 28, 2012
- a parent
As good as a public school can be. Good teachers, small class sizes, good enrollment population, and strong open enrollment students.

Greenwood Elementary School 5

Posted July 17, 2012
- a parent
Our daughter attended Greenwood Elementary School from 1981 to 1986. The school was wonderful and the teachers and principal were excellent. We believe that her earlier training at Greenwood was a great help in all her future educational efforts. She graduated from UC Davis School of Medicine and is currently a pediatric cardiologist at Oregon Health Science University. A long way from Greenwood but a learning experience she still talks about.


Greenwood Elementary School 5

Posted March 29, 2012
- a parent
Due to my job my kid has studied in many schools over the last few years and we felt that this school is the best of all. Outstanding teacher who goes beyond the call of duty. Very affectionate principal and staff. My kid really enjoyed studying in this school.

Greenwood Elementary School 1

Posted September 01, 2010
- a parent
Greenwood Elementary seems to have all of the ingredients for the recipe of Cherry Creek's excellent schools. Unfortunately, they also had no problem villianizing a new student, a very kind and intelligent child, who was maligned based mostly on hearsay or one-sided stories. I'm not saying there were no issues, but nothing amounted to what was portrayed, and very little matched what was observed at home. The student had become intimidated to the point of not believing their side of the story even mattered. This school singled-out and reinforced the negative self-image of a small kid, as well as terrified and pressured the parents with exaggerated reactions and hurtful characterizations. I'm so thankful we recognized how destructive and irreconcilable their prejudice had become. Leaving Greenwood was the healthiest and most loving thing this family could do for itself. No one will ever treat our child that way again.

Greenwood Elementary School 3

Posted September 21, 2009
- a parent
In our experience this school does not work well for twice exceptional students. Our son is very bright but can be attention challenged, and the school's solution was to reduce his enrichment activities, which only increased his boredom and problems paying attention. When we encouraged the school to challenge him more, they refused. We ended up enrolling him in a private school for gifted children where he has thrived.


Greenwood Elementary School 5

Posted September 28, 2008
- a parent
Excellent elementary school . Notices and grabs struggling kids immediately and puts them into appropriate programs. Parent Participation is beyond excellent and teachers go far beyond the calling to teach. fabulous extra-carricular activities with dedicated teachers. Amazing long-term staff. Highly Technical school with 'Smart Boards' - interactive black boards. Loving, Caring Atmosphere. Great families & Great neighborhood ! Only drag is no full day kindergarten yet ! and school starts a little too early.

Greenwood Elementary School 5

Posted August 20, 2008
- a community member
As a former student, I can attest to the many redeeming qualities of Greenwood. The teachers are endearing and kind, and prepare students in a nurturing way for middle school and high school. The cafeteria food is excellent, the library and librarans are outstanding, and the principle disciplines with kindness and understanding. I highly reccomend this school to anyone who wants their child to have a good education and form lasting friendships.

Greenwood Elementary School 0
no rating

Posted July 26, 2008
- a parent
I love the challenge my son is getting in his education there. I do think they go above and beyond compared to most elementary schools but do not push them overboard with it. I don't like that many of the parents are not friendly and into their own cliques.


Greenwood Elementary School 5

Posted April 17, 2008
- a parent
Really great small school environment. Kids and staff know each other and the parents are committed to the school. It does represent all the traits of a very affluent school (pro and con). There will be teacher turn-over since many teachers have been there for many years. This could change the complexion of the school in the near future although it has always drawn excellent teachers. Overall excellent school.

Greenwood Elementary School 4

Posted May 01, 2007
- a parent
Our child attended Greenwood K-4. We had two wonderful, passionate teachers, one who was only fair and one teacher who didn't seem to like children or teaching them. Overall, the education was very good, especially if you have a child of 'average' intelligence-there is not much offered for the child who wants to delve deeper into things. The support and admin staff was excellent. We felt there is way too much emphasis on doing well on CSAP's at this school and the overall culture is competitive and clique-ish. There is a lot of pressure to fit in. We felt this culture came from the parents and not the faculty or staff who are doing their best to address it.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Greenwood Elementary School
5550 South Holly St, Greenwood Village, CO  80111
(720) 554-3400
Last modified Greenwood Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 10 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Greenwood Elementary School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 18 reviews. Top