Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

High Plains Elementary School

Public | PK-5

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 9 ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
Based on 3 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

31 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted March 20, 2014

We have loved High Plains. The staff and teachers are excellent. They genuinely care for each student and take the time necessary to make them feel special.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 24, 2013

High Plains is one the best schools around. The staff is caring and intelligent and the school remains current with curriculum updates. We love it there. My kids are excited about going to school and I feel they are getting a top notch education. My kids are happy and well rounded--what more can I ask for?
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 24, 2013

We moved to the High Plains neighborhood 3 years ago and could not be happier! High Plains is a wonderful school! The teachers are caring, supportive, and always work hard to meet the needs of all of their students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 24, 2013

This is such a wonderful, caring school. We are so happy with our decision to send our kids to the neighborhood school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 24, 2013

We love High Plains. It is a great school community with wonderful staff and parents. There is a wide variety of diversity at the school, many extracurricular activities that are offered, and a common theme of "students first" among both staff and parents.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 24, 2013

High Plains Elementary has a tremendous, caring staff. They all are so good about tapping into each childs individual creativity and allow kids to soar with their learning. The kids are so kind to one another and parents are very involved. It's a great place to be!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 12, 2013

We moved here when my son was in kindergarten and daughter was in 2nd grade. We were very pleased with High Plains Elementary School's warm and caring teachers and staff. There are also always many volunteer parents. Our children thrived at this school and are both doing incredibly well in school which I credit in part to the great foundation that High Plains provides. The school district provides bullying education throughout the district and it is amazing how the kids treat each other. They have a "Caring and Kindness" award for each class which my daughter was excited to be awarded. I'm wondering if there are ulterior motives of another post since being a weekly volunteer at the school I did not witness anything but kindness and respect between students and between students and staff. My children still like to go back and visit their elementary teachers.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 22, 2013

Great school! The last review is inaccurate! I Wanted to clear up something from the most recent review, which appeared to be written by a student who was there 7 or 8 years ago. My kids have been there for six years and nothing in that review strikes me as even remotely accurate today. The school is fantastic! By and large, my kids have had really positive experiences at the school. They have performed very well in their classes, found much of the work challenging and made great friends. The teachers, staff and principal have all been very accessible and engaged and always willing to take input and suggestions. I have never seen any evidence of bullying or favoritism. The diversity at the school is great because kids see that not everyone looks like them or has the same background. The parents are really involved, but there is no pressure on working parents to be as involved or constantly fundraise. The gifted and talented teacher has also been really helpful in creating additional challenges for kids that need it. I would absolutely recommend the school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 21, 2013

High plains is a terrible school. Bullies are rampant in both the children and faculty, teachers actively crush being creative and different, and to top it off the parents are just as bad as the teachers and kids. As a former student I would come home in tears every single day. Bully proofing is a joke at best and the teachers play favorites based on who has the nicest clothes and richest parents. Even without the monstrous staff and student body the school is less than stellar. Children are expected to sit in their desks and do worksheets like mindless robots. Overall as a student who went there I was miserable to the point of being suicidal. Your children probably will be very unhappy too. So do your kids a favor and send them somewhere else. Please. A former student now in senior year at high school


Posted January 30, 2013

We moved to this area specifically for the great schools. After touring Cottonwood, Cherry Creek Academy and Belleview, we loved the atmosphere at High Plains. The principal is wonderful, friendly, approachable and seems to really be moving the school forward. They have fantastic parent involvement, which they take advantage to enhance the children's education. I personally feel they do a good job at meeting the children's different level of abilities, the children who are a little a head are pulled out to meet their needs and given work that is tailored to their ability. If I had a complaint (coming from a parent with gifted children) it is that they focus a little too much on those children who are a little behind. However, I do understand that is necessary. I like the diversity of the school, it seems they are a little more diverse than other schools in this area, both ethnically as well as economically. In short, we are extremely happy here and can't say enough about the staff, from the principal and teachers to the admin. staff.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 20, 2012

My daughter has attended High Plains the past 3 years and has really blossomed there. She has been challenged and has had so many opportunities to explore art, science, athletics, and music. The music teacher is incredible and I am always impressed by the choir and band concerts. The opportunity to perform has really boosted my daughter's confidence. The administration and staff are very involved and promote a healthy atmosphere. I also like that the school is in a residential neighborhood (not a large school complex) which makes it laid back and friendly. I disagree with comments that this is a "richy-rich" school. My daughter wears clothes from Target and no one has teased her about it. I would highly recommend this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 1, 2012

Awesome school! Awesome teachers and awesome staff! My daughter had to repeat a grade this year and she struggled at her old school. Since attending High Plains her growth has surprised everyone. The teachers really care about their students and are extremely positive with the kids. This school has exceeded all expectations I had.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 1, 2011

The teachers are great at High Plains. Most of them really care about the students. Leadership is not innovative, doesn't look for ways to improve the school for the students, just trying to be non-controversial. The atmosphere is not positive. Students are segregated openly based on their perceived academic ability. There is little support for an average student. They are typically the forgotten student as most of the focus is on children with special needs and those designated as G& T (gifted and talented). Bullying is pervasive on the playground. Parents may comment they haven't seen it, but most have and considering there was an incident in 2010 that was televised, can they really continue to be in denial? There is decent parent involvement. Seems to be the same parents all the time. There is definitely favoritism toward the parents who have the time to volunteer- no job or part time jobs. All schools have positives and negatives, all in all, I would rate this school average.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 6, 2011

I would highly recommend High Plains. It is a great elementary school for children with a wide range of abilities, interests, and learning styles. The parent/teacher/staff community is welcoming and very active. The school leadership is strong. The school is well run, consistent, and first rate. I have had 3 children attend High Plains. My oldest started in 1999 and is now a Junior at Creek. My second child attends Campus. My youngest is currently in 4th grade. We've seen many changes at HP in the last decade. The school remodel is wonderful. The English as a 2nd Language program is good. Children are quickly integrated into the school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 4, 2011

I have 2 children at High Plains and we have had nothing but wonderful experiences there. The environment is very welcoming. The teachers are excellent and the curriculum is designed to meet the needs of the different levels of learners. My children have never been teased or bullied at school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 26, 2010

We moved from Massachusetts to Colorado this year and spent alot of time chosing a home in the Cerry Creek District. We had high recommendations for High Plains and they have not disappointed. When we came to Colorado in the spring for house hunting we called the school and we were immediately welcomed in for a visit - they accomodated us on VERY short notice during a holiday week and while they were busy getting the school ready for end of year and renovation. The guide spent over an hour with us on a tour and we got to meet many of the staff and the principal. They made our son feel immediately at home and very welcomed, and allowed him to ask as many questuions as he wanted. When he started school he was welcomed by his classmates and his teacher made a special effort to ensure he had the opportunity to make friends and watched him closely for the first few weeks to ensure he made a smooth transition. We feel he has been challenged by the curriculum and is very well attended to by all of his teachers. We get sufficient of feedback on his progress and the teachers are open and welcome to discussing anyconcerns or needs we may have at any time.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 16, 2010

High Plains was had a very negative atmosphere. Kids are expected to sit quietly and complete worksheets. Creativity is crushed and replaced with a seatwork. Worst of all, the teachers and administrators play favorites. If your are a demanding parent they give you and your child what you demand. Nice children and parents are ignored or bullied. The joy and positive energy found in most elementary schools is missing at this one. We moved our children and they now enjoy school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 16, 2010

I attended HP a few years ago, and from many sources it still sounds about the same. Good test scores, great playground (which is really all that kids care about), but terrible kids and parenting! I came from a slightly "poorer" family than most of the children. i didnt have the money to buy designer clothes, which was the extent of our "poverty". Yet, i was teased constantly by peers, and parents treated me like a charity case! My youngest cousins currently go there, and they are also teased. I would not recomend this school to anyone. My parents ended up transferrind me. My aunt is also planning on trannfering her children. Teachers did nothing to prevent bullying, some even helped the bullies. And they have done nothing to help my two cousins. HP has good test scores, but is home to many bullies and teachers who wont help prevent it.


Posted August 17, 2010

All my kids went to High Plains. Love the teachers, love the staff, love the school but the kids are horrific. If your kids don't come to school wearing designer clothes and have $100 haircuts they will be made fun of, teased and bullied. They were forming cliques by the 1st grade. Lots of emphasis put on how you look and how popular you are. This is a richey school with most of the families being upper income which isn't necessarily a good thing. But, I have to add... the principal and teachers were on top of any bullying going on at the school and always ended up resolving the situation immediately.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 10, 2010

Unlike most comments pertaining to this school, I have found it to be an overall frustrating and negative atmosphere. The teachers are critical of young children and negative with feedback (if you recieve any feedback at all). I would not recommend this school to others, nor would I condone fostering this type of environment for impressionable children.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 72% in 2013.

87 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
97%

2012

 
 
89%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 73% in 2013.

87 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
87%

2012

 
 
91%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 51% in 2013.

87 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
74%

2012

 
 
74%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 72% in 2013.

86 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
91%

2012

 
 
89%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 68% in 2013.

86 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
90%

2012

 
 
80%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2013.

86 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
64%

2012

 
 
60%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

95 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
88%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 70% in 2013.

95 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
90%

2012

 
 
89%
Science

The state average for Science was 49% in 2013.

95 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
69%

2012

 
 
69%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 57% in 2013.

95 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
79%

2012

 
 
88%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

All Students97%
Female98%
Male96%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)98%
Free lunch eligible94%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch99%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities99%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English98%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant96%

Reading

All Students87%
Female93%
Male83%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)97%
Free lunch eligible50%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch97%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities89%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English95%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant89%

Writing

All Students74%
Female81%
Male67%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)88%
Free lunch eligible31%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch85%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities75%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English87%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant76%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

The different student groups are identified by the Colorado Department of Education. If there are fewer than 16 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

All Students91%
Female91%
Male91%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)92%
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch94%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities95%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English90%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant91%

Reading

All Students90%
Female96%
Male83%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)92%
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch96%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities95%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English93%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant89%

Writing

All Students64%
Female71%
Male57%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)68%
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch75%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities66%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English67%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant64%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

The different student groups are identified by the Colorado Department of Education. If there are fewer than 16 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

All Students88%
Female86%
Male90%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic77%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)91%
Free lunch eligible78%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch92%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities95%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English89%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant88%

Reading

All Students90%
Female92%
Male88%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic77%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)91%
Free lunch eligible83%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch92%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities94%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English92%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant90%

Science

All Students69%
Female69%
Male68%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic45%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)75%
Free lunch eligible44%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch76%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities76%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English72%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant69%

Writing

All Students79%
Female78%
Male80%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic55%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)86%
Free lunch eligible67%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch85%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities86%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English82%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant79%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

The different student groups are identified by the Colorado Department of Education. If there are fewer than 16 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
Above average

Test score rating
Student growth rating

1-3 Below Average

4-7 Average

8-10 Above Average

 

How schools in the state rate:

23%
of schools in the state are Below average
52%
of schools in the state are Average
24%
of schools in the state are Above average

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

The graphs below compare this school's results in each area to other schools in the district and state.

Test score rating 20131What's this?

Test score rating examines how students at this school performed on standardized tests compared with other schools in Colorado. Test scores are based on 2012-13 TCAP results from the state of Colorado.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Student growth rating 20132What's this?

Student growth rating measures whether students at this school are making academic progress over time. Specifically, the rating looks at how much progress individual students have made on reading and math assessments during the past year or more.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Math growth at this school

Above average

Reading growth at this school

Above average


1 Test scores are based on 2012-13 TCAP results from the state of Colorado.

2 This rating is based on 2011-12 and 2012-13 Median Growth Percentiles in Math, English Language Arts, and Writing from the state of Colorado.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 66% 56%
Hispanic 19% 32%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 10% 3%
Two or more races 3% 3%
Black 2% 5%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 20%N/A41%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

6100 South Fulton St
Greenwood Village, CO 80111
Website: Click here
Phone: (720) 554-3600

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Cherry Creek Charter Academy
Greenwood Village, CO




Belleview Elementary School
Greenwood Village, CO




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT