Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
7-8
Public district
Highlands Ranch, CO
Students enrolled: 1,017
 

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Mountain Ridge Middle School 5

Posted January 28, 2015
- a parent
My daughter is in 7th grade at MRMS and I am basing my review (partly) on simply her happiness level there. She loves it, which is thrilling for me both as a parent and as a person that had a fairly horrid middle school experience, back in the day. I am also a teacher myself (not at MRMS) and I recognize mighty and creative teachers when I spot 'em. MRMS is bursting at the seams with impassioned teachers. My daughter has received superb instruction from them and, as a result, has gained the confidence to dip her toe into a host of activities (sports and clubs)...it has all come as a very great relief, to be honest. I'm shocked at the 7 out of 10 rating here on Great Schools - I'd joyfully and confidently give the school a 10.

Mountain Ridge Middle School 5

Posted September 08, 2013
- a parent
We are so pleased with Mountain Ridge Middle School. The teachers are upbeat, available and professional, the administration is supportive and the parents are involved without being overbearing. My husband and I are very happy with the integrated use of technology, as well as the collaborative projects and practical application of new concepts. We also like the way this large school divides the students into teams or "pods" of 150 or so kids who stay in their designated area of the school. This allows the teachers and the students to have the advantages of both a large school and a smaller learning environment. More important than our satisfaction is that our child is happy at Mountain Ridge, too. Of course there are grumbles; it IS middle school after all! Still, our 8th grader comes home eager to share the day's experiences and with very few complaints. Three of our student's favorite things are: (1) the ACCESS program (2) the lunches and (3) the use of smart-phones for research in class!


Mountain Ridge Middle School 5

Posted July 21, 2011
- a parent
My kids have thrived at this school. It's true there is little communication between parents and teachers, but that is how it should be in middle school! I am glad that my kids are learning to take responsibility for their own schooling, and not rely on me to tell them when their next project is due. The parent portal provides detailed information on schedules and assignments so parents can be as hands-on, or -off, as they want. My kids' teachers have always been responsive when I email them if I need further information. We love this school!

Mountain Ridge Middle School 5

Posted April 05, 2011
- a community member
I continue to hear wonderful comments about the students, programs, activities, and staff! I find it odd that the community does not support school funding! Who supported them during their educational years? The staff should be commended on making the AYP year after year, but with class sizes increasing this might change. Celebrate your success and plan for the future needs!

Mountain Ridge Middle School
no rating

Posted October 03, 2009
- a parent
The community support and also the individual support found within the staff is incredible. It is an incredible school!!!


Mountain Ridge Middle School 1

Posted August 26, 2008
- a parent
The real picture in this middle school is there is no communication between the school and parents. The counselors need better training for 'today's kids'. There is not enough supervision after school, so there tends to be lots of student fights. The office help borders on rude. Judgements are made quickly towards students and parents. Do not recommend.

Mountain Ridge Middle School 4

Posted January 16, 2008
- a parent
Really good school. Challenging, positive, safe and fun! Would be a five, but we have problems with communication with one teacher. Also, the parking lot design is terrible for pick up time after school.

Mountain Ridge Middle School 5

Posted August 04, 2004
- a parent

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Mountain Ridge Middle School
10590 Monte Vista Way, Highlands Ranch, CO  80126
(303) 387-1800
Last modified Mountain Ridge Middle School is a Public school that serves grades 7-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 6 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Mountain Ridge Middle School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 14 reviews. Top