Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
K-6
Public district
Highlands Ranch, CO
Students enrolled: 687
 

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Redstone Elementary School 5

Posted February 01, 2015
- a parent
Overall, Redstone is an excellent school. The principal is readily available and takes action on perceived problems; she runs a tight ship and has high standards for the teachers. The school values diversity and growth. The teachers keep parents abreast of current events (via email) and are generally pleasant to work with.. The parents are involved and frequently volunteer in the classroom. The school building itself is on a larger plot of greenland, located in a suburban neighborhood with easy access to Quebec. The sole negative: Children are asked to conform to the rank & file early (Kindergarten) and are kept to a strict schedule, with limited time to blow off steam outdoors. However, this seems to be the current trend now in nearly all schools including public, charter, and private.

Redstone Elementary School 5

Posted August 07, 2013
- a parent
Redstone Elementary, and DCSD in general, are places where 21st century eduaction and learning is being chartered. It is a 'messy' process to break paradigms and change traditional methods, but I am proud to be a part of this school and this community. DCSD is the 'pioneer' in this change effort, and as the 'pioneer' they get the 'arrows'. I feel my children will be better prepared for their futures having experienced this Renaissance in education. The teachers, administrators, staff, and parents are great and the children of this community are always in everyone's best interest.


Redstone Elementary School 2

Posted July 26, 2012
- a parent
The 2008 review still stands for this school. Many things fall through the cracks and it is still very cliquish (parents and faculty). I sure hope this year (2012-2013) is better. Parents should not have so much control and presence. Helicopter central.

Redstone Elementary School 5

Posted August 28, 2011
- a parent
Excellent school. The teachers are great, excellent faculty. I have a child who is a slow learner and they have a very caring group of teachers who really care about the development of my child.

Redstone Elementary School 5

Posted August 14, 2011
- a parent
Great use of technology loving atmosphere. I have been very happy with everyone we have dealt with at this school.


Redstone Elementary School 3

Posted July 14, 2011
- a parent
The school still doesn't know who my child is. Teacher had no idea of her record from previous school. Little welcome, no follow up. Just another kid. Not much different from a review here in 2008. Things do fall through the cracks and communication is slow and at times incomplete. If you're in the parent click or PTO though, you'll be fine and you won't miss, or notice, a thing. Teacher's individual interpretation of a watered-down grading system can be challenging as well.

Redstone Elementary School 1

Posted February 18, 2011
- a community member
The school gets one star in my book. Not because of academics, but because Laura Wilson, the principal is there for one reason only. Her kids. When her children are no longer there, she will leave as well. She cares only about numbers, not the well being of the children. There are countless numbers of children who have left this school because of her. Ask her how she handles bullied children? She does not! When will the administration wake up and see she is the reason for the drop in enrollment? They won't because her numbers
1 person found this helpful

Redstone Elementary School 5

Posted August 25, 2010
- a parent
We are very happy with the quality of teachers and the administration! Good use of technology to keep parents informed.


Redstone Elementary School
no rating

Posted March 31, 2010
- a parent
School administration is thoughtful and caring. The principal, Laura Wilson has high expectations for the teachers and students. She moves the school forward by focusing her efforts on critical thinking. This is the best public school my children have ever attended!

Redstone Elementary School 4

Posted July 06, 2008
- a parent
Overall I would say that everyone at the school does their best to make sure that the school is a well-rounded place for our children. However, some very important things do fall through the cracks and even though intentions are good..follow through can be lacking. Parents tend to be clickish and it makes participation very uncomfortable. Going to your child's grade school shouldn't feel like going back to highschool! Ugh!

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Redstone Elementary School
9970 Glenstone Circle, Highlands Ranch, CO  80130
(303) 387-7300
Last modified Redstone Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-6. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 10 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Redstone Elementary School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 16 reviews. Top