Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
PK-12
Public charter
Highlands Ranch, CO
Students enrolled: 1,350
 

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


SkyView Academy 5

Posted June 18, 2015
- a community member
I worked on the playground and watched the teachers and students interact. They were respectful to each other and to the staff.

SkyView Academy 5

Posted May 19, 2015
- a parent
We are parents of an eigther grader who transferred this year from our home middle school. From day one we were impressed with the engagement of the teachers and administrators in the caring education of our child. The kids are challenged and the social environment is much more healthy than the middle school we left. SkyView is a safe place for kids to learn and grow and have every expectation that will continue as we move into the high school.


SkyView Academy 3

Posted May 17, 2015
- a parent
the communication between teachers and parents is at "0"... Especially for new family to SVA, who is still learning how to communicate or navigate the web.

SkyView Academy 3

Posted May 01, 2015
- a parent
Elementary school curriculum is strong and challenging for kids. Ability grouping works very well for english and math subjects. Unfortunately, the turn over rate of administration and teachers is well above district averages. Middle school and high school are a whole other animal. We attended a charter school because of the regularly expressed "higher expectation of students" factor, community service opportunities and community. None of these have occurred regularly. I believe for the entire year the only community service my middle schooler participated in was picking up trash outside the school. The school is very homogenous in culture but in all honesty, that is what is found in Highlands Ranch. We have noticed a decrease in challenging work load due to complaints from parents. Middle school/high school administration does not consistently enforce rules and consequences leading the kids to not have much respect for those in charge. If you don't have patience for a long carpool incarceration, this school might not be the school for you.

SkyView Academy 5

Posted April 01, 2015
- a parent
SVA is beyond what we expected from a school! It starts from the moment you walk into the school (always happy, knowledgeable front desk staff) to when the kiddos talk about their exciting day and all the things they learned (Core Knowledge curriculum is great)! The administrative team is always visible and can be reached via email and/or phone. Administration is always happy to reply quickly. The SVA teachers are at the school only because SVA has high standards and would not hire anyone that could not do the amazing job that these teachers do, each day!!! SVA feels like home!


SkyView Academy 1

Posted March 25, 2015
- a parent
With kindergarten class sizes at 25 and first grade and on at 26, the kids are missing individual attention in a fast-paced, challenging environment. The school boasts volunteer opportunities, but parents are limited to 5 hours or less in the classroom. If a child is struggling, who is there to assist when the teacher is unavailable? Carline is 1 hour plus to pickup due to the amount of families. It seems the school has been more focused on growing than taking care of their kids.

SkyView Academy 5

Posted January 29, 2015
- a parent
Great school w/caring staff - have been very happy in our overall experience with this school.

SkyView Academy 3

Posted August 11, 2014
- a parent
Can't wait to see the 2014 TCAP scores, gonna check them later this week on the CDE website, and compare them to nearby middle schools.


SkyView Academy 5

Posted May 02, 2014
- a parent
SVA is excellent. My son has gone for 4 years from second grade to fifth grade. He has learned so much. They just did a interactive civil war battle. My son has learn more history and literature in elementary than I learned in high school. There is good communication and with requirement of volunteering from each family makes this the best school environment. We will continue to go to middle school

SkyView Academy 5

Posted April 24, 2014
- a parent
We LOVE SVA! We just attended our preschool and first grader's Spanish festival, and can't say enough about how wonderful it is that they both get Spanish classes daily. The core knowledge curriculum is also a fantastic sequence for our kids. The school environment is warm and inviting, yet structured and regimented. Wearing uniforms, and adhering to the schools core virtues are just the icing on the cake. If you can get in, I highly recommend choosing this amazing school for your child.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

SkyView Academy
6161 Business Center Dr., Highlands Ranch, CO  80129
(303) 471-8439
Last modified SkyView Academy is a Charter school that serves grades PK-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 8 out of 10 based on academic quality.
SkyView Academy Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 41 reviews. Top