Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
36 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (2 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (2 responses)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Parent (1 response)
characters left.
There are 55 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


SkyView Academy 1

Posted August 26, 2016
- a parent
This is terrible experience. No teaching , no schedule and no cooperation. Not sure if it is a real charter school. We are very unsatisfied

SkyView Academy 5

Posted November 20, 2015
- a parent
SkyView has some great, dedicated, talented teachers and leaders. It's a wonderful place where students are not going to get lost in the crowd. On the high school side, we may not be the biggest in town, but you can't beat the fact that every student is known and the leadership opportunities are plentiful. I have watched my student's peers rise up, become leaders and grow in leaps and bounds with the support of the school and their peers.


SkyView Academy 5

Posted June 18, 2015
- a community member
I worked on the playground and watched the teachers and students interact. They were respectful to each other and to the staff.

SkyView Academy 5

Posted May 19, 2015
- a parent
We are parents of an eigther grader who transferred this year from our home middle school. From day one we were impressed with the engagement of the teachers and administrators in the caring education of our child. The kids are challenged and the social environment is much more healthy than the middle school we left. SkyView is a safe place for kids to learn and grow and have every expectation that will continue as we move into the high school.

SkyView Academy 3

Posted May 17, 2015
- a parent
the communication between teachers and parents is at "0"... Especially for new family to SVA, who is still learning how to communicate or navigate the web.


SkyView Academy 3

Posted May 01, 2015
- a parent
Elementary school curriculum is strong and challenging for kids. Ability grouping works very well for english and math subjects. Unfortunately, the turn over rate of administration and teachers is well above district averages. Middle school and high school are a whole other animal. We attended a charter school because of the regularly expressed "higher expectation of students" factor, community service opportunities and community. None of these have occurred regularly. I believe for the entire year the only community service my middle schooler participated in was picking up trash outside the school. The school is very homogenous in culture but in all honesty, that is what is found in Highlands Ranch. We have noticed a decrease in challenging work load due to complaints from parents. Middle school/high school administration does not consistently enforce rules and consequences leading the kids to not have much respect for those in charge. If you don't have patience for a long carpool incarceration, this school might not be the school for you.

SkyView Academy 5

Posted April 01, 2015
- a parent
SVA is beyond what we expected from a school! It starts from the moment you walk into the school (always happy, knowledgeable front desk staff) to when the kiddos talk about their exciting day and all the things they learned (Core Knowledge curriculum is great)! The administrative team is always visible and can be reached via email and/or phone. Administration is always happy to reply quickly. The SVA teachers are at the school only because SVA has high standards and would not hire anyone that could not do the amazing job that these teachers do, each day!!! SVA feels like home!

SkyView Academy 1

Posted March 25, 2015
- a parent
With kindergarten class sizes at 25 and first grade and on at 26, the kids are missing individual attention in a fast-paced, challenging environment. The school boasts volunteer opportunities, but parents are limited to 5 hours or less in the classroom. If a child is struggling, who is there to assist when the teacher is unavailable? Carline is 1 hour plus to pickup due to the amount of families. It seems the school has been more focused on growing than taking care of their kids.


SkyView Academy 5

Posted January 29, 2015
- a parent
Great school w/caring staff - have been very happy in our overall experience with this school.

SkyView Academy 3

Posted August 11, 2014
- a parent
Can't wait to see the 2014 TCAP scores, gonna check them later this week on the CDE website, and compare them to nearby middle schools.

Nearby schools

SkyView Academy
6161 Business Center Dr., Highlands Ranch, CO  80129
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 55 reviews. (303) 471-8439
Last modified SkyView Academy is a Charter school that serves grades PK-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 8 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top