Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

Follow
School principal icon 130x130 140902

School Official Point of View

STEM School and Academy provides an enriched academic program for highly motivated students. Almost 25% are identified gifted. We offer weekly tours to provide parents with a clear understanding of our program. Visit our website for tour dates and more information. No testing required for admission. Our lottery is conducted in January for the following year. Contact our registrar for admission information if applying after January. Our faculty, staff, students and parents have created a very special place to learn and grow. Watch our video uploaded on our website to see what students and teachers are saying about their school.
June 01, 2014

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
50 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (3 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (3 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (3 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (4 responses)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Too much (5 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Somewhat effective (3 responses)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (2 responses)
characters left.
There are 105 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


STEM School and Academy
Develops respect: Agree

Posted August 24, 2016
- a student
Not 100% but i do say it was pretty well and wasent to bad with there respect.

STEM School and Academy
Develops empathy: Strongly agree

Posted August 24, 2016
- a student
They were very caring after first semester all the way to now and never yelled at me after the first semester.


STEM School and Academy
Develops honesty: Agree

Posted August 24, 2016
- a student
They were mean but they became nice and ever since they have been very nice.

STEM School and Academy 4

Posted August 24, 2016
- a student
I am currently a STEM student in 7th grade last year was my first year at stem the teachers were very helpful but not so nice first semester but it was nice to have not a lot of homework. Second semester they were very nice and helped with homework but there was a ton of it and i kind of understand that but i think it was a little too much... i was spending about 4-6 hours a day... This year so far has been outstanding and i love it here! I highly recommend this for your child.

STEM School and Academy
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted August 17, 2016
- a parent
Mr. Marc Brown had a very positive impact on my child who suffers from low self-esteem. He has a kind heart and a love for teaching kids more than just common core stuff. He taught life lessons.


STEM School and Academy
Amount of homework: Don't know

Posted August 17, 2016
- a parent
Don't know because the communication was so poor we never knew what the homework was because half the time it wasn't online where it was supposed to be.

STEM School and Academy 1

Posted August 17, 2016
- a parent
Our child attended Stem's first year of 5th grade in 2015/2016. Bullying policies from the handbook were not enforced. The bullying went on for the entire year and never addressed by staff. Communication was a nightmare. One of the "STEM" teachers managed to delete hundreds of emails from Gmail and couldn't figure out how to retrieve them which seemed kind of ironic. The reason we stuck it out was we loved the home room teacher. He was promptly fired on the last day of school because he wasn't awful like the rest of the staff.

STEM School and Academy 3

Posted May 24, 2016
- a student
The school is amazing, but the homework is ridiculous. My child is in 6th grade, but he gets 2-5 hours a day! This is bad. But the education is good however. He has good grades, but he is beginning to hate school, learning, and teachers. They're good people, but he is so tired of this madness!


STEM School and Academy
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted March 15, 2016
- a parent
Thank you for being the only teacher this year to get to know my child and keep me informed.

STEM School and Academy
Teacher effectiveness: Ineffective

Posted March 15, 2016
- a parent
While there are some caring, perceptive and engaged teachers, most are aloof, and do not bother to learn about your child. Transparency differs greatly, depending on the individual. Even the more exciting / inventive electives seem to get watered down into uninspired experiences. The kids then tune out instead of developing an appreciation for topics such as engineering or electronic music.

Nearby schools

STEM School and Academy
8779 South Ridgeline Boulevard, Highlands Ranch, CO  80129
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 105 reviews. (303) 683-7836
Last modified STEM School and Academy is a Charter school that serves grades K-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 9 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top