Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
PK-6
Public
Highlands Ranch, CO
Students enrolled: 398

3 stars
Based on 24 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


26 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Coyote Creek Elementary School 5

Posted June 17, 2013
- a parent
Coyote Creek is a great elementary school. The school staff and parents are welcoming and very involved. Principal Whalen has brought so many new innovative ideas to make our school even better. I have truly been happy with the education my son has gotten in the last two years. We are happy to send all of our children through Coyote creek and look forward to the many years we will be a part of this community.

Coyote Creek Elementary School 3

Posted April 24, 2013
- a community member
I would rate this school mediocre. I don't feel the quality of instruction is high based on the amount of worksheets (busy work) that come home. There needs to be an effective teacher in EVERY classroom. Giving students worksheets to complete when they finish their initial task isn't pushing them to go deeper with their thinking.


Coyote Creek Elementary School 5

Posted November 30, 2012
- a parent
CCE is an amazing school! The parent involvement is high and the community outreach is great. This year the school started teaching Leader In Me which is 7 Habits for children. It s a life changing program and will only make the school and students better year after year. The new principle has really improved the school. She has initiated many wonderful programs like Outdoor Ed, student garden, and Spanish as part of the daily curriculum. She has also prioritized learned by keeping the teacher/student ratio down. The teachers really care about the students and you can tell by how happy they are when they return home each day. CCE has improved tremendously over the past two years. We are proud to be a part of this school!

Coyote Creek Elementary School 5

Posted August 18, 2012
- a parent
Great things are happening at Coyote Creek. The leadership at this school is wonderful. The principal, Mrs. Whalen, has already brought so much to this school in the short time she has been there. The school is in the process of becoming a Leader in Me school which follows the Covey's 7 habits. Great school, great leadership, great teachers, great families.

Coyote Creek Elementary School 4

Posted April 15, 2012
- a parent
I have been so pleased with the direction this school is heading under the new leadership of Principal Whalen. She is approachable, willing to listen, and appears to have greatly improved the morale in the building. I am excited to see where she takes this school in the coming years. Don't hesitate to send your child to CCE. This school is just beginning to reach it's full potential. Great things are happening here and it will only get better as more and more parents get involved.


Coyote Creek Elementary School 5

Posted August 08, 2011
- a parent
I have 2 girls that have attended Coyote Creek from K thru 5th grade. I couldn't be more pleased with the quality of education and especially the quality of teachers. With the unfavorable economic turn that has impacted all schools, we have been forced to come up with alternative funding solutions. This is where the PTO, and SAC committee's have been great simply brilliant. The parent involvement in their kid s education has been key to success in this school that has seen it's fair share of cutbacks and teacher reductions. Administration has changed twice, but for the better each time. We have awesome leadership, and a safe environment. I highly recommend this school to any parents considering an open enrollment or relocation to the 80129. These kids are well prepared. The CSAP scores are well above average. Also, CCE is one of very few nut free schools. Children with severe nut allergies can be assured that their health and safety free from nuts in the environment is protected. Some of the previous negative comments regarding the principal / administration are based on a previous principal that was replaced due to philosophical indifference. Today all is well!

Coyote Creek Elementary School 5

Posted April 28, 2011
- a teacher
Coyote Creek Elementary is a resource rich school to teach in. We have an excellent library, rich technology resources for every classroom and a professional staff dedicated to staying up on the latest 21st century teaching and learning protocol along with continuing to best meet the academic and social/emotional needs of our students. Coyote Creek supports teachers visions for teaching better and growing professionally.

Coyote Creek Elementary School 5

Posted August 10, 2010
- a parent
We have enjoyed being a part of CCE! It's a great environment with wonderful caring teachers!


Coyote Creek Elementary School 4

Posted August 05, 2010
- a parent
We moved in at mid-year. We have found the school and surrounding community both welcoming and engaged. When we enrolled our child the principal was very interested in meeting us and our child. The school also provides many opportunities to get involved with the staff and teachers, this does require you to volunteer your time. (Watch Dogs or PTO) However the investment of time is worth the return when thinking about your child's education. The teachers communicate well with parents about how well your child is doing or where there may be opportunity. They offer advice (when asked) for ways to help your child improve. There are no buses for this school but given it's proximity to the surrounding neighborhood it simply is not necessary. What makes a great school is: Parent and community involvement.

Coyote Creek Elementary School 3

Posted July 29, 2010
- a parent
I have found the administration at Coyote Creek to be extremely disappointing. I feel a principal should not only be present in the building but should make an effort to meet parents, attend pre-scheduled meetings with concerned parents (rather than just not show without explanation), and at the very least, attend kindergarten graduation. I recognize that the district cuts have resulted in staff reduction. As a parent it would be somewhat reassuring to know what the situation is going to look like this school year to adequately prepare my child. I think the administration is very poor at relaying information to parents resulting in the appearance of laziness or fear on their behalf.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Coyote Creek Elementary School
2861 Baneberry Court, Highlands Ranch, CO  80129
(303) 387-6175
Last modified Coyote Creek Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-6. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 9 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Coyote Creek Elementary School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 26 reviews. Top