Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
34 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Not enough (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very ineffective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 49 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Northridge Elementary School 4

Posted January 27, 2016
- a community member
I would have rated it five stars, as I loved K-5th Grade. However, the 6th grade teachers were horrible. You just get a big packet of worksheets in math, and the English teacher just lectures while you take notes. I got to seventh grade and was completely unprepared because of these bad teachers. But K-5 was great. The 5th grade team is one of the best, and the kindergarten teachers are great.

Northridge Elementary School
Teacher effectiveness: Very effective

Posted August 18, 2015
- a parent
The teachers at Northridge are fantastic. Their scores on tests show that they are some of the best in the state at teaching. They also adjust their lessons so that they challenge kids who are ahead, and go back to fill in the gaps for children who are behind. The students who have been at Northridge stand out in middle school because they are so well prepared. They land up in the top classes. The teachers are friendly and kind, and my kids have loved every teacher they have had here.


Northridge Elementary School
Develops respect: Strongly agree

Posted August 18, 2015
- a parent
The children are held accountable for their own actions so they develop respect for themselves, the teachers, and the other children, because they understand how their behavior affects others. The children appear well behaved in the classrooms and in the hallways, and I have seen teachers talking to children about a better way to do something, rather than yelling at them.

Northridge Elementary School
Develops honesty: Strongly agree

Posted August 18, 2015
- a parent
The classes have meetings where all of the kids talk about issues that come up and discuss how they could be managed. The children all listen to both sides of the story, and have to include how their own actions affect the others in the class. My children have begun to use this format at home, and have begun to own up to their mistake and offer suggestions to make it right.

Northridge Elementary School 5

Posted August 01, 2015
- a parent
We have been thrilled with the academic and social development of our children since they have been at Northridge. The teachers were quick to see the children's strengths and weaknesses, and adjusted what they were doing so that each of our kids was challenged. Our kids loved the before and after school activities and the specials. The principal was very involved and supportive.


Northridge Elementary School 1

Posted June 16, 2015
- a parent
The principal here is rude to parents. The teachers are allowed to do whatever they like regardless of strong parental negative feedback. Parents who stand up for their kids will be treated badly. My son was bullied for 4 months there, as were other children, while the principal tried to say it was all in his head! I've never hated a school like this one, I cringe just hearing her voice. The sixth grade teachers are horrible. They don't teach - for math, you get huge packets of worksheets. English and math are also completely on computers except for these huge packets. ReadingPlus is a horrible program that causes headaches and doesn't align with the mental model of reading (skip back to improve comprehension) - as a usability engineer with an MS in this field, I voiced these expert opinions - the principal could care less. I am desperately trying to find another place for my son - my daughter just barely survived sixth grade there, and he would have the same "teachers". My daughter is a cute, athletic, fun-loving, comedic gal who makes friends everywhere, except Northridge, where the girls will ask you whether you're a Republican and who your parents voted for. She eventually found some good male friends, and the kids loved the Chinese teacher, but for the rest, unless they get rid of the horrible principal and 6th grade teachers, I would beware.

Northridge Elementary School
Teacher effectiveness: Very ineffective

Posted June 16, 2015
- a parent
My sixth grader knew more, was more confident and fun-loving before entering this horrible place. She has bounced around as we've moved, but always integrated. Not here - here, if you didn't start in K-2 here, then you shouldn't bother coming. It should have stayed a track school and left the language to another school. Sad that it's the only one w/language :(

Northridge Elementary School
Amount of homework: Not enough

Posted June 16, 2015
- a parent
My second grader got nothing. My sixth grader got huge worksheets for math, basically doing the same thing over and over again, trying to boost test scores. The kids do 1 solid month of testing, plus various other tests that have nothing to do with schoolwork!


Northridge Elementary School
Develops empathy: Strongly disagree

Posted June 16, 2015
- a parent
Beware coming into this school as a sixth-grade girl. The girls here are just mean, and bullied my daughter's best guy friend for being friends with her!! Just because she wouldn't allow them to control her own friendships. Horrible place, horrible girls, horrible principal, horrible teachers.

Northridge Elementary School 5

Posted January 15, 2015
- a parent
We have moved around a lot for work and this is by far the friendliest and most academically rigorous school our kids have ever been in. You can feel the love that the teachers and administration have for kids when you walk in the door, and you can tell that they have high expectations for children by listening to the type of conversation that the kids have with one another and their teachers. Thank you Northridge.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Northridge Elementary School
555 Southpark Road, Highlands Ranch, CO  80126
Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 49 reviews. (303) 387-6525
Last modified Northridge Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-6. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 10 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top