Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Sand Creek Elementary School

Public | K-6

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 4 ratings
2012:
Based on 4 ratings
2011:
Based on 3 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

19 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted Wednesday, August 27, 2014

Our son went to this school for a year and started his 6th grade year this August 12. Our child had Autism and on an IEP. When this school decided to take him on Outdoor Education trip we were VERY hesitant. Our child has many sensory issues and has not eaten a hot lunch a day in his life. We were informed to send meals along with him and he would be fed those meals. We were told if he needed to call his parents at anytime during the trip he could! We send our son along thinking all would then go well... NOT the case when he was STARVED and NOT fed the meals we sent with him. He also tried to call us on a teacher cell phone because he was SCARED and STARVING and dropped call. NOT one teacher cared to find him a working phone. Not one teacher noticed he had been stimming so badly his face was bleeding when he arrived home. We have taken proper action to make sure this policy will be changed for outdoor ed and this will hopefully NEVER happen to another child. Our son has lost all trust in the school and will not return!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 4, 2013

As a new school year quickly approaches, our children are excited to get back to Sand Creek. We have a fantastic school full of energy that's contageous! I have read some of the other reviews and while I know everyone is entitled to their own opinion, some of the negative reviews pertain to struggles that all schools and children face, yet Sand Creek addresses those well with a collaborative effort from parents and families. Problems can only be addressed when parents and schools work together to establish/maintain a fostering environment for students. Hats off to Sand Creek for a job well done!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 6, 2013

Our daughter attended this school, and although the teachers and school were great, her classmates were not. They were very clic-y already even though they were only in the 3rd grade, they wouldn't be friends with her because we were not in a particular neighborhood. They were not very accepting and very judgmental.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 1, 2013

I have a Kindergardener and a 3rd grader here, and I'm very pleased not only with the school itself, but also with its great staff and the education they're receiving. Sure, some teachers are better than others - but so far we haven't had a 'bad' one. The principle is wonderful, and the assistant principle is even better. Very communicative and responsive, and quick to try to help. The website is very useful and all in all, I think they' re really doing a great job.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 16, 2013

Would not recommend to anyone. Very dissapointed in the way staff handle things here. Could be a lot better
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 31, 2012

I feel that parent volunteerism is more organized due to online sign up schedules. This has lead to increased participation over past years. I give this school a 5 star rating.


Posted May 26, 2012

Incredible school in a great neighborhood. the school is always super clean and in great condition. the teachers and staff are great and you can tell they really care. I am VERY happy that my 2 kids are going to this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 14, 2012

Over crowded classrooms, under funded school doing the best they can with more cuts coming. Frustrating experience!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 10, 2012

I have a kindergartener at SCE and she loves going to school every day. The teachers are invested in the students, classes are diverse, and the staff truly cares. The school is integrated into the community and the school grounds are great. Open space, multiple playgrounds, and clean. SCE takes care of the overachieving students as well as ones that need extra help. Can t wait for our future years.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 9, 2011

I can't say enough about Sand Creek Elementary. I have a 2nd and 3rd grader and have been very pleased with the strong leadership provided by the Principal and Vice Principal. They are approachable and listen/act on parent input. The teachers are phenomenal. They have motivated my children, taught to their learning style, and challenged them by providing ability grouping in the classroom. They have also routinely assessed them for high learning potential and admitted them into challenge groups when appropriate. I greatly appreciate the open door policy of this school environment. I feel welcome to stop by anytime and volunteers are always utilized and appreciated in the classroom. My children love going school. There has not been a day that they have lacked excitement to go learn. They rave about Music, Art, Gym, and Technology. They enjoy the after school opportunities such as chess club and theatre. SCE really strives to meet the needs of each individual child and I feel very fortunate to be a part of the SCE community.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 30, 2011

SCE is a fantastic school that brings energy and excitement to education. In this day and age it is very difficult to keep up with budget restrictions and changes to our school district. Amazingly, SCE's staff and community not only adjusts but still continues to raise the bar with high yet attainable goals. There is a true sense of community, and the organizations like the PTO and SAC work together to foster an excellent parent/community/staff relationship. We also have innovative administration and staff - our students admire them so much. Our family is proud to be part of Sand Creek!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 28, 2011

I love our neighborhood school. Even with the budget cuts going on in our district Sand Creek still offers more than just excellent academics. Our children attend Physical Education, Health, Music, Art and technology. They are also still at recess everyday. There is a lot more than academics when it comes to raising a child, Sand Creek enriches the whole child. The staff works hard everyday so that the kids are learning while enjoying school. They meet academic needs for both low level learners and gifted students and all the hundereds of kids in between.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 13, 2008

I love this school. I think we have great leadership and wonderful teachers. I think the atmosphere is good for learning and each child is trully treasured. They have adopted school wide curriculum for Math, writing and reading which makes the transition between teachers much easier on students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 5, 2007

The best that a secular, public school can possibly be- and this is meant to be in a positive way. The students love and respect Chris Smith, who is a world class principal and is certainly is probably why this school has the highest retention rate among its staff.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 26, 2007

I have been very happy with the school in general. The parent group called 'PIE' is not very welcoming to newcomers. The same people seem to be in charge each year and they don't do much to encourage changes. I know a lot of Moms who said they would more active if it wasn't that way.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 4, 2007

I have three children in this school. This is a wonderful school. The teachers are the best I have come to know. This has been the best school my children have had the privelage to attend. The teachers and staff are outgoing and each interaction I have with them has been wonderful. Two of my children have ADHD and the teachers have been wonderful and patient with them. I would recommend this school to anyone who has children in the K through 6 grade.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 18, 2006

The principal has some great ideas and seems wonderful. I have two children there though and both of their teachers leave a lot to be desired. The school seems pretty good as a whole.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 10, 2006

I have to take the time to bring to the attention of the school what a wonderful teacher Mrs.Riggin is. She is my son's 4th grade teacher. My son has ADHD and he has been extrememly blessed to have her as his teacher. Pat has a son of her own in which she has raised with this disability and it prooves through her teaching that she must also be a wonderful mom. She goes above and beyond for my son James and I have to say I would not have my son attend any other school. The principal Chris is also so personable and caring that he takes the time to notice each child and parent as they grace the floors of the little community school. Every experience I have had with Sand Creek has been a memorable and enjoyable one. Being a single mom that is very important to me!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 4, 2004

We moved from the UK to Denver over five years ago. Many things are different in the schooling system than I was used to but I always find the staff very friendly, attentive, dedicated and productive. The facilites are extremely modern and of a good quality. All three of my children have attended Sand Creek and are definately happy, healthy, cared for and encouraged under the faculty's tutilage.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 72% in 2013.

89 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
85%

2012

 
 
85%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 73% in 2013.

86 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
84%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 51% in 2013.

89 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
68%

2012

 
 
61%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 72% in 2013.

103 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
79%

2012

 
 
87%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 68% in 2013.

103 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
69%

2012

 
 
77%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2013.

103 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
51%

2012

 
 
65%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

81 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
81%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 70% in 2013.

81 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
84%
Science

The state average for Science was 49% in 2013.

81 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
52%

2012

 
 
67%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 57% in 2013.

81 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
80%

2012

 
 
70%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 62% in 2013.

90 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
82%

2012

 
 
79%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 73% in 2013.

90 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
89%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 58% in 2013.

90 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
72%

2012

 
 
80%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

All Students85%
Female88%
Male84%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)89%
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch88%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities93%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English87%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant85%

Reading

All Students83%
Female87%
Male79%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)83%
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch84%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities91%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English83%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant83%

Writing

All Students68%
Female75%
Male61%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)70%
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch70%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities76%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English69%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant68%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

The different student groups are identified by the Colorado Department of Education. If there are fewer than 16 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

All Students79%
Female84%
Male72%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)79%
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch83%
Students with disabilities (IEP)22%
Students without disabilities91%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English79%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant79%

Reading

All Students69%
Female79%
Male57%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)69%
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch73%
Students with disabilities (IEP)6%
Students without disabilities82%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English70%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant69%

Writing

All Students51%
Female61%
Male41%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)50%
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch55%
Students with disabilities (IEP)0%
Students without disabilities62%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English52%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant51%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

The different student groups are identified by the Colorado Department of Education. If there are fewer than 16 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

All Students84%
Female87%
Male81%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)88%
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch86%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities93%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English88%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant84%

Reading

All Students86%
Female91%
Male81%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)89%
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch90%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities97%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English88%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant86%

Science

All Students52%
Female51%
Male53%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)55%
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch55%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities59%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English55%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant52%

Writing

All Students80%
Female89%
Male70%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)81%
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch85%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities91%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English82%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant80%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

The different student groups are identified by the Colorado Department of Education. If there are fewer than 16 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

All Students82%
Female81%
Male83%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)82%
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch87%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities91%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English83%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant82%

Reading

All Students84%
Female88%
Male81%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)83%
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch87%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities92%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English86%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant84%

Writing

All Students72%
Female79%
Male66%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)68%
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch73%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities84%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English73%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant72%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

The different student groups are identified by the Colorado Department of Education. If there are fewer than 16 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
Average

Test score rating
Student growth rating

1-3 Below Average

4-7 Average

8-10 Above Average

 

How schools in the state rate:

23%
of schools in the state are Below average
52%
of schools in the state are Average
24%
of schools in the state are Above average

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

The graphs below compare this school's results in each area to other schools in the district and state.

Test score rating 20131What's this?

Test score rating examines how students at this school performed on standardized tests compared with other schools in Colorado. Test scores are based on 2012-13 TCAP results from the state of Colorado.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Student growth rating 20132What's this?

Student growth rating measures whether students at this school are making academic progress over time. Specifically, the rating looks at how much progress individual students have made on reading and math assessments during the past year or more.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Math growth at this school

Average

Reading growth at this school

Average


1 Test scores are based on 2012-13 TCAP results from the state of Colorado.

2 This rating is based on 2011-12 and 2012-13 Median Growth Percentiles in Math, English Language Arts, and Writing from the state of Colorado.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 80% 56%
Hispanic 12% 32%
Two or more races 4% 3%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 3% 3%
Black 1% 5%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 11%N/A41%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

8898 South Maplewood Dr
Highlands Ranch, CO 80126
Phone: (303) 387-6600

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Ambleside School
Centennial, CO


Cougar Run Elementary School
Highlands Ranch, CO


Northridge Elementary School
Highlands Ranch, CO



Platte River Charter Academy
Highlands Ranch, CO


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT