Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
K-6
Public
Highlands Ranch, CO
Students enrolled: 585

4 stars
Based on 20 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


21 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Sand Creek Elementary School 1

Posted August 27, 2014
- a parent
Our son went to this school for a year and started his 6th grade year this August 12. Our child had Autism and on an IEP. When this school decided to take him on Outdoor Education trip we were VERY hesitant. Our child has many sensory issues and has not eaten a hot lunch a day in his life. We were informed to send meals along with him and he would be fed those meals. We were told if he needed to call his parents at anytime during the trip he could! We send our son along thinking all would then go well... NOT the case when he was STARVED and NOT fed the meals we sent with him. He also tried to call us on a teacher cell phone because he was SCARED and STARVING and dropped call. NOT one teacher cared to find him a working phone. Not one teacher noticed he had been stimming so badly his face was bleeding when he arrived home. We have taken proper action to make sure this policy will be changed for outdoor ed and this will hopefully NEVER happen to another child. Our son has lost all trust in the school and will not return!

Sand Creek Elementary School 5

Posted August 04, 2013
- a parent
As a new school year quickly approaches, our children are excited to get back to Sand Creek. We have a fantastic school full of energy that's contageous! I have read some of the other reviews and while I know everyone is entitled to their own opinion, some of the negative reviews pertain to struggles that all schools and children face, yet Sand Creek addresses those well with a collaborative effort from parents and families. Problems can only be addressed when parents and schools work together to establish/maintain a fostering environment for students. Hats off to Sand Creek for a job well done!


Sand Creek Elementary School 3

Posted March 06, 2013
- a parent
Our daughter attended this school, and although the teachers and school were great, her classmates were not. They were very clic-y already even though they were only in the 3rd grade, they wouldn't be friends with her because we were not in a particular neighborhood. They were not very accepting and very judgmental.

Sand Creek Elementary School 5

Posted March 01, 2013
- a parent
I have a Kindergardener and a 3rd grader here, and I'm very pleased not only with the school itself, but also with its great staff and the education they're receiving. Sure, some teachers are better than others - but so far we haven't had a 'bad' one. The principle is wonderful, and the assistant principle is even better. Very communicative and responsive, and quick to try to help. The website is very useful and all in all, I think they' re really doing a great job.

Sand Creek Elementary School 5

Posted December 31, 2012
- a community member
I feel that parent volunteerism is more organized due to online sign up schedules. This has lead to increased participation over past years. I give this school a 5 star rating.


Sand Creek Elementary School 5

Posted May 26, 2012
- a parent
Incredible school in a great neighborhood. the school is always super clean and in great condition. the teachers and staff are great and you can tell they really care. I am VERY happy that my 2 kids are going to this school.

Sand Creek Elementary School 1

Posted May 14, 2012
- a parent
Over crowded classrooms, under funded school doing the best they can with more cuts coming. Frustrating experience!

Sand Creek Elementary School 5

Posted January 10, 2012
- a parent
I have a kindergartener at SCE and she loves going to school every day. The teachers are invested in the students, classes are diverse, and the staff truly cares. The school is integrated into the community and the school grounds are great. Open space, multiple playgrounds, and clean. SCE takes care of the overachieving students as well as ones that need extra help. Can t wait for our future years.


Sand Creek Elementary School 5

Posted December 09, 2011
- a parent
I can't say enough about Sand Creek Elementary. I have a 2nd and 3rd grader and have been very pleased with the strong leadership provided by the Principal and Vice Principal. They are approachable and listen/act on parent input. The teachers are phenomenal. They have motivated my children, taught to their learning style, and challenged them by providing ability grouping in the classroom. They have also routinely assessed them for high learning potential and admitted them into challenge groups when appropriate. I greatly appreciate the open door policy of this school environment. I feel welcome to stop by anytime and volunteers are always utilized and appreciated in the classroom. My children love going school. There has not been a day that they have lacked excitement to go learn. They rave about Music, Art, Gym, and Technology. They enjoy the after school opportunities such as chess club and theatre. SCE really strives to meet the needs of each individual child and I feel very fortunate to be a part of the SCE community.

Sand Creek Elementary School 5

Posted November 30, 2011
- a parent
SCE is a fantastic school that brings energy and excitement to education. In this day and age it is very difficult to keep up with budget restrictions and changes to our school district. Amazingly, SCE's staff and community not only adjusts but still continues to raise the bar with high yet attainable goals. There is a true sense of community, and the organizations like the PTO and SAC work together to foster an excellent parent/community/staff relationship. We also have innovative administration and staff - our students admire them so much. Our family is proud to be part of Sand Creek!

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Sand Creek Elementary School
8898 South Maplewood Dr, Highlands Ranch, CO  80126
(303) 387-6600
Last modified Sand Creek Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-6. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 7 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Sand Creek Elementary School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 21 reviews. Top