Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
9-12
Public
Highlands Ranch, CO
Students enrolled: 1,854

3 stars
Based on 31 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


34 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Thunderridge High School 1

Posted April 13, 2014
- a parent
Thunderidge was a really bad experience for us, our son has learning disabilities and is on an IEP and while there were some good teachers here and there I felt it was not a good school. The worst thing was the lack of good communication with the parents and students. it made everything harder. There was also very troubling lack of safety and responsibility with some staff and administration. Not a good experience and glad it is behind us now.

Thunderridge High School 4

Posted January 24, 2014
- a parent
My daughter is a senior and has recieved an excellent education. I do believe that if a child too is applying themselves they can achieve. She has been enrolled in the honors program and is leaving the school with a waited gpa of 4.4 and unwaited of 3.9. Because of her education and her own ability she was accepted to Colorado College, the "Stanford of Colorado." I will add that the voucher program may have a negative effect on money availab le to bring in good teachers and would encourage most districts not to award individuals tax money for families chosing private schools over public k-12.


Thunderridge High School 4

Posted February 07, 2012
- a parent
We have two students here and a third coming up the ranks in a couple of years. The teachers we have come in contact with have all been very helpful and willing to work with our kids. The environment sets students on the path to self reliance and independence. Most of a student's success here is really dependent on how hard they're willing to work. There are some terrific teachers, but not enough. The online registration is easy, especially if you involve a counselor in choosing your classes. However, schedule changes are and always have been extremely difficult. I've heard of my student waiting in the line at the school for 30-40 minutes just to get one class replaced. Parents need to step it up and get more involved in the volunteer opportunities available. They also need to check the Parent Portal to stay informed about how their child(ren) is performing in their classes. Whether or not your student is athletic, it is important for them to be involved in some sort of extra curricular activity because they generally have great atmospheres (the coaches/teachers want your child to succeed) and give the kids a chance to explore their interests outside of academics.

Thunderridge High School 3

Posted July 14, 2011
- a student
The principle at ThunderRidge is great! Unfortunately, every other aspect of the school is not. As many people have said, if you're an athlete, you will have a good time here. Most of the teachers love sports and double as coaches. Some even pick favorites and have more pictures of the sport they coach on the walls than math or history posters. I will be a senior next year and continue to be an outcast "band nerd." It might hurt my grade, but it's what I love. Also, ThunderRidge isn't good at preventing bullying. If your child is teased a lot, for anything, don't put them through the pain of this school.

Thunderridge High School 1

Posted December 15, 2010
- a parent
If your child struggles academically, this school will not assist the student, my child was on an ILP and doing well in middle school, TRHS and the county decided to remove his ILP, he now is doing poorly, not getting assistance and I have repeatedly met with teachers and administration, his CSAP scores are now Unsat, they don't care about the students that struggle. This school focuses on those going on to 4 year degree schools, no programs for any type of blue collar types of classes, it is sad that a district that is so rich cannot see the benefit in having more types of classes for those that don't want to be in business or engineering or play sports.


Thunderridge High School 5

Posted July 21, 2010
- a teacher
ThunderRidge Highschool is at the cutting edge of 21st century learning, with an emphasis on critical thinking skills and helping students find relevance in what they are learning.

Thunderridge High School 1

Posted July 05, 2010
- a student
They are really up tight about everything, and even though they say everything is for the kids, their code of conduct ex spells kids for the stupidest things, then leaves their parents to figure it out. There is a lack of parent involvement, so many kids maybe getting bad grades without parents knowing. Teachers are great though, but student:teacher ratio is skyrocketing, while the administration makes a lot of money and the superintendent of the school district gets a 250,000 dollar pay check.

Thunderridge High School 1

Posted February 24, 2010
- a parent
If your child is very athletic or an excpetional student, they will do well here - if not they will be forced out. When we first moved here, I supplied copies of my sons previous IEP's as well as requested a review. We didn't recieve a meeting with the staff until school was in session for nearly two months and then I found out that none of his teachers had been informed that he had an IEP in place. Rather then spend time coming up with a plan for success, the assistant priciple spent the entire meeting discussing what a 'bad' child he was and how he needed to look at alternatives (i.e. drop out and do his GED) because he was convinced he would never be successful. Shame on you Thunderridge!


Thunderridge High School 5

Posted October 21, 2009
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Thunderridge High School 3

Posted October 08, 2009
- a parent
Good school, some outstanding teachers but the Administration lacks the desire to provide students with a positive and motivating environment.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Thunderridge High School
1991 Wildcat Reserve Parkway, Highlands Ranch, CO  80129
(303) 387-2000
Last modified Thunderridge High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 8 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Thunderridge High School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 34 reviews. Top