Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Cresthill Middle School

Public | 7-8

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

15 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted May 26, 2013

Great school. While academics are certainly important, and well attended to, what makes this school stand out is the principal's and staff's ability to understand the huge transition middle school students are enduring, not only acadmecally but as teenagers. They just get it. I really like, and highly recommend the New Beginnings program that is a 3 day orientation for 7th graders to get acquainted with the school. Are you going to encounter some cruddy, foul-mouthed students from time to time? Yes, that's life. Not all parents parent the same and you can't blame a school for that.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 26, 2013

Was very dissappointed to come to this school. Had high expectations based on previous reviews but clearly not the case for us. Found some of the teachers to be unhelpful and with chips on their shoulders. Cafeteria and classroom full of vuglar, offensive and inappropriate language by students. Teachers always complaining about block scheduling and how overworked they are. Some teachers are completely burned out. One teacher keeps reinforcing with his class how much he dislikes them and uses the word "hate". Had an issue with my child's property that was vandalized and no follow throught by administration. Occassional drug issues.School always trying to reinforce that students need to advocate for themselves but when they do they get shut down and given sloppy excuses. They do not like parental involvement at all. And never send an email because they get very defensive and do not like to be questioned. Definitely not the right school for you if you are an active parent and care about your child's education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 12, 2012

A great school! We are approaching the end of our first year at Cresthill and couldn't be happier. Our son has been challenged in his course work, and we have found the vast majority of his teachers to be responsive and engaged. The principal is fantastic and encourages independence in these young men and women while helping to provide a safe and secure environment in which to thrive. As an aside, the extra curricular activities are very well run and attended.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 12, 2010

Cresthill is an amazing middle school. So many parents talked about how tough the transition can be to 7th grade. Cresthil made it very easy for our daughter and us. She gets up each morning ready to go to school. She never complains. There isn't one teacher on her team that she doesn't adore. Also, the administration is amazing. They take the time to listen and truly value what you have to say as a parent. I couldn't ask for a better place to send my child. We love Cresthill Middle School!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 28, 2009

Everyone fits in here. Of course there are stuck up populars but that is at every school. Everyone encourages everyone else. The teachers take the time to make lessons fun and clear and make sure everyone gets it. I love it here! Its also a good challenge for me. Lots of teamwork and clubs here as well
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 17, 2009

I'm almost finished with my time at Cresthill and I'm going to be sad to leave. They have a lot of fundraisers so it's a little overwhelming. I'm in the GT program and the teachers are wonderful. The lockers are fun but they can get stuck. I don't like, however, how there isn't a lot of electives to choose from. They need more.
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 29, 2009

I am a student at Cresthill and this is my first year here. I am an out of state transfer and this school was relatively good in making me feel welcome. The team that I am on has acceptable teachers and a good learning environment. The thing I dislike about this school is that their placement is way off. My schedule has been switched around about four times, because they couldn't get my classes right. I am now in two seventh grade classes and two eighth grade classes. It's the same material, but I'd still rather be with my own grade. Overall though, it's a pretty good school.
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 18, 2009

I just completed my student teaching at Cresthill. I worked with the G/T and core students in 8th grade. It is an amazing school with amazing students. Thank you so much for all you have done for me. I love you all!
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted January 23, 2009

Im and 8th grader at Cresthill and I love it! When I first came to Cresthill I was a transfer from another school and didn't know a single person. It was the easiest transition I've ever made. Everybody is so nice and teachers make it fun. I'm really going to miss Cresthill
—Submitted by a student


Posted December 5, 2008

I'm an 8th grader at Cresthill. It is an awesome school.I'm on the G/T (gifted an talented program). The teachers are amazing, they really make you think. The elective teachers are also great, and PE really give you a workout.
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 19, 2008

I'm an 8th grader at Cresthill, so this is my second year and i couldn't be happier. The dance team is amazing as well as other after school sports. The academics are great, teachers make learning fun. If you're looking for a school for your child, this place couldn't be anymore perfect (:
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 8, 2008

We love Cresthill. Everyone from teachers to counselors to the principle cares and takes thier time with each student. It is a very supportive and positive learning environment. There are many opportunites for growth and developement and also many extracurricular activities. We were a little scared at first given the size but our worries were put at ease quickly.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 9, 2007

I LOVE THIS SCHOOL! The teachers are comitted and take time with the students. The students are also commited. Mostly anyway.
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 18, 2006

Great school ovderall but their 'Gifted & Talented' program is most excellent with dedicated teachers and accelerated advanced curriculum geared to advanced learners.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 23, 2004

It's our first year at Cresthill and we couldn't be more pleased. The teachers are of the highest calibre, after school opportunities are great and parental support seems high. Thank you!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 55% in 2013.

454 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
70%

2012

 
 
77%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 68% in 2013.

454 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
77%

2012

 
 
82%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 61% in 2013.

454 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
76%

2012

 
 
75%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 52% in 2013.

446 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
68%

2012

 
 
72%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 67% in 2013.

446 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
82%

2012

 
 
80%
Science

The state average for Science was 52% in 2013.

446 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
57%

2012

 
 
63%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 56% in 2013.

446 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
67%

2012

 
 
70%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

All Students70%
Female65%
Male74%
Black (not Hispanic)31%
Asian80%
Hispanic64%
Multiracial68%
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)72%
Free lunch eligible46%
Reduced lunch eligible50%
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch73%
Students with disabilities (IEP)16%
Students without disabilities74%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English70%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant70%

Reading

All Students77%
Female80%
Male73%
Black (not Hispanic)44%
Asian73%
Hispanic68%
Multiracial84%
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)80%
Free lunch eligible64%
Reduced lunch eligible50%
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch80%
Students with disabilities (IEP)23%
Students without disabilities81%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English79%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant77%

Writing

All Students76%
Female80%
Male71%
Black (not Hispanic)50%
Asian80%
Hispanic60%
Multiracial76%
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)80%
Free lunch eligible57%
Reduced lunch eligible50%
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch79%
Students with disabilities (IEP)23%
Students without disabilities79%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English77%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant76%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

The different student groups are identified by the Colorado Department of Education. If there are fewer than 16 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

All Students68%
Female68%
Male69%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asian84%
Hispanic54%
Multiracial63%
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)71%
Free lunch eligible43%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch72%
Students with disabilities (IEP)20%
Students without disabilities73%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English70%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant68%

Reading

All Students82%
Female86%
Male78%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asian88%
Hispanic76%
Multiracial75%
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)83%
Free lunch eligible60%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch85%
Students with disabilities (IEP)34%
Students without disabilities86%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English83%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant82%

Science

All Students57%
Female56%
Male59%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asian81%
Hispanic42%
Multiracial44%
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)60%
Free lunch eligible40%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch59%
Students with disabilities (IEP)17%
Students without disabilities61%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English58%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant57%

Writing

All Students67%
Female76%
Male59%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asian84%
Hispanic58%
Multiracial75%
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)68%
Free lunch eligible63%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch69%
Students with disabilities (IEP)17%
Students without disabilities71%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English68%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant67%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

The different student groups are identified by the Colorado Department of Education. If there are fewer than 16 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
Average

Test score rating
Student growth rating

1-3 Below Average

4-7 Average

8-10 Above Average

 

How schools in the state rate:

23%
of schools in the state are Below average
52%
of schools in the state are Average
24%
of schools in the state are Above average

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

The graphs below compare this school's results in each area to other schools in the district and state.

Test score rating 20131What's this?

Test score rating examines how students at this school performed on standardized tests compared with other schools in Colorado. Test scores are based on 2012-13 TCAP results from the state of Colorado.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Student growth rating 20132What's this?

Student growth rating measures whether students at this school are making academic progress over time. Specifically, the rating looks at how much progress individual students have made on reading and math assessments during the past year or more.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Math growth at this school

Average

Reading growth at this school

Average


1 Test scores are based on 2012-13 TCAP results from the state of Colorado.

2 This rating is based on 2011-12 and 2012-13 Median Growth Percentiles in Math, English Language Arts, and Writing from the state of Colorado.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 75% 56%
Hispanic 12% 32%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 6% 3%
Two or more races 4% 3%
Black 2% 5%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 13%N/A41%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students School social worker/counselors(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school community.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Photography
Performing and written arts
  • Drama

Health & athletics

School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Football
  • Track
  • Wrestling
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Track
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Photography
Performing arts
  • Drama
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

9195 Cresthill Ln
Highlands Ranch, CO 80130
Phone: (303) 387-2800

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Platte River Charter Academy
Highlands Ranch, CO


SkyView Academy
Highlands Ranch, CO




American Academy
Castle Pines, CO



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT