Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
9-12
Public district
Lafayette, CO
Students enrolled: 1,017
Before care: No
 

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Centaurus High School 5

Posted May 12, 2015
- a parent
Centaurus is an amazing school that treats every student with respect and value. It is no surprise that they received the Gold School of Opportunity Award in 2015! If you are looking for a school that honors the unique talents of your child and that will treat your child like their own child, Centaurus is the school. The teachers, counselors, and administration, work together to create individual student-centered learning opportunities for every student. Whether the student is taking AP/ IB/Engineering classes or the student is new to the country and learning English, Centaurus truly cares about each of the students. As a result, their students are achieving at amazing rates, and their school community is one that honors the diversity of each of us.
1 person found this helpful

Centaurus High School 4

Posted February 10, 2015
- a parent
Centaurus is a hidden gem in small town Lafayette, CO! Students have many opportunities in various fields that will prepare them for life after high school. The marching band is 3-time state champions. The engineering program is amazing - working with other colleges to provide students with many "professional" opportunities and furthering education. The teachers and office staff are committed to the success of every student.
1 person found this helpful


Centaurus High School 5

Posted February 10, 2015
- a student
Centaurus is a magnificent place to attend high school. I went there because of their phenomenal engineering program. The school's atmosphere is a friendly and welcoming place. I feel like the teachers know me on a deeper level than other schools that i have attended. The students are great friends and they help each other with school work and other things. Centaurus is the place to be if you want a fun, loving and caring community in high school and beyond.
1 person found this helpful

Centaurus High School 5

Posted September 05, 2014
- a parent
Centaurus is a student-centric school, something which is rare to find these days, particularly in Colorado. The Principal is actively involved in evolving school culture towards 21st Century learners. All the programs within the school -IB, Pre-engineering, AVID, etc. -are geared towards individual student success and betterment. Supports are in place for all students, from after and in-school tutoring, to Success Lab with one on one teacher tutoring, to counselor access and advisory planning classes ( counselor sand advisory teachers stay with students for all four years, so they get to know individual students well). Most importantly, the school climate is open and supportive, diverse and welcoming. High school is a challenging time for all kids, but Centaurus is a smaller, closer community than most and the courtesy and respect students show each other here is impressive. Students are active in a variety of sports and club activities (often multiple activities), throughout the year, summer too. They are encouraged to try new things and grow, not just academically, but as fully rounded people, so they are ready for whatever life throws at them.

Centaurus High School 5

Posted July 22, 2014
- a parent
Centaurus is the best kept secret in Boulder Valley! The IB and Engineering programs really challenge those students who are motivated to do the work, and sets them up beautifully for college. the test score gaps have been closing steadily for several years, and they have done an excellent job addressing the needs of those who are not native English speakers. One of the smallest teacher/ student ratios in the district allows individual attention to students who need more assistance. This next four years will be a technology plus, with each freshman being supplied with a chromebook. I am so happy with the responsiveness of the staff and administration here; I have never waited more than two hours for a response when asking a question about something concerning my students. The marching band is a state champion, and all kids who would like to play sports are welcome to play. You can't go wrong here!!
2 people found this helpful


Centaurus High School 5

Posted April 26, 2014
- a parent
I find it interesting that a previous reviewer finds that Centaurus is not a good fit for gifted students. In our experience, the exact opposite is the case. My son's counselor has been extremely responsive and has made every effort to set him up for success. He has been given an extraordinary amount of freedom and guidance to learn and grow in the engineering program, even as a freshman, and all of his pre IB teachers appreciate him as a person and encourage him to excel. I feel that he will have many doors open for him in college due to the foundation he is getting in high school. In our experience in other schools, TAG is a program that may work with kids on a few things but does not really reach them as whole people. Additionally, quiet students and those who are more introverted are often not recognized for their abilities. At Centaurus we feel our son is thriving as never before; he is motivated to do his best and is so happy to go to school.
3 people found this helpful

Centaurus High School 5

Posted April 26, 2014
- a parent
I would like to share that I have a "twice exceptional" student who is a senior - he's been offered numerous merit based scholarships (ex: School of Mines and two scholarships from CU) and it's all due to the quality of teaching & extensive ZAP training he went through at Centaurus. He's a straight A student who chose not to go into TAG or IB programs, and got to plan his own coursework (mainly AP classes). We had many Ivy League Universities sending him recruiting mail. My other student is a Junior in IB and he's also tracking extremely well academically & we're confident of his college prospects. Centaurus is a high school that offers many choices to students where they can learn to proactively manage their education. This school prepares graduates for college level work, especially in the engineering program.
2 people found this helpful

Centaurus High School 2

Posted April 25, 2014
- a parent
As a parent of a straight A student, I have been very disappointed in the quality of education and lack of competency of the counseling office. I do not recommend this school for TAG students. There are excellent teachers, and the parents know who they are - so if you decide to send your child to Centaurus I would advise talking to parents who share teacher recommendations. The major focus of the administration is to raise the school retention rate. Most resources are spent with students who do not meet state proficiency goals. Although the counseling office has the state standard for counselor/student ratio, assistance with college and scholarship searches is very weak and the office is unorganized. Unfortunately, Centaurus is an underperforming school.
1 person found this helpful


Centaurus High School 5

Posted February 03, 2014
- a parent
I have a sophomore at Centaurus and have been so happy with his experience there. He used to be self-conscious and has really blossomed and feels very confident and happy at CHS. He is in the engineering program and part of the 2-time state champions marching band and orchestra. He also participates in baseball and track so is well rounded and involved which is important in the success of any student. I also volunteer in the office so see first-hand how things are ran at that school. The staff are amazing and are committed to helping the kids be successful in school at the same time helping them have a good high school experience. The kids are very supportive of each other and bullying is not tolerated. BVSD has helped to provide great improvements at CHS, including the engineering program and the IB program. The teachers are very committed to helping the students achieve their potential and are open and responsive to parents. Compared to what I hear from parents who have kids at other BVSD high schools, I think CHS is the best!
1 person found this helpful

Centaurus High School 5

Posted January 30, 2014
- a parent
My son has just completed his first semester at Centaurus and I am impressed. Teachers at Centaurus have an open-door policy and students can visit, get help, and spend time getting to know them. The teachers go out of their way to get to know the students and work to challenge them. The IB program is fantastic, the engineering program is 1st class, the teachers are incredibly engaging and inspiring, the staff is incredibly friendly. Centaurus is truly a hidden gem!
1 person found this helpful

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Centaurus High School
10300 South Boulder Rd, Lafayette, CO  80026
(720) 561-7500
Last modified Centaurus High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 6 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Centaurus High School Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 25 reviews. Top