Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Alexander Dawson School

Private | K-12 | 48 students

 
 

Living in Lafayette

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $280,500. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,050.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 3 ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
Based on 9 ratings
2011:
Based on 9 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

65 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted February 14, 2009

I have two children at the school. My son has had many challenges with learning differences but patient and caring teachers have allowed our family to grind our way through finding the right meds and counseling. He now earns all 'A's and 'B's. The social network of friends and families is caring and supportive. Administration has also done their best to make the school affordable.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 7, 2009

The best school ever. Fantastic environment. Great parents and faculty. Few issues on the high school part. Some teachers are not as great as the rest and the sports programs often go too late.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 5, 2009

Great teachers but the sports games and theater production rehearsals go too late - sometimes till 9pm! - which makes it difficult for many students to keep up with studying for exams. The other schools in the area have far too many students per class and Dawson certainly has nice, small class sizes.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 14, 2009

This school is awesome i have been here for 9 years. they have a great standard, and pay attention to everyone that needs help.
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 9, 2008

The teachers and staff are wonderful, however, so far it seems the academics are no more difficult than most public schools. Our child is repeating in 7th grade Math and English what he learned in 6th grade public school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 12, 2008

Our son is new to Dawson this year. I can't say enough about how great this school has been so far. It has absolutely exceeded my expectations so far in virtually every respect. It's expensive, yes. And we aren't rich. But so far it's been more than worth every penny.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 10, 2008

Joining this school has been a great turn-around for my son. He's been reinvigorated in his curiosity and love of learning. The school is fantastic, supportive community.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 7, 2008

Dawson is an tremendous educational experience. The campus, school and overall experience are unparallel. We're 9 year veterans with 3 children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 3, 2008

Dawson works from all 4 of our kids--from a kindergartner to a high schooler. What we really appreciate most is how well the teachers get to know our kids, and how much accountability there is, both in and outside the classroom. There is no other school in the area where they could have this kind of academic experience.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 3, 2008

Great school, teachers, sense of community on a campus with wonderful facilities.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 3, 2008

We have been extremely pleased with our experience at Dawson. Our newphew started at Dawson as a Freshman in 2007 and he has expressed nothing but positive words about the teachers and his overall academic experience. My husband and I do feel, as middle class parents, that there are some challenges interacting in such an affluent community; however, it has not limited our nephew's social experience whatsoever. The school has a robust scholarship program that helps create a more diverse student population and I would urge families to pursue that opportunity if tuition costs appear limiting. The personal communication between the school and student-family far-exceeds any other public or private school experience and the academic program is challenging and tailored to help students achieve their greatest potential. I consider Dawson to be the best personal investment we've ever made for any of our children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 3, 2008

For the last 4 years I have had the privilege of working hare at Dawson for the college counselor and the academic dean. Between the end of September and the the end of October this year Dawson offered one on one visits with 71 college admissions representatives who are impressed with our students and the rigor of our curriculum. Our students are involved in community service, have the chance to participate in the Immersion program during the spring semester in Spain or Switzerland and have students from there come to Dawson . Dawson seniors complete a senior project which is a two-week internship, finishing with a formal presentation. This is a requirement for graduation. Our graduates attend top colleges across the U.S. and I'm proud to be a part of this fine community. I have worked in high schools for 25 years and Dawson definitely has advantages not found in the public schools.


Posted October 2, 2008

Dawson provides excellent opportunities academically, athletically and artistically. The small class sizes have allowed my children not only individualized attention, but also freedom to explore opportunities they might not have had a chance to at a larger school. Dawson offers and requires community service which is very important to our family. Service learning and experiential learning are two things that sets Dawson apart.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 20, 2008

Although the campus and small classrooms are wonderful, we are unhappy with the amount of homework and our child reports he needs more socialization as the high school population is only about 30 kids. Lastly, the many very wealthy families there have not reciprocated efforts by us or our child to socialize so we feel isolated as a middle class family. There are generous tuition grants available to all income levels (grants are expense based), so we are grateful for the opportunity to have attended but overall, it is not working out the way we envisioned.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 16, 2008

Incredible school with amazing faculty!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 14, 2008

Alexander Dawson is a great school. Not just for the gifted, but for the average, decent kid. The class size is small, allowing each child to get very personal attention. The teachers are wonderful! With rare exception, they are compassionate towards growing kids and passionate about their field of study. This school ranks among the best, not just academically, but for the building of the whole child.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 11, 2008

My daughter attended Dawson for 7 years and graduated 2 years ago. She blossomed as a leader in this school and it gave her confidence not only academically, but socially and professionally. She not only developed life long relationships with other students, but also with several of her teachers. My son is now in his 6th year there and loves it. He says he wants to stay there through high school. He already has many skills that he can use for life. We love this school! It is not only a great academic learning environment, but it also teaches respect and ethics and helps the students mature into productive young adults.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 11, 2008

We feel very lucky to be a part of this great school. Everything about it is fabulous.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 11, 2008

My family is not new to private education; my husband was assistant head and business manager at a Virginia private school for over forty years. We are however, new to Dawson. My granddaughter was unhappy about leaving her old school, but all her anxieties were quickly erased by the caring and connected orientation at Dawson. We are beyond pleased with the faculty, campus, and academic opportunities. Dawson appears to be the perfect learning environment.


Posted September 11, 2008

Geat teachers and parent community. It is set on a beautiful campus in Lafayette where the kids feel safe and loved. The curriculum is challenging and whole child based. Dawson offers wonderful music, art, and language programs.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
 

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

Unfortunately, this school doesn't have sufficient data to generate an academic rating.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 86% 56%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 5% 3%
Hispanic 5% 32%
Two or more races 3% 3%
Black 1% 5%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

10455 Dawson Drive
Lafayette, CO 80026
Phone: (303) 665-6679

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools





Running River School
Lafayette, CO



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT