Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

K-12|Private
454 students
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
67 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Not enough (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (1 response)
characters left.
There are 85 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Alexander Dawson School
Develops grit: Strongly disagree

Posted November 09, 2015
- a student
The teachers are lazy and rude. There is barley any school work!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! UGHHHHH I HATE IT

Alexander Dawson School
Develops respect: Strongly disagree

Posted November 09, 2015
- a student
The teachers keep bringing up the topic of wealthiness and it makes my kids sad


Alexander Dawson School
Develops honesty: Strongly disagree

Posted November 09, 2015
- a student
No. The kids are rude and stuck up rich kids. I want a school with a better community!!!

Alexander Dawson School 5

Posted September 29, 2015
- a community member
I attended high school at Dawson and enjoyed my experience immensely. The faculty is very supportive and there are brilliant teachers who are willing to go the extra mile to improve their students' experience. The small classes allow for interesting discussion and contrary to popular criticism I found that having a small grade allowed me to become closer with the majority of my peers, though there will always be a few unpleasant teenagers at any school. The upperclassmen are incredibly welcoming and I have not encountered any hazing. Requiring students to join two extra-curriculars in place of gym went far better than I imagined and there is enough variety in options to interest most students. Personally, I was a part of Speech and Debate and Kayaking, both of which have excellent coaches, and met some truly amazing people. That being said there are certainly some flaws to the school. I did not find the workload to be too intensive however during the college process it certainly added to the stress. The social aspect of Dawson can be competitive particularly being a college preparatory school and there has always been a lack of cohesiveness within the student body. Entitlement is somewhat prevalent and there is a disconnect between Dawson students and the outside world, though I doubt this concerns the school so much as the parents who are able to afford sending there children to a place like Dawson. The campus is beautiful, however funds appear to be more focused on the appearance of the school instead of the faculty and sports teams. The use of technology in the school is not beneficial to the overall learning experience and I struggled working with group projects that required more knowledge of various programs than the topic at hand. Freshman and Sophomore year were not particularly enjoyable for the sole reason that there is no flexibility in scheduling until junior year, however once I was able to chose classes I was interested in with teachers I liked the experience improved dramatically. Overall I would highly recommend the school for self-starters. There is plenty of opportunity to thrive, but no one is going to force you into taking advantage of it.

Alexander Dawson School 5

Posted October 09, 2014
- a community member
I attended Dawson for nine years as a student and am now back to substitute teach and work as a marketing intern. While attending Dawson, it felt small and cliquish at times - but my Dawson classmates are my closets friends today. Dawson is expensive, but not everyone boasts their wealth, and not everyone is extremely wealthy or "elitist". That being said, every person knows the sticker price upon enrolling their child at the school, so it sort of comes with the territory. Also, these kids are in high school (at least where I saw most of these issues begin) - they have growing up to do - just like the students at every other school. These issues are no more prevalent than at any other local school. In my opinion, it's good preparation for "the real world" to learn to deal with different personalities and perspectives. Furthermore, I have had extremely fulfilling experiences and success since graduating - most of which, I attribute to my beginnings at Dawson. It was there that I was encouraged to travel abroad for a semester in my junior year. Dawson does care about its students, and they continue to support them long after they graduate.


Alexander Dawson School 5

Posted October 02, 2014
- a parent
We have two children at Dawson, and the experience for each has been fantastic. Love all the personal attention, small class sizes - we feel like the teachers really know and understand each kid: It's not a cookie-cutter approach. The academic program is really strong, and all the arts, athletics, technology, etc. are great - plus they get lots of chance to develop as leaders. We feel like our kids have a 'leg up': They are really well prepared as they advance through the years.

Alexander Dawson School 1

Posted August 25, 2014
- a parent
Our 2 children attended Dawson for 6 years. We first thought Dawson was great, but we soon realized the elitist atmosphere was a facade to perpetuate its fund raising and image as an elite school. After Dawson drastically raised tuition every year and cut its bus program, we moved our kids to public school. Many of Dawson's credits and test scores do not transfer to local schools. Dawson's elitist atmosphere will leave a lasting sense of entitlement on your child. Many kids go on to obscure, high $ impractical liberal arts colleges. Some of my daughter's peers literally became Tibetan guides or joined the army because their post college life didn't meet the idealistic life learned at Dawson - extremely bright kids who learned no life skills at Dawson. Fortunately, we pulled our younger son from Dawson before he was permanently scarred by Dawson's elitist land. if you are well off and want your kid to depend on your trusts, send them to Dawson! But if you want your child to learn to cope, work, and compete with the masses and support themselves, avoid Dawson. Dawson was an immense waste of money and for daughter, did far more long term motivational harm than good.

Alexander Dawson School 5

Posted August 25, 2014
- a parent
Our experience with Dawson has been limited to the Lower School, so I can't comment on the Middle or Upper Schools. The teachers at Dawson are great. The projects are interesting and fun, and keep the kids engaged. The teachers set high expectations, and the kids meet them. The Lower School also has the kids participate in Library, Computer, Spanish, PE, Art, Music --each a few times or more a week ....and they have recess several times a day.


Alexander Dawson School 5

Posted August 07, 2014
- a parent
We are about to start our 7th year at Dawson. We absolutely love it here. Our kids are thriving in this amazing environment. The sports and arts programs are just as awesome! The teachers and the community of parents are just as great. We couldn't ask for a better place to raise and educate our kids.

Alexander Dawson School 5

Posted July 31, 2014
- a parent
Alexander Dawson has a fantastic Middle School and High School. Small class sizes, very engaged teachers and a wonderful arts program. There is nothing like this in the Boulder area.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Alexander Dawson School
10455 Dawson Drive, Lafayette, CO  80026
(303) 665-6679
Last modified Alexander Dawson School is a Private school that serves grades K-12
Alexander Dawson School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 85 reviews. Top