Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
K-12
Public charter
Lafayette, CO
Students enrolled: 1,446
Before care: No
 

4 stars
Based on 39 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Review comments

40 reviews of this school


Peak To Peak Charter School 4

Posted June 01, 2015
- a parent
The High School at Peak to Peak is excellent. The quality of the Middle School and Elementary school vary by particular teachers and grades. Our students' success has been a result of hard work and the counselors/teachers they received. Since Peak to Peak (P2P) strives to be a teaching school many young teachers come to work for P2P to gain experience and professional development/mentoring. Once they do, they often leave for other opportunities. A teacher who has been provided significant training resources and gained adequate experience to teach effectively can be replaced mid-year by a new, inexperienced teacher. A teacher with none of these assets. This can and does effect students (and their grades) negatively. The benefits of P2P are the mission that shapes its purpose, some excellent teachers, a small school environment, and the opportunities a K-12 school offers students to be known and understood in their journey through primary education. A good experience is to be had if you and your student persevere to overcome educational obstacles, seek outside enrichment (tutoring) when necessary and find the support of like-minded students, teachers, and parents by creating a community for yourself at the school. Expect to pay more both financially and in time for the opportunities this school provides.

Peak To Peak Charter School 5

Posted April 01, 2015
- a parent
This school is producing leaders in many areas! March of 2015 the National Science Foundation gave Honorable Mention for proposed research for a 2010 Peak To Peak Graduate for DNA scanning for cancer research. This student worked hard, valued this schools teachers and innovated administration and board, took full advantage of tutors etc. If your vision is success, to go to work to prosper, not just to work, to exercise incredible drive, to never make excuses, to focus on your goals daily then come and keep your youth amongst excellence at this school, but it takes a FAMILY and a STUDENTS commitment! Enjoy the journey! Parent of 2 graduates of Peak To Peak!


Peak To Peak Charter School 2

Posted March 21, 2015
- a student
I graduated from Peak to Peak a few years ago. Looking back on my experience I'm disappointed to say that this school wasn't a positive social/learning environment for me. It's extremely white-washed, and the lack of diversity is propagated by a system which encourages lower-achieving students to self-select out of the school instead of supporting this cohort properly. The administration was ridiculously draconian and they adamantly persecuted students who ran against their cultural grain. The vast majority of teachers are absolutely wonderful, caring, and highly-qualified (they kept me sane during my time there). Academically, I learned a lot at Peak to Peak and was well prepared for college, but then again I came to P2P as a decent student and good standardized test-taker. Unfortunately, the privileged culture and overbearing administration were extremely harmful and by far the worst aspects of Peak to Peak.

Peak To Peak Charter School 5

Posted January 29, 2015
- a parent
I have a 8th grader in this school who had a hard semester after a concussion. The school was so supportive and the teachers ROCK. My son was supported in every class and this was all coordinated by the counselor. This is a great school because of so many wonderful teachers here. Our math teacher (I won't mention her name because she is so humble she might not like this) is amazing. As a parent, I am surprised at all the little miracles that goes on daily in this school. Just want to be a kid again and attend this school!!!!

Peak To Peak Charter School 5

Posted December 19, 2014
- a parent
The teachers are phenomenal, engaging and excited about students learning! High expectations with a lot of support. Excellent IT, math and physics departments. Love it!!


Peak To Peak Charter School 5

Posted December 05, 2013
- a community member
At Peak to Peak Charter School, we have a little slogan that goes as such: "I will strive to achieve excellence in scholarship and character". As a student who has attended this outstanding school for 12 years, I see that the vision in our slogan is more alive every year as I advance through the stages of my education. Peak to Peak is a liberal arts school that builds an "above the average" foundation for education. Our goal is to prepare students for higher education through a rigorous course plan and an advanced curriculum that will put our students above the state average on the college readiness exams, and will allow our students a successful educational experience. The staff at this quaint school work very hard to assure that their students comprehend the material in a no less than 100% manner. As a Dean's List student of Peak to Peak, I feel that I have a home at Peak to Peak. There is a prominent sense of mutual respect among the students; however students do have the traditional high school experience of friendly class rivalry! Peak to Peak is a safe and overall elite school and I feel very blessed to be in the Peak to Peak family!

Peak To Peak Charter School 5

Posted October 28, 2013
- a parent
This school is awesome. Great teachers, the kids excel and a lot of parent involvement. Have been there for 8 years now and daughter loves it. Will stay until 12th and graduate. It is great to have the continuity of the families and teachers.

Peak To Peak Charter School 4

Posted October 27, 2013
- a parent
I remain hopeful that P2P is still the school described in the comment below (Feb. 5th). Theirs is the vision we followed, like a star, to a remarkable school nearly 11 years ago.


Peak To Peak Charter School 5

Posted February 05, 2013
- a parent
My children (all 4) have been at this school for 11 years. I love this school! If you're a parent that encourages and values achievement, and has an expectation that they will attend college then this is a great fit for you. If you have a child who has behavioral problems, he/she may struggle here. Academics are the focus. The teachers are kind and caring, and want to see each child succeed. One of the greatest things is the ability grouping. Students may skip up to another grade for math for example, if academically they are at that level, and each grade level is broken up into at least 3 ability groups. The intervention when students aren't at grade level is impressive; they get special small group instruction and are not taken off the learning plan until they are ready and have performed at grade level consistently. 100% of last year's graduating class (apx 150 students) was accepted to college. And if this doesn't blow you away, those students were offered $16 million in scholarships! That averages to over $100k per student. I agree it's not the perfect school for everyone, but it has been perfect for us, and all 4 of my kids (boys & girls) have thrived here.

Peak To Peak Charter School 3

Posted December 21, 2012
- a parent
Teacher quality, in the elementary school, has gone down in the past couple of years due to hiring of under qualified people. The administration is very poor. The one just recently hired is not even qualified to be in the position, but they created it for her, rather than seek a good candidate. There is a very superficialness about the school. There are problems in grades that just get swept under the rug instead of being dealt with. The intermediate is very poor with regard to teacher quality. Parental involvement is very good, although, some act like it is a private school rather than a public. Bullying is handled in the typical 'Boulder' style with unrealistic solutions. There is good still but is is sadly declining, and the stagnant turnover of the non-effective teachers along with the hiring of para-educators who have been passed over time and again because they weren't good enough to get a job, finally get a job given to them without any search or competition. High School is Great! A bit rigorous, but good for any student that wants college prep.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Peak To Peak Charter School
800 Merlin Dr, Lafayette, CO  80026
(303) 453-4600
Last modified Peak To Peak Charter School is a Charter school that serves grades K-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 8 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Peak To Peak Charter School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 39 reviews. Top