Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Catalyst High School

Private | 9-12 | 30 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Lafayette

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $280,500. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,050.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

11 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted October 18, 2013

As an educator and parent I find Catalyst High School to be a diamond in the rough. The school and staff are amazing giving students an opportunity to learn and grow in to empowered adults who make a positive impact. thank you!! Alyson


Posted November 11, 2011

Catalyst is a gem. Our son loves it, and he was not feeling the love in the public system. Small classes, talented teachers, block model of teaching (think Colorado College), and individualized learning program are big plusses. He's had opportunities he wouldn't have had elsewhere. It's flexible w/o losing focus on learning. They have a smart, contract-based learning plan that keeps students on track and teaches self reliance. He's valued, de-stressed, enjoys his classmates, has found a passion, likes going to school, and is enjoying the experience of learning. Finally, a high school that implements what we know about how teens learn best. We were looking for a block style of teaching and earning credits at the high school level, and Catalyst was the only school in our area that offered it. it is a very successful model for lots of reasons... subject depth, maintaing focus, flexibility, juggling fewer classes, and allowing more energy per subject. He's way beyond thriving now (A's & B's) and we think college will be an easier transition. If you're looking for a program w/great leadership and teachers, that is responsive to the student, and supportive of the parent, this is it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 13, 2010

Catalyst High school thoroughly supports kids and their individual learning styles, providing an upbeat alive generous intelligent atmosphere with fine tuned gifted teachers and support staff. The kids look bright comfortable and challenged at their own levels of skill and learning. The atmostphere is full of creativity and ideas, with both freedom and structure in balance and continually assessed for each student.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 8, 2010

Our daughter was doing terribly in public and even other private schools. The thorough learning styles and intererst inventories she took at the outset set the stage for her being able to learn academic subjects in a way that was meaningful to her. The one-on-one classes with the incredibly dedicated teachers were the thing that got her through. Catalyst is an excellent choice for the student who just doesn't fit in elsewhere.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 5, 2010

We moved our 15 yo son from a very good, 2000 student public high school to Catalyst . The changes in him have been profound. He's always been a strong student, but was starting to struggle with a sense of feeling lost in a sea of students, and disengaging from academics. Our son has rediscovered the real joys of learning - being engaged with the teachers and materials, choosing to spend hours exploring interesting subjects, feeling accepted and seen and respected and valued at this exceptional school. He is more settled at home, calmer and more engaged. He is accelerating his learning up to his potential as a highly gifted (PG), twice exceptional student. I never thought we'd find a school for him that fits so well.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 5, 2010

Our child was so unhappy and lost at the hugh public high school that she was attending and when we moved her to Catalyst the transformation that has happened is astounding. Not only is my child excited about learning again but now wants to go to college and actually gets up and out the door on time to go to school. We cannot say enough about the teachers and support staff and what a wonderful job they are doing!!!! This is thw way all high schools should be run!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 3, 2008

My daughter, who was dropping out of 10th grade and had nothing but distain for the public school system is now an eager and avid student. She loves Catalyst and feels pride in her schoolwork. The atmosphere is warm and including; there are no cliques. My daughter gets to design many of her courses along the lines of her interests. We've had many interesting discussions about her course material.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 3, 2008

My daughter was ready to quit school and get her GED because although she is very smart, her learning style was more hands on and experiential so public and other private schools had not worked for her. The dedicated teachers at Catalyst helped her to reinvest in learning and believe in her own strengths. She graduated and is now taking great responsibility for her life. That is what the school's main focus is - teaching responsibility for your own learning abilities in a compassionate and interesting way which can transfer to the real world. Great place and great people.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 31, 2008

I think Catalyst is a great school for our son. He likes his classes now because the teachers work with him to customize them around his interests. With only a few kids max in a class, he seems to do well and is getting good grades. The block system helped my son have some input into scheduling his day.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 27, 2008

A motivational high school featuring learning programs customized around the student's own interests and passions.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted October 27, 2008

My Daughter started at Catalyst this past August and loves school again. She was doing poorly in the Public School system, due to the Auditory style of teaching and now that she is in an environment which is interactive and hands on, she is getting A's and B's. She is extremely bright and because the public school system methods did not work for her she was failing. Being in a more college like style of teaching, she is thriving and once again motivated to learn. Catalyst is great and I would recommend it to any parent of a child who needs a more hands on approach or who is going through a hard time.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
 

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

Unfortunately, this school doesn't have sufficient data to generate an academic rating.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 60% 56%
Two or more races 20% 3%
Hispanic 13% 32%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 7% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Black 0% 5%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Assistant principal(s)
College counselor(s)
Gifted specialist(s)
Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
Math specialist(s)
Nurse(s)
PE instructor(s)
Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
Reading specialist(s)
School social worker/counselors(s)
Special education coordinator
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Special education / special needs

Staff resources available to students
  • Special education coordinator

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Staff resources available to students
  • Math specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Outdoor learning lab
  • Science lab

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Performance stage
Performing and written arts
  • Creative writing
  • Poetry

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym
  • Kitchen

Gifted & talented

Staff resources available to students
  • Gifted specialist(s)
School leaders can update this information here.

School basics

School start time
  • 8:30 am
School end time
  • 2:50 pm
Gender
  • Coed
Fax number
  • (303) 604-6523

Programs

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • College counselor(s)
  • Gifted specialist(s)
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Math specialist(s)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
  • Reading specialist(s)
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
  • Special education coordinator
Transportation options
  • Accessible via public transportation
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Auditorium
  • College/career center
  • Computer lab
  • Gym
  • Internet access
  • Kitchen
  • Library
  • Outdoor learning lab
  • Performance stage
  • Science lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Sports

Boys sports
  • yoga
Girls sports
  • yoga

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • None
Music
  • None
Performing arts
  • Creative writing
  • Poetry
Media arts
  • None
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Present special topics during curricular units
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1376 Miners Drive
Lafayette, CO 80026
Website: Click here
Phone: (303) 604-6512

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



Centaurus High School
Lafayette, CO


Bolder Pathway School
Louisville, CO



Front Range Academy
Broomfield, CO


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT