Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

5 stars
Based on 10 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


11 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Catalyst High School 5

Posted October 18, 2013
- a community member
As an educator and parent I find Catalyst High School to be a diamond in the rough. The school and staff are amazing giving students an opportunity to learn and grow in to empowered adults who make a positive impact. thank you!! Alyson

Catalyst High School 5

Posted November 11, 2011
- a parent
Catalyst is a gem. Our son loves it, and he was not feeling the love in the public system. Small classes, talented teachers, block model of teaching (think Colorado College), and individualized learning program are big plusses. He's had opportunities he wouldn't have had elsewhere. It's flexible w/o losing focus on learning. They have a smart, contract-based learning plan that keeps students on track and teaches self reliance. He's valued, de-stressed, enjoys his classmates, has found a passion, likes going to school, and is enjoying the experience of learning. Finally, a high school that implements what we know about how teens learn best. We were looking for a block style of teaching and earning credits at the high school level, and Catalyst was the only school in our area that offered it. it is a very successful model for lots of reasons... subject depth, maintaing focus, flexibility, juggling fewer classes, and allowing more energy per subject. He's way beyond thriving now (A's & B's) and we think college will be an easier transition. If you're looking for a program w/great leadership and teachers, that is responsive to the student, and supportive of the parent, this is it.


Catalyst High School 5

Posted June 13, 2010
- a parent
Catalyst High school thoroughly supports kids and their individual learning styles, providing an upbeat alive generous intelligent atmosphere with fine tuned gifted teachers and support staff. The kids look bright comfortable and challenged at their own levels of skill and learning. The atmostphere is full of creativity and ideas, with both freedom and structure in balance and continually assessed for each student.

Catalyst High School 5

Posted June 08, 2010
- a parent
Our daughter was doing terribly in public and even other private schools. The thorough learning styles and intererst inventories she took at the outset set the stage for her being able to learn academic subjects in a way that was meaningful to her. The one-on-one classes with the incredibly dedicated teachers were the thing that got her through. Catalyst is an excellent choice for the student who just doesn't fit in elsewhere.

Catalyst High School 5

Posted June 05, 2010
- a parent
We moved our 15 yo son from a very good, 2000 student public high school to Catalyst . The changes in him have been profound. He's always been a strong student, but was starting to struggle with a sense of feeling lost in a sea of students, and disengaging from academics. Our son has rediscovered the real joys of learning - being engaged with the teachers and materials, choosing to spend hours exploring interesting subjects, feeling accepted and seen and respected and valued at this exceptional school. He is more settled at home, calmer and more engaged. He is accelerating his learning up to his potential as a highly gifted (PG), twice exceptional student. I never thought we'd find a school for him that fits so well.


Catalyst High School 5

Posted June 05, 2010
- a parent
Our child was so unhappy and lost at the hugh public high school that she was attending and when we moved her to Catalyst the transformation that has happened is astounding. Not only is my child excited about learning again but now wants to go to college and actually gets up and out the door on time to go to school. We cannot say enough about the teachers and support staff and what a wonderful job they are doing!!!! This is thw way all high schools should be run!

Catalyst High School 5

Posted November 03, 2008
- a parent
My daughter, who was dropping out of 10th grade and had nothing but distain for the public school system is now an eager and avid student. She loves Catalyst and feels pride in her schoolwork. The atmosphere is warm and including; there are no cliques. My daughter gets to design many of her courses along the lines of her interests. We've had many interesting discussions about her course material.

Catalyst High School 5

Posted November 03, 2008
- a parent
My daughter was ready to quit school and get her GED because although she is very smart, her learning style was more hands on and experiential so public and other private schools had not worked for her. The dedicated teachers at Catalyst helped her to reinvest in learning and believe in her own strengths. She graduated and is now taking great responsibility for her life. That is what the school's main focus is - teaching responsibility for your own learning abilities in a compassionate and interesting way which can transfer to the real world. Great place and great people.


Catalyst High School 0
no rating

Posted October 31, 2008
- a parent
I think Catalyst is a great school for our son. He likes his classes now because the teachers work with him to customize them around his interests. With only a few kids max in a class, he seems to do well and is getting good grades. The block system helped my son have some input into scheduling his day.

Catalyst High School 5

Posted October 27, 2008
- a teacher
A motivational high school featuring learning programs customized around the student's own interests and passions.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to inspire and support families to champion their children's education - at school, at home and in their community. We are a national non-profit with offices and programs in Oakland, Milwaukee, Washington D.C. and Indianapolis.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Catalyst High School
1376 Miners Drive, Lafayette, CO  80026
(303) 604-6512
Last modified Catalyst High School is a Private school that serves grades 9-12
Catalyst High School Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 11 reviews.