Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Our Lady Of Fatima Catholic School

Private | PK-8 | 26 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Lakewood

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $233,500. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $780.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

15 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted February 11, 2014

Our daughter started at Our Lady of Fatima (hereinafter referred to as "OLF") as a preschooler. When it came time to choose a school for kindergarten we looked at the neighborhood school, nearby charter schools and OLF. We asked a lot of questions of a lot of people and ended up with OLF. We couldn't be happier. More importantly our daughter could not be happier. The Kindergarten teacher is fantastic. My daughter is learning respect, community and values. Further the education our daughter is receiving has exceeded what we were hoping. We have found the principal to be exceptional in both addressing our needs and questions as well as being part of the student's school lives. Although our daughter is too young at the moment, we look forward the sports that she will be able to participate in through the school. Overall our experience has been wonderful and I have recommended OLF to our family and friends.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 30, 2013

We have 2 boys at OLF and couldn't be happier. They have a pre-school and extended day care in addition to a Pre-K level so my kindergarten child has known many of his classmates for 2 years. The teachers care very much about their students. The athletics is top notch. They have implemented a Rosetta Stone program for foreign language study. The parish is very vibrant and you are expected to contribute time, treasure and talent. However, they have never once mandated our participation instead opting to encourage your involvement. There is an very clear and advertised anti-bullying campaign. We love being at Fatima and both of our boys have responded incredibly to the culture, classmates and staff.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 5, 2013

We were not impressed with my daughter's primary school years from Kindergarten to 1st as she hardly learned anything but about discipline.Discipline is important but what about math, science, and reading? My son had issues with one of his teachers. We firmly believe she was targeting him. These issues were brought up to her, the principal, and the head administrator.Ultimately they mismanaged the issues and swept them under the rug; being far more concerned with covering up their mistakes than owning up to their responsibilities and seeking resolution. The school staunchly repudiate any claims we have made without doing due diligence/ investigating our allegations. Yes there are other good teachers there and they do have some good programs. But when your child is bullied by a teacher and there are no consequences, why stay in an institution that claims their mission statement is to nurture the children morally, spiritually, academically, and physically but does nothing to defend the child?I declare that their institution is based on pure hypocrisy.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 24, 2012

I love this school all of the teachers are nice except one will not be named middle school is a time for alot of responsibility you get lockers and have three middle school dances in the year it is different from elementary but fun all of the teachers are nice and helpful and I do have a favorite also is not going to be named but gives you extra help and takes time after school do your homework with her


Posted February 4, 2012

When my oldest started pre-k at SB, a nearby Catholic School, I couldn't be happier. The original director/lead teacher at that time was a wonderful professional educator as you would expect & we loved her. But my child's K teacher was an older woman who would rip kids work if she didn't like it. She had no tolerance for creativity or self expression. For some reason, the school thinks the K teacher is great but we weren't too impressed. Things at that school progressively got worse so we decided to check out Fatima, which is very close. Moving our children to Fatima has been the best decision for all of us. In fact, many families have moved their kids to Fatima. Sure there are kinks like any other school but so far so good.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 12, 2010

All of the great things said about this school are absolutely true, though no school is perfect. My son is in 7th grade and has been attending since he was 4 years old and the middle school is doing a great job prepping him for H.S.. In 8 years the teachers have either been very good to outstanding. However, several years ago we had one bad teacher (and the person was horrible). The principal understood the concerns and the teacher's contract was not renewed. Unlike the public schools, the principal actually can timely deal with performance problems on staff. I think only one bad teacher in 8 years is pretty amazing. If my son had left the school due to that teacher, I suppose I would be writing colorful negative comments. But knowing no situation is ever perfect - an important life lesson for children to learn - we stuck it out beyond that one teacher and have never regreted it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 20, 2009

My family and I have been a part of Our Lady of Fatima for 7 years now and we could not be happier. I am amazed at the level of educational guidance my two sons have received from preschool on up. The teaching staff is exceptional. Fatima not only provides a well-rounded core curriculum, but the arts, sciences and athletics are also a large part of the school (which is becoming harder and harder to find in most schools). Two music programs (Christmas and spring) and a school musical, science fairs, the annual speech contest and Catholic School League volleyball, basketball and baseball all provide the type of education I remember when I was a student. My husband and I could not recommend this school and the staff any more-kudos Fatima!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 26, 2008

There is a 'crack in Camelot' and I'm glad to see that our family isn't the only one who is experiencing this issue! Although things started out well at OLF, this year has been quite and eye-opener. Our child's teacher is not responsive to our questions; she seems to lack empathy and understanding of how to work with younger children administering 20 minute time outs and 'next day' time outs for minor offenses; The atmosphere in the classroom is tense and the teacher often seems flustered and angry. My child no longer wants to go to school! Not a good way to start out an educational career! If you like a 'punitive' envrironment -- this school is for you! If you prefer a nurturing environment that allows 'kids to be kids' and to enjoy learning, please look further.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 20, 2008

Hmmm...I would not rate this school nearly so highly as these other parents. There are some very good aspects of the school such as small class size, facilities are nice enough, curriculum is sound. But some of the teaching staff need to get their methodologies up to at least year 2000! Some of the teachers are very inexperienced with very inmature communication! I suggest a better balance between 'creativity' and 'discipline.'
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 19, 2008

Our son has been at this school for the past 6 years, since he was 4 years old. It has been both an excellent religious and academic environment for him. He is on track to be more than ready for High School. The principal is wonderful, we have many talented teachers, and the pastor is very involved with the school and is great with kids and parents alike. I can't recommend this school more highly.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 13, 2007

Both of our daughters attended Our Lady of Fatima from Pre-K through Eighth grade. Our youngest will attend her first year of high school this fall. Both girls received an excellent academic preparation, and most importantly, a wonderful spiritual preparation.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 18, 2007

What a wonderful example of a well rounded education. Not only do they care about academics but they teach it creatively and with pride. This school enforces a high moral learning for all students and students feel like people not CSAP numbers for funding. Morals seem to be forgotten in public education along with REAL discipline. Worth every penny and more.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 14, 2006

OLF has great student to teacher ratios. My son and daughter are really excelling. They provide an every day balance of classroom activities and special programs. Such as having the 9 health fair; the student had a chance to find out about what they wanted to learn about. They also had celebration that coincided with the Olympics, which helped the children learn about the world and some of the countries that participated. Then they gave the kids passports encouraged the kids to find out about what countries that other classes had been studying. They are consistently creative and nurturing. They have great after school care where my kids can do their homework and play with their friends or as they get old they can play on Fatima teams.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 11, 2004

We have three children at OLF and our very pleased with the acedemic excellance, quality teachers, and school pride. In addition the focus on catholic values and general goodwill are great attrributes of the school. OLF also has a great sports program that is open to all students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 19, 2003

We have had 2 boys in Fatima. It is a great school with excellent academics. Above all the teachers truly love the kids and are exemplary. They are very well qualified. The school is known for preparing the kids for high school.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
 

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

Unfortunately, this school doesn't have sufficient data to generate an academic rating.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 76% 56%
Two or more races 13% 3%
Hispanic 7% 32%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 4% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Black 0% 5%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Roman catholic
Associations
  • NCEA

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Archdiocese of Denver
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

10530 West 20th Avenue
Lakewood, CO 80215
Phone: (303) 233-2500

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Field Academy
Lakewood, CO


Sobesky Academy
Lakewood, CO





ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT