Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
PK-2, 4-6
Private
Lakewood, CO
Students enrolled: 56

4 stars
Based on 8 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


8 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Montessori School of Lake Wood 2

Posted May 09, 2013
- a parent
My children attended preschool here for one month shortly before they turned 3 years old. My daughter seemed relatively happy and enjoyed doing the solitary projects she selected and the teachers encouraged. My son, however, was so unhappy. He needed more direction and interaction with other kids (when he looked distracted, the teacher would always direct him back to solitary work) and needed more loving, parent-like teachers. While watching through a smoked window, i saw my always-on-the-move son lay his head on the table in boredom one hour into the day! The teachers were good and caring, but more business-like as what you'd expect in kindergarten, not for 3 year olds. Parents are strongly discouraged from entering the classroom which both the kids and I found disturbing (teachers unloading the kids from the car in the morning was always tearful). The other kids in the classroom seemed sweet and were very well behaved and intelligent, but it just wasn't a good fit for us. I moved my kids to a play-based preschool nearby and the change in them was drastic - tears the night before and at drop off instantly ended and they started loving school immediately.

Montessori School of Lake Wood 5

Posted November 26, 2011
- a parent
During a time when your average classrooms are overcrowded, there are constant pleas for fundraising help and teachers are overwhelmed with the many demands placed on them by the state and the district, MSOL is a breath of fresh air away from the constant barrage of educational system woes. Teachers here get to focus on the most important aspects of learning such as creating an environment that is peaceful and conducive to learning (my daughter is 4 and reading), there isn't massive turn over in staff (average tenure is 21 years) so the strong partnership between the faculty is quite apparent, children grow at their own pace while be gently guided to more expansive learning opportunities rather than being regarded as a test score. MSOL offers an educational experience that gets back to the basics of community, wonder, accountability and kindness. MSOL teachers are all very wise and extremely dedicated to their craft, and despite their cumulative years of teaching, remain innovative in their approach to learning. Finally, MSOL teachers are very receptive to parents' needs, feedback and concerns and are awesome communicators. MSOL offers a truly quality education.


Montessori School of Lake Wood 5

Posted May 29, 2011
- a parent
Both my daughters attended Montessori School of Lakewood through sixth grade. They were well prepared for middle school and high school. They have gone on to be very successful in college. They continue to be enthusiastic learners as adults. Their education at MSL gave them a solid foundation. The school provides an environment that encourages close relationships, strong moral principles, a desire to contribute to society, and a passion for life. The staff is dedicated, knowledgeable, and experienced. A true Montessori school.

Montessori School of Lake Wood 5

Posted September 01, 2010
- a parent
My son has been attending MSL since preschool and is now in 5th grade. The quality of the education he receives for the nominal price I pay is immeasurable! Check out the article in 5280 Magazine, "Denver's Best Elementary Schools" and you'll see MSL is a third of the cost of all the other private schools! I let the results speak for themselves and last year my son took the Iowa Basic Skills Test for the first time and scored 92 percentile nationally! That is something to be proud of!

Montessori School of Lake Wood 5

Posted August 29, 2010
- a parent
My child has attended MSL since he was a 2 year old and has loved every minute of it. His teachers have been incredible and insightful about his needs, his strengths and his weaknesses. He has become a wonderfully kind and charming young man who loves learning and takes on new challenges with enthusiasm. The faculty at MSL is particularly gifted in creating a strong moral sense of responsibility for oneself and to the community. I couldn't imagine a better educational facility for a child. My son is only disappointed that there are no middle school and high school programs run by these highly talented educators.


Montessori School of Lake Wood 5

Posted August 28, 2010
- a parent
My daughter attended the Montessori School of Lakewood from pre-school through 6th grade. She loves school. Her academic achievement is outstanding. Her teachers gave her excellent guidance and support. She is well prepared socially and academically for her furture.

Montessori School of Lake Wood 1

Posted March 24, 2010
- a teacher
Don't take your child here! They are way too strict and don't allow the children to be themselves! They don't give the young children enough playtime, some days they don't allow ANY play time, and young children need time to play each day.

Montessori School of Lake Wood 5

Posted January 06, 2010
- a parent
Montessori School of Lakewood is a fantastic school. All of my kids are proud MSL alumni. I recommend this school to anyone who lives in Lakewood, or commutes to downtown from the foothills.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Montessori School of Lake Wood
5925 W Ist Ave, Lakewood, CO  80226
(303) 232-7030
Last modified Montessori School of Lake Wood is a Private school that serves grades PK-2, 4-6
Montessori School of Lake Wood Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 8 reviews. Top