Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Tetra Academy

Private | 3-10

We are best known for customized learning approach.

Student diversity

Looks like we have no information about the race or ethnicity of the student body.

 

Extended programs

The school has not provided this information yet.

 

 
 

Living in Lakewood

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $162,400. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $890.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

2 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 5 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

9 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted July 30, 2013

Thank goodness most of the the staff is being replaced for this coming year.Hope and Douglas County have cleaned house. This school had no leadership, no structure, too many discipline distractions for any teaching to take place. With the exception of the Hope staff that was sent in periodically and one teacher on staff, the rest of the teaching staff was deplorable. How can you have so many discipline problems and distractions with the student to teacher ratio, if anyone is paying attention. some of thestudent activity was literally criminal.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 29, 2013

Without this school, my son would be constantly in detention or worse. The staff has bent over backwards to not only accomodate, but stretch and expand my son's world. He finally has friends and is making B's or higher.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 20, 2013

DO NOT SEND YOUR ChILD TO THIS SCHOOL! There is no "mentoring" no "supervision "or "one on one" help for your child. The kids have their feet up on the desk while the "mentor" sends text messages on his iphone............ If they struggle they are told to stop complaining or their break will be taken away from them. I have failed as a parent by sending my child to this BARN because this is far from a school This place is a joke in all aspects from administration at the top, right down to the centers where the kids are. I feel bad for every child in every one of these centers.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 23, 2013

both my brother and i went to this school when we were younger it was not really a good school when i went to a public high school they lost all my credits so i did not finish on time. I did not learn much at this school and was told many things non postive things from the teachers and always got made fun of by other students and the teachers did not do anything about it.


Posted February 23, 2013

This school is horrible!! The teachers aren't even teachers, the kids got punished for little things, and there's so much bullying and the teachers don't do anything about it. This school needs to be shut down!


Posted July 2, 2009

some mentors are not qualified teachers; introductory emphasis was on helping students with different learning styles/would otherwise fall thru the cracks; reality is that most students are 'at risk' and/or have emotional, mental and/or discipline challenges; discipline in higher grades is not well established; online learning software has unfixed glitches that cause frustration to students and teachers
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 18, 2009

In response to the parent review, there are mentors on site with teaching credentials. Some mentors having over 16 years teaching experience. Yes, the test scores are low but there is no growth studies to compare them to yet because Tetra has only been public in the middle and high school for two years and the elementary for 9 months. Our population of students includes a tremendous number of students with LD and learning differences, the exact populations that notoriously tests low. The student/teacher ratio is now 15 to one, considering surrounding public schools that is quite low. The mentors and staff at Tetra go out of their way to help students succeed and feel comfortable in an environment where they did not excell previously. We are very compassionate about what we do and it hits us personally when a student is not successful.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted April 19, 2009

First of all, this is NOT a private school, as it uses the Hope Online Learning Academy software (which has extremely low test scores - check it out). The school itself seems to have a population that is quite undisciplined. The ratio of students to teachers is very large, and not as they would have you believe. In addition, the teaching mentors through Hope have absolutely no teaching credentials. We were quite dissatisfied with this school's academic performance, environment, and overall lack of administration. The best I can say is that if your child is experiencing social problems fitting in, they tend to be more accepting of unusual behaviors.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 12, 2008

I like the teachers always willing to help me out!
—Submitted by a student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
 

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

Unfortunately, this school doesn't have sufficient data to generate an academic rating.

College readiness and student pathways

Colleges most students attend after graduation Red Rocks Community College
Metropolitan State College of Denver
Read more about resources at this school
Source: Manually entered by a school official.

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Special education
Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Multiple disabilities
  • Specific learning disabilities

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Painting
Music
  • Instrumental music lessons
Performing and written arts
  • Creative writing
  • Drama
Clubs
  • Student newspaper
  • Yearbook

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Chinese (Mandarin)
  • French
  • German
  • Italian
  • Japanese
  • Russian
  • Spanish

Gifted & talented

College preparation / awareness resources offered
  • College presentations or information sessions
  • School-sponsored trips to college campuses
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Carmen Senter
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Email
Gender
  • Coed
Special schedule
  • Block scheduling
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Affiliation
  • Nonsectarian

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Core knowledge
  • Independent Study
  • Virtual school
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Special education
Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Multiple disabilities
  • Specific learning disabilities
Foreign languages taught
  • Chinese (Mandarin)
  • French
  • German
  • Italian
  • Japanese
  • Russian
  • Spanish

Resources

College preparation / awareness resources offered
  • College presentations or information sessions
  • School-sponsored trips to college campuses
School facilities
  • Cafeteria
  • Computer
  • Library
  • Playground
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Painting
Music
  • Instrumental music lessons
Performing arts
  • Creative writing
  • Drama

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Student newspaper
  • Yearbook
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Dress Code
  • Dress code
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
 

What does it cost?

Financial aid offered
No.

Planning ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
Red Rocks Community College
Metropolitan State College of Denver
College preparation / awareness offered
School-sponsored trips to college campuses
College presentations or information sessions
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

3225 S. Wadsworth Blvd
Unit G
Lakewood, CO 80227
Website: Click here
Phone: (303) 730-7691

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools






Colorado Academy
Denver, CO


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT