Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
3-10
Private
Lakewood, CO
 

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Tetra Academy 1

Posted July 30, 2013
- a parent
Thank goodness most of the the staff is being replaced for this coming year.Hope and Douglas County have cleaned house. This school had no leadership, no structure, too many discipline distractions for any teaching to take place. With the exception of the Hope staff that was sent in periodically and one teacher on staff, the rest of the teaching staff was deplorable. How can you have so many discipline problems and distractions with the student to teacher ratio, if anyone is paying attention. some of thestudent activity was literally criminal.

Tetra Academy 4

Posted May 29, 2013
- a parent
Without this school, my son would be constantly in detention or worse. The staff has bent over backwards to not only accomodate, but stretch and expand my son's world. He finally has friends and is making B's or higher.


Tetra Academy 1

Posted March 20, 2013
- a parent
DO NOT SEND YOUR ChILD TO THIS SCHOOL! There is no "mentoring" no "supervision "or "one on one" help for your child. The kids have their feet up on the desk while the "mentor" sends text messages on his iphone............ If they struggle they are told to stop complaining or their break will be taken away from them. I have failed as a parent by sending my child to this BARN because this is far from a school This place is a joke in all aspects from administration at the top, right down to the centers where the kids are. I feel bad for every child in every one of these centers.

Tetra Academy 1

Posted February 23, 2013
- a community member
both my brother and i went to this school when we were younger it was not really a good school when i went to a public high school they lost all my credits so i did not finish on time. I did not learn much at this school and was told many things non postive things from the teachers and always got made fun of by other students and the teachers did not do anything about it.

Tetra Academy 1

Posted February 23, 2013
- a community member
This school is horrible!! The teachers aren't even teachers, the kids got punished for little things, and there's so much bullying and the teachers don't do anything about it. This school needs to be shut down!


Tetra Academy
no rating

Posted July 02, 2009
- a parent
some mentors are not qualified teachers; introductory emphasis was on helping students with different learning styles/would otherwise fall thru the cracks; reality is that most students are 'at risk' and/or have emotional, mental and/or discipline challenges; discipline in higher grades is not well established; online learning software has unfixed glitches that cause frustration to students and teachers

Tetra Academy 4

Posted May 18, 2009
- a teacher
In response to the parent review, there are mentors on site with teaching credentials. Some mentors having over 16 years teaching experience. Yes, the test scores are low but there is no growth studies to compare them to yet because Tetra has only been public in the middle and high school for two years and the elementary for 9 months. Our population of students includes a tremendous number of students with LD and learning differences, the exact populations that notoriously tests low. The student/teacher ratio is now 15 to one, considering surrounding public schools that is quite low. The mentors and staff at Tetra go out of their way to help students succeed and feel comfortable in an environment where they did not excell previously. We are very compassionate about what we do and it hits us personally when a student is not successful.

Tetra Academy 2

Posted April 19, 2009
- a parent
First of all, this is NOT a private school, as it uses the Hope Online Learning Academy software (which has extremely low test scores - check it out). The school itself seems to have a population that is quite undisciplined. The ratio of students to teachers is very large, and not as they would have you believe. In addition, the teaching mentors through Hope have absolutely no teaching credentials. We were quite dissatisfied with this school's academic performance, environment, and overall lack of administration. The best I can say is that if your child is experiencing social problems fitting in, they tend to be more accepting of unusual behaviors.


Tetra Academy
no rating

Posted December 12, 2008
- a student
I like the teachers always willing to help me out!

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Tetra Academy
3225 S. Wadsworth Blvd, Lakewood, CO  80227
(303) 730-7691
Last modified Tetra Academy is a Private school that serves grades 3-10
Tetra Academy Rating: 2 out of 5 based on 11 reviews. Top