Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Brady Exploration School

Public | 9-12

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars


Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

18 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted March 3, 2010

My child has done better in this school. He is getting A's and B's now and he has never had those since elementary school. I love this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 22, 2009

I hate the online classes. It was way better when it was a school school and not online.
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 19, 2009

It's a great opportunity for credit recovery students, as well as a good independent based atmosphere, with help standing behind you when you need it.
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 19, 2009

Good environment, easy to get classes done, fun to be there, no fights, less drama then a normal school, great teachers, no stress, just an overall good place to be and learn.
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 19, 2009

Brady offers such a wonderful program for students who have a difficulty in traditional schools as well as those who need to work and be home for family often.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted June 19, 2009

Its all online no persom to person i cant do that its hard exspesaly if reading is not your thing
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 19, 2009

Brady gives students a chance to teach themselves and recover credits.
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 19, 2009

The councelors help a lot, but with some of the teachers its easy to get off track. The classes are ok, you have to actually read everything in the lesson to learn something.
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 19, 2009

I really like the fact that it's all pretty much online, but the teacher is there to help if you need it. It motivates me to get the work that I need done because it let's me pace myself and do what I want without having a strict timeline.
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 18, 2009

Being a teacher here at Brady I may be writing this review with some bias, but I only speak the truth. The school staff and especially the students at Brady make our school the best of the best. We have been quoted as 'the jewel in the crown of our school district' and many students, parents, and faculty members would agree. We have a safe and welcoming learning environment based on mutual respect and unconditional postive regard for students. I can't imagine being a part of any other school the way I am a part of Brady.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted June 18, 2009

I think Brady Exploration is a great school for any student. It has hepled me get caught up in my credits and get on the right track so I can graduate a year early. All of the staff is great they do whatever they can to help us succeed.
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 18, 2009

Brady has to one of the best schools I have been to. I like that we only have to go for four hours and we aren't rushed to finish our work. I really like that we are allowed to go at our own pace.
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 11, 2009

This innovative school really truly believes all kids can succeed regardless of their past.


Posted March 18, 2009

This is absolutely one of THE best schools, period. It's so futuristic & unique. You get so much 1-on-1 with the teachers & you have so many caring people to be your resources for success. They are all so highly trained & really want you to succeed. Plus the pacing is great because its custom for every1. So you can go as fast as you want.
—Submitted by a student


Posted December 10, 2008

I love this school. My daughter always felt like a failure and that she was not smart. She is suceeding at this school with a 3.2 average. The teachers at this school really care about the kids. The school staff is also remarkable. The school staff knows that each child must learn differently. They take time to figure that out and help the kids suceed.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 9, 2008

This is a great school and a wonderful opportunity for kids who might not have graduated.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 2, 2008

Brady is a school in a constant state of flux. There is very little consistancy. The school is an experiment and the students are the lab animals; if one method of teaching/discipline/testing doesn't work, they try something else. There is a lot of good potential in the school and its philosophy, but very lettle of it is realized. Personal interaction between staff and parents is limited; the students often seem frustrated and uncertain about coursework and other issues. There is little homework; this can be a positive or negative depending on your viewpoint and the study habits of your student.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 1, 2007

very little homework, kids have too much freedom and say in thier classes. the longer classes, later schedule, and shorter terms do help kids move on and learn better.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 39% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
Reading

The state average for Reading was 68% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
Writing

The state average for Writing was 55% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 34% in 2013.

36 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
6%

2012

 
 
5%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 70% in 2013.

35 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
20%

2012

 
 
40%
Science

The state average for Science was 51% in 2013.

35 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
9%

2012

 
 
16%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 49% in 2013.

35 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
9%

2012

 
 
16%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunchn/a
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilitiesn/a
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrantn/a

Reading

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunchn/a
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilitiesn/a
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrantn/a

Writing

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunchn/a
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilitiesn/a
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrantn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

The different student groups are identified by the Colorado Department of Education. If there are fewer than 16 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

All Students6%
Female0%
Male10%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic5%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Free lunch eligible4%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunchn/a
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities6%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English6%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant6%

Reading

All Students20%
Femalen/a
Male15%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic11%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Free lunch eligible22%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunchn/a
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities20%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English23%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant20%

Science

All Students9%
Femalen/a
Male10%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic5%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Free lunch eligible4%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunchn/a
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities9%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English10%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant9%

Writing

All Students9%
Femalen/a
Male10%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic5%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Free lunch eligible7%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunchn/a
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities9%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English10%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant9%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

The different student groups are identified by the Colorado Department of Education. If there are fewer than 16 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
 

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

Unfortunately, this school doesn't have sufficient data to generate an academic rating.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 55% 32%
White 35% 56%
American Indian/Alaska Native 4% 1%
Two or more races 3% 3%
Black 2% 5%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 1% 3%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 60%N/A41%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

5220 West Ohio Ave
Lakewood, CO 80226
Phone: (303) 982-6722

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT