Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
20 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 20 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Alameda International High School 5

Posted May 08, 2015
- a student
I have been here for four years, the school is not in the best shape and it is in need of remodeling. But this school teachers are very helpful and all are very new. The administration of this school is not helpful nor the counselors.

Alameda International High School 5

Posted July 29, 2014
- a student
I graduated Alameda two years ago and can honestly recommend it above all other schools. In college, I encountered students who had attended the larger, more prominent schools in the area, and they admitted that they hated their high school experience because of cliques, social pressures, and feeling like they didn't fit in. Alameda's small but diverse population offers a unique experience in that there are no cliques or bullying. Everyone was friendly, and all students were encouraged to explore different perspectives and interests. I was also better prepared for college than my peers who had attended other schools. Alameda has knowledgeable, passionate, and dedicated teachers introducing students to relevant, university-level material. The service opportunities within the Diploma Program also prepared me for leadership positions I now hold in college. I attribute my success in college to my experience at Alameda, and I truly believe that Alameda is the best high school for every student!


Alameda International High School 5

Posted July 29, 2014
- a student
I'm an IB alumni from Alameda and had a very positive experience during my 4 years at Alameda. With the relatively new IB diploma program, students that want to push themselves and prepare themselves for college have a good opportunity to do so. The teachers I had always pushed me and understood their subjects very well, especially the teachers involved in the IB program. I know Alameda has had a negative stigma over the years, but the school has been continuing to improve a lot lately and as long as your student is motivated and pushes his or her self, they will get as good of an experience at Alameda as any other school.

Alameda International High School 5

Posted July 29, 2014
- a student
The school was great and help me improve a lot over the years. The staff were very kind and helpful to me over the years.

Alameda International High School 5

Posted July 28, 2014
- a parent
My son graduated from Alameda International High School in 2013 and I can say without a doubt that he had the best high school experience out of my four children who have all graduated from other high schools. My other children went to another much larger Jeffco high school and they did not have near the great experience that my son who attended AIHS had. Alameda is a smaller high school so the students do not "fall through the cracks". It has a wonderfully diverse population and it truly is an international high school. AIHS has all three IB programs (Middle Years Program, Diploma Program and the IB Career-related Certificate Program) and it has an "open access" policy so any student wanting to challenge himself with the IB program will be accepted. My son excelled in his education and in extracurricular activities and was very well prepared for college. I am so pleased with the education that he received at AIHS. I would recommend AIHS to any parent looking for a high school where students receive personal attention from teachers and where programs are available to all students who wish to excel.


Alameda International High School 5

Posted July 28, 2014
- a community member
I recently just graduated from AIHS and I can tell you that, this school is absolutely amazing! I have to say that I loved every single year there just because of all the different teachers I had! They're so kind and always willing to work with you whenever you needed the extra help, especially being an athlete! The teachers were always so reasonable with you! The students there are also really cool and pretty much everyone gets along with each other. There's always a group of people that are just like you! AIHS also has the best IB Diploma Programme. All the IB teachers challenge you to explore outside of your comfort zone and gets you thinking above and beyond. They definitely prepare you for the life after high school. This school is such a great school, you won't regret sending your child there!

Alameda International High School 4

Posted December 08, 2011
- a student
I currently go to Alameda high school as a senior (class of 2012) and I am very happy with my schooling experience here. I moved from New York at the beginning of my Junior year and heard all the rumors about Alameda. I am proud today to say that none of the bad ones are true. The students are very excepting of everyone, race, sexuality, gender, etc. The teachers help me when I need it. They help me and encourage me to get my grades up when they are bad. You don't know this school until you experience it.

Alameda International High School 4

Posted March 06, 2010
- a parent
This has been a great school for our son. The teachers have been very supportive and always let us know if there are concerns. My son enjoys going to school and he enjoys the sports program. We've had some communication snafu's now and then, but overall things have been good.


Alameda International High School 5

Posted November 12, 2009
- a student
Alameda High School is a great school, period. I am a current student, class of 2010. Let me begin with this rumor about 'gang activity'. What gang activity? I see no signs of gang activity as I walk the school's halls everyday. The students dress normally, at least to what is accepted in our generation. We do not posses weapons between our boxers and jeans nor do we ever start gang riots. So, these 'gang activity' rumors need to stop. Alameda has changed dramatically and really has become a second home to me. I love going to school. The teachers love their jobs and their priority is our education. They will go out of their way to make sure we succeed and be the best that we can be. Anyway, I give this school 5 stars because it really is trying to improve.

Alameda International High School 1

Posted July 25, 2009
- a community member
Alameda Highschool is not one of the best School's that is around because of too much Gang Activity when I went there!!! Not many teachers helped me when I really needed it....

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Alameda International High School
1255 South Wadsworth Boulevard, Lakewood, CO  80232
(303) 982-8160
Last modified Alameda International High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 3 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Alameda International High School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 20 reviews. Top