Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Bear Creek K-8 School

Public | K-8

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 6 ratings
2013:
Based on 4 ratings
2012:
Based on 4 ratings
2011:
Based on 5 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

38 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 26, 2010

Currently, my child attends the 1st grade at Bear Creek. I choose to put my son in BC even though we lived out of the district because all the positives I head about it. It's been the worst decision I could have made. Not only has his tenured teacher demonstrated unprofessionalism, but her behavior towards my son has caused his self esteem and confidence to go down the tubes. During the course of the year my son suffered an emotional trauma and his teacher was directed by my sons psychologist and school administrators to provide more positive reinforcement. This also included sending home daily reports of how his day went via email. His teacher continued her negative way of discipline and pretty much refused to send the daily reports unless asked several times by myself or school administrators. My son spent 2-3 hours a night doing homework or reports (working very hard on them too!). Then would receive marginal grades for acceptable and correct work. My son no longer fits their mold and they have made it uncomfortable for him to attend. I am seeking out another school before they can cause anymore damage to my son.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 26, 2010

If your child does not fit their mold they will make it as uncomfortable as possible for your child to stay. I agree with other posts stating that the homework is excessive. Bulling is a problem. Students are chastised by teachers and other students and nothing is done about it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 1, 2010

The teachers do not discipline the students very well and bulling seems to be a problem , no discipline seems to take action when it comes into play


Posted July 31, 2009

If you are looking for a private school education from public school, this is the place. We have gone to 2 other Elementary schools before finding Bear Creek. We left for a year but then came back, happy to be in a school that doesn't dumb down education. Bear Creek chooses their curriculum, Jeffco doesn't choose it for them. It has an amazing art and music program. I'm awed by what the kids bring home to show me or the fact they can spot a Monet from across the room in a museum.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 14, 2009

its excellent.im a student there.
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 9, 2009

Great school! Teachers encourage the students and allow them to progress past their grade level if needed. Entire school is setup to push the students to achieve more. I have students in K through 5 and they are all loving the school as well.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 21, 2008

My son started at K and has been making excellent strides. The staff is awesome along with the principal and nurse. This is a school that looks at all facets of a child down to allergies to make sure that the student is well attended and cared for!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 12, 2008

I had a child attend this school after attending a nearby private preschool. I would have to tell you that this school is NOT for every child no matter how 'excellent' it's ratings are. The homework is excessive. The schools main focus is excellent CSAP scores. The children take pretests to prepare and are graded on it. My son after 2nd grade was told he could not read anymore picture books from the library. My son was not interested in their way of learning because it was all black and white with no connection to reality. He was excellent in Math but when sent with money to a snack booth was confused. They did very little art and brought nothing home but 2-3 hours of homework. This school does not adjust for the speed each individual child needs to learn at and takes the drive out of childs learning desires.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 8, 2008

I had two children who attended Bear Creek K8 , one beginning in 4th grade and the other in 6th. It is definitely a far cry from the ordinary Jefferson County School. Though one child came from a GT magnet school, she was behind when we transferred her to BC in 4th grade. After one year and a lot of encouragement and help from both teachers and parents, she was on track with the other students. After graduating from 8th last year, she had accelerated so much that she entered 9th grade in an Honors PreCalc class as well as 4th year Spanish. I give credit to all the teachers she had from grades 4th-8th. She loved BC and returns to help whenever possible. I found that the most successful students had actively involved parents. They have an awesome sports program,thanks Missy.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 14, 2007

My daughter has been attending Bear Creek K-8 since 1st grade and I could not be more pleased with the school. Each teacher has been firm and supportive of both the students and the parents over the years. This is not a school for everyone, but if your own values match the values of the school, your child will exceed yours as well as the school's expectations and excel in the future. I am excited that my son will be entering the kindergarten program this fall and am confident that he too will struggle at first, but with the constant encouragement and help from both his parents, he too will make us very proud of his academic endeavors. Thank you Bear Creek K-8 for giving my child the opportunity and advantages she would have never received from any other school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 10, 2007

My child has been a student at this school since 1st grade. My child is in 4th grade now and it has been the worst year ever! It seems that every other year at this school is terrible. My child's current teacher is rude and unwillingly to make any changes. My child has been getting D's and F's this year and my child's confidence has dropped significantly. My child has at least 2 hours of homework a night. My child does not want to go to another school but I am looking into other schools. I would not recommend this school to anyone!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 23, 2007

I feel overwhelmingly compelled to express my views of this school. Currently, my child attends the 4th grade at Bear Creek. We re-located to Colorado from another state as the result of a new employment decision. Before I up-rooted my family, I did extensive research on the school systems here including this elementary. It's been the worst decision I could have made. Not only have they demonstrated complete unprofessionalism, but I'm having to seek counciling for my child who is suffering from depression as the result of a tenured teachers behavior towards her students. For 4 months now, I've been fighting to have her removed from this teachers class and have been literally ignored, chastised and told by the principal that if we don't like it we can take our kid somewhere else. Please check with other parents first before deciding on this school! It's destroyed our childs education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 14, 2006

I did my student teaching a Bear Creek. I found it to be a very positive learning experience. The staff is quite positive and dedicated to the children. They were very helpful in preparing me for my future. Thanks Bear Creek!
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted May 20, 2006

Excellent and well disciplined. Very focussed and good for elementary school. Very friendly staff too.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 19, 2005

We finally moved back to Lakewood, and got our kids back into the JeffCo schools we wanted all along. Our youngest is 9, and she attends BCES. We couldn't be happier with this school. Honestly, I couldn't come up with a criticism of this school if you forced me to. We love the curriculum/activities at the school, we haven't yet run into a 'bad' friend or classmate, and it seems like the majority of the parents are extremely involved in their children's academic and social lives. On top of that, test scores do NOT lie. Prospective parents, this is a great school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 20, 2005

My kids are attending Bear creek, the oldest one is soon to be pulled. They started at a great private school but because of the price of Colorado Acadamy we no longer could afford 3 kids. The oldest one started in secound grade and it went great until now. As fourth grade came upon us I have noticed there is a teacher that really is VERY hard on the kids and if the student gets behind on more than one assignment she will fail your child. My son went from being an a/b student to all D's in her class. He got behind in school because of his illness, eventually got all his work in with high scores but because it wasn't on time she gave all D's. I'm a very involved parent and my child is not the only one, there are many others kids.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 10, 2005

Our son started at Bear Creek last year for first grade and we were consistently and pleasantly surprised at how much parental involvement there is. Homework is a definite must every night as the academics are quite thorough and at times intense for both student and parent. We, unfortunately didnt have an opportunity to participate in any other art or sport activities, but there are plenty of field trips and social activities throughout the year. In other words, we are very happy with this school and plan on staying local to keep our son there atleast for a few more years.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 23, 2004

My daughter has done extremely well in her first three years at Bear Creek. I think it has to do with the very well qualified and educated teachers she has had. Bear Creeks policies on education first, parent involvement and disicpline are excellent! Thank you to Mrs. Whitakker, Mrs. Reardon and Mrs. Beer! So far so good! I know my next two children at home benefit from this school when they enter and become better students! I am so glad they will be attending Bear Creek!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 72% in 2013.

133 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
91%

2012

 
 
89%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 73% in 2013.

133 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
85%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 51% in 2013.

133 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
69%

2012

 
 
74%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 72% in 2013.

126 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
81%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 68% in 2013.

126 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
77%

2012

 
 
73%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2013.

126 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
64%

2012

 
 
53%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

139 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
71%

2012

 
 
68%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 70% in 2013.

139 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
72%

2012

 
 
75%
Science

The state average for Science was 49% in 2013.

139 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
48%

2012

 
 
52%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 57% in 2013.

139 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
53%

2012

 
 
63%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 62% in 2013.

151 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
73%

2012

 
 
78%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 73% in 2013.

151 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
85%

2012

 
 
84%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 58% in 2013.

151 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
60%

2012

 
 
64%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 55% in 2013.

121 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
66%

2012

 
 
69%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 68% in 2013.

121 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
75%

2012

 
 
84%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 61% in 2013.

121 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
74%

2012

 
 
83%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 52% in 2013.

102 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
79%

2012

 
 
81%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 67% in 2013.

102 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
91%

2012

 
 
85%
Science

The state average for Science was 52% in 2013.

102 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
78%

2012

 
 
81%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 56% in 2013.

102 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
79%

2012

 
 
78%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

All Students91%
Female92%
Male90%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic77%
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)95%
Free lunch eligible81%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch94%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities91%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English92%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant92%

Reading

All Students83%
Female87%
Male78%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic68%
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)88%
Free lunch eligible69%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch87%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities83%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English84%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant84%

Writing

All Students69%
Female76%
Male61%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic55%
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)76%
Free lunch eligible53%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch73%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities70%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English69%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant69%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

The different student groups are identified by the Colorado Department of Education. If there are fewer than 16 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

All Students83%
Female80%
Male85%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic80%
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)85%
Free lunch eligible68%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch90%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities89%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English82%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant83%

Reading

All Students77%
Female77%
Male77%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic67%
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)82%
Free lunch eligible63%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch86%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities82%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English78%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant77%

Writing

All Students64%
Female71%
Male57%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic63%
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)64%
Free lunch eligible37%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch80%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities69%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English65%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant64%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

The different student groups are identified by the Colorado Department of Education. If there are fewer than 16 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

All Students71%
Female74%
Male67%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic59%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)79%
Free lunch eligible59%
Reduced lunch eligible75%
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch76%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities77%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English69%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant70%

Reading

All Students72%
Female74%
Male70%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic61%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)81%
Free lunch eligible56%
Reduced lunch eligible81%
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch78%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities79%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English72%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant71%

Science

All Students48%
Female49%
Male46%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic33%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)62%
Free lunch eligible22%
Reduced lunch eligible63%
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch57%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities51%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English50%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant48%

Writing

All Students53%
Female60%
Male46%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic43%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)64%
Free lunch eligible42%
Reduced lunch eligible56%
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch59%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities58%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English55%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant54%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

The different student groups are identified by the Colorado Department of Education. If there are fewer than 16 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

All Students73%
Female72%
Male74%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asian85%
Hispanic60%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)80%
Free lunch eligible57%
Reduced lunch eligible88%
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch79%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities75%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English74%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant73%

Reading

All Students85%
Female87%
Male84%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asian90%
Hispanic78%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)88%
Free lunch eligible76%
Reduced lunch eligible88%
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch91%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities89%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English89%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant86%

Writing

All Students60%
Female67%
Male50%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asian80%
Hispanic52%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)60%
Free lunch eligible51%
Reduced lunch eligible50%
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch67%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities64%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English60%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant61%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

The different student groups are identified by the Colorado Department of Education. If there are fewer than 16 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

All Students66%
Female61%
Male75%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic61%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)69%
Free lunch eligible48%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch69%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities71%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English66%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant66%

Reading

All Students75%
Female74%
Male77%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic65%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)79%
Free lunch eligible68%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch76%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities80%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English76%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant75%

Writing

All Students74%
Female74%
Male75%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic71%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)74%
Free lunch eligible60%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch77%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities79%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English74%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant74%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

The different student groups are identified by the Colorado Department of Education. If there are fewer than 16 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

All Students79%
Female74%
Male85%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic62%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)89%
Free lunch eligible42%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch91%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities83%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English82%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant80%

Reading

All Students91%
Female92%
Male91%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic85%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)96%
Free lunch eligible75%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch96%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities92%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English92%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant92%

Science

All Students78%
Female71%
Male83%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic62%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)91%
Free lunch eligible50%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch87%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities80%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English77%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant78%

Writing

All Students79%
Female78%
Male81%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic56%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)98%
Free lunch eligible50%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch88%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities84%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English83%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant81%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

The different student groups are identified by the Colorado Department of Education. If there are fewer than 16 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
Average

Test score rating
Student growth rating

1-3 Below Average

4-7 Average

8-10 Above Average

 

How schools in the state rate:

23%
of schools in the state are Below average
52%
of schools in the state are Average
24%
of schools in the state are Above average

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

The graphs below compare this school's results in each area to other schools in the district and state.

Test score rating 20131What's this?

Test score rating examines how students at this school performed on standardized tests compared with other schools in Colorado. Test scores are based on 2012-13 TCAP results from the state of Colorado.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Student growth rating 20132What's this?

Student growth rating measures whether students at this school are making academic progress over time. Specifically, the rating looks at how much progress individual students have made on reading and math assessments during the past year or more.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Math growth at this school

Average

Reading growth at this school

Average


1 Test scores are based on 2012-13 TCAP results from the state of Colorado.

2 This rating is based on 2011-12 and 2012-13 Median Growth Percentiles in Math, English Language Arts, and Writing from the state of Colorado.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 55% 56%
Hispanic 31% 32%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 8% 3%
Two or more races 4% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 1%
Black 1% 5%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 40%N/A41%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
Assistant principal(s)
Music teacher(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school community.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Orchestra
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Fax number
  • (303) 982-8715

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Cafeteria
  • Library
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • Soccer
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Orchestra
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

9601 West Dartmouth Place
Lakewood, CO 80227
Phone: (303) 982-8714

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



Tetra Academy
Lakewood, CO





ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT