Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Bear Creek K-8 School

Public | K-8

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 4 ratings
2013:
Based on 4 ratings
2012:
Based on 4 ratings
2011:
Based on 5 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

36 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted yesterday

I definitely agree agree with these parents postings. I have a hard time finding my daughter clothes to wear to school. If there going to be this strict why are we not having the kids wear uniforms then? The school lunches definitely need to have better food. My son complains how awful it tastes. The education my kids get is great but they need to restructure the lunch and dress code better.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 11, 2014

This school blames the kid for the fault of the parents. When the lunch account goes negative they shame the kid by branding them with a sticker. Why? They have my email address and phone number and the "Parent Communication" folder. Is it necessary to label my kid for something beyond her control? Then there are the R/S/R packets and Reading Logs. Both which need signing by the parent. Apparently there is some kind of metric or bonus tied to them because when the parent forgets to sign them the student is punished by not being allowed to go to recess. Not having them signed is completely out of the control of the student. I understand that the teaching profession is a very difficult one. But these things are just petty. With regards to actual education I'm less than impressed. The teacher stressed that my child "needs to work on memorizing math facts". Memorization is only useful for passing a test. It sounds like BCK-8 has decided to play the NCLB game and get great test scores that mean nothing. I prefer my kids get an education. Don't get me started on the "improved" traffic situation. It's not only not safer but more confusing, expensive, and time consuming.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 8, 2014

We are parents of kids that are at Bear Creek k-8. They are in 7th grade at this school. We think our school is too strict and you should serve REAL food because my kid is always saying it is bad. The traffic system is also terrible as well. every morning when I drop my children off in my limo, a dang bus almost runs into me. The vice principal is much too well uh bad wordy. and they have an extremly strict dress code. the main principal is always wearing short dresses if she doesnt follow the dress code why should my kids have to? my kids are very advanced education wise though which is a benifit.; they have great education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 12, 2014

We moved here from out of state at the beginning of December and I was worried about my child being a little behind. Her teacher has been extremely helpful in getting her caught up with the other children. Every interaction I have had with the staff has been positive. It is a tough school with much more homework than we were used to, but I don't think that's necessarily a bad thing.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 15, 2013

Non flexible. I found the staff to be extremely arrogant. The middle school does not offer variety, the students are not set up for high school. I would not recommend this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 27, 2013

Excellent school. I am very grateful of the school. Principal is a great leader and very efficient. I agree that this school is not for average students. Like to see their cafeteria serves better food. Both my boys are part of this school. They love this school and most of the teachers.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 26, 2013

They challenge my kids everyday. The staff are awesome and they truly want to be there. i do feel they send a lot of homework and for a busy family it can be difficult. Overall Bear Creek K-8 is a great school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 11, 2013

Go to their website and read their Student Handbook. OMG! Sounds like a prison. We live close to this school and were looking at our options. I would not send my child here based on their handbook-- it is ridiculous!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 28, 2012

I have five kids at Bear Creek who have attended since kindergarten. We have been very happy with the education they have received.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 15, 2012

My son is currently in 3rd grade at Bear Creek. His teacher's standards are impossibly high to meet and my son has lost so much of his self confidence and love of learning in these first short months with her. If your child is not 'perfect' they will not fit in here. I am battling with my son nightly to un-do the damage that my son's teacher does to him during the day. Telling him to do his best suddenly means nothing to him. He has told me he doesn't want to try anymore because nothing he does is good enough. I am a teacher myself and it breaks my heart to see my child be so beaten up by a person who is supposed to lift him up. I have reached out to his teacher and come to the conclusion that we fundamentally disagree on how children should be treated. If you think that your child is awesome, capable, and deserving to be heard, DO NOT SEND THEM TO BEAR CREEK!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 12, 2012

I truely enjoy this school. It is a harder school and I think that my kids benefit from this. I have a daughter that graduated this year from Bear Creek High and was in the top 10% of her class. It's a little harder for my son but I push him and the teachers have been there to help him. They are willing to be in early and stay after school to help their students. The principle seems to know everyone by name and the staff too.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 19, 2012

I like this school. Teachers are wonderful.Kids have homework everyday. That is true. I stay with my kids during home work it takes 2 hours
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 12, 2011

This school is not for the C's are ok lazy kids! I love the fact that this school is hard on the kids, the last thing i want my kids to be taught is that you can go to school and just "Get By". If you are a parent that hates to sit with your child and help him thru 2 hours of homework every night then you can send them to a less involved school, as this is why you might not like Bear Creek( WEEK is for WORK, WEEKENDS are for FUN!) I love the fact that not only is Bear Creek K-8 involved with the community but they are very involved with after school activities. I am glad both of my kids are enrolled in Bear Creek K-8 as i can see that they are preparing my kids for future outstanding scores and grades. Kids will be Kids.... Bullies are at every school and if you teach you kids how to deal with bullies the right way then your chid will never have a problem. With the education Bear Creek K-8 provides please pull your kids out, if you are not happy with the 2 hours of homework or being involved with the community and want to be LAZY..... "move out the way" plenty of parents that want to give their kids the best "public education" possible will gladly take your place!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 9, 2011

I was the parent that rated 1 star and it won't allow me to edit my review. But I am changing my review. because even though the teacher didn't fallow the protocol. the Principle did take the matter Seriously and the matter appears to be resolved for now. and the kids and my kid called it truce. And I am Very Happy With that out come.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 11, 2011

We researched and visited LOTS of schools, in and out of District before we chose Bear Creek K-8. Our children have been open-enrolled at Bear Creek K-8 collectively, for the past 11 years. The older children who have moved on to high school and doing SO WELL confirms that we made the right choice in choosing BCK8. Have there been any problems along the way? Of course there has been a problem here and there, but we do not choose to focus our attention on problems. We are mature enough to understand that no school is "perfect" and no matter which school you choose, it won't be "perfect" either; Welcome to life! If we had it to do all over again, we wouldn't waste our time looking anywhere else, because, BEAR CREEK K-8 IS AWESOME and have a nice day!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 1, 2011

My daughter has attended Bear Creek K-8 for three years. She is reading 3 grade levels above hers and is half way through mastering simple multiplication. All this is second grade! Yes, the work load is higher than the surrounding schools, but I feel this will prepare my child for a brighter future and what awaits her there.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 30, 2011

I also have kids at this school 3 of them. The homework is very excessive. Most evenings can't do nothing becuase of the homework. We too have problems with bullies and they also take the bus and have alot of problems before, during, and after the bus ride. The language out of these kids mouth we do not use in our home very disrespectful. We came from differnt school and wish we had never moved to have this school there home school is has been horrible!!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 30, 2010

I have two children who are in the 4th and 3rd grades and have been at Bear Creek since Kindergarten. In so many important ways this school is excellent. Students are pushed to work above their grade but not unreasonably. Math, English and reading are highlighted but the school also excels at music, art and PE. Homework is reasonable and reinforces what is learned in class. The schools expects good behavior from all its students and enforces discipline to keep kids focused and on task. For parents who want their children to get an excellent education, who expect high standards and are prepared to support the school's efforts, I would very highly recommend Bear Creek.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 26, 2010

Currently, my child attends the 1st grade at Bear Creek. I choose to put my son in BC even though we lived out of the district because all the positives I head about it. It's been the worst decision I could have made. Not only has his tenured teacher demonstrated unprofessionalism, but her behavior towards my son has caused his self esteem and confidence to go down the tubes. During the course of the year my son suffered an emotional trauma and his teacher was directed by my sons psychologist and school administrators to provide more positive reinforcement. This also included sending home daily reports of how his day went via email. His teacher continued her negative way of discipline and pretty much refused to send the daily reports unless asked several times by myself or school administrators. My son spent 2-3 hours a night doing homework or reports (working very hard on them too!). Then would receive marginal grades for acceptable and correct work. My son no longer fits their mold and they have made it uncomfortable for him to attend. I am seeking out another school before they can cause anymore damage to my son.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 26, 2010

If your child does not fit their mold they will make it as uncomfortable as possible for your child to stay. I agree with other posts stating that the homework is excessive. Bulling is a problem. Students are chastised by teachers and other students and nothing is done about it.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 72% in 2013.

133 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
91%

2012

 
 
89%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 73% in 2013.

133 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
85%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 51% in 2013.

133 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
69%

2012

 
 
74%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 72% in 2013.

126 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
81%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 68% in 2013.

126 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
77%

2012

 
 
73%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2013.

126 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
64%

2012

 
 
53%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

139 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
71%

2012

 
 
68%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 70% in 2013.

139 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
72%

2012

 
 
75%
Science

The state average for Science was 49% in 2013.

139 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
48%

2012

 
 
52%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 57% in 2013.

139 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
53%

2012

 
 
63%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 62% in 2013.

151 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
73%

2012

 
 
78%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 73% in 2013.

151 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
85%

2012

 
 
84%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 58% in 2013.

151 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
60%

2012

 
 
64%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 55% in 2013.

121 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
66%

2012

 
 
69%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 68% in 2013.

121 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
75%

2012

 
 
84%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 61% in 2013.

121 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
74%

2012

 
 
83%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 52% in 2013.

102 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
79%

2012

 
 
81%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 67% in 2013.

102 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
91%

2012

 
 
85%
Science

The state average for Science was 52% in 2013.

102 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
78%

2012

 
 
81%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 56% in 2013.

102 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
79%

2012

 
 
78%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

All Students91%
Female92%
Male90%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic77%
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)95%
Free lunch eligible81%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch94%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities91%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English92%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant92%

Reading

All Students83%
Female87%
Male78%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic68%
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)88%
Free lunch eligible69%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch87%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities83%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English84%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant84%

Writing

All Students69%
Female76%
Male61%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic55%
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)76%
Free lunch eligible53%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch73%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities70%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English69%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant69%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

The different student groups are identified by the Colorado Department of Education. If there are fewer than 16 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

All Students83%
Female80%
Male85%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic80%
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)85%
Free lunch eligible68%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch90%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities89%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English82%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant83%

Reading

All Students77%
Female77%
Male77%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic67%
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)82%
Free lunch eligible63%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch86%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities82%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English78%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant77%

Writing

All Students64%
Female71%
Male57%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic63%
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)64%
Free lunch eligible37%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch80%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities69%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English65%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant64%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

The different student groups are identified by the Colorado Department of Education. If there are fewer than 16 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

All Students71%
Female74%
Male67%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic59%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)79%
Free lunch eligible59%
Reduced lunch eligible75%
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch76%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities77%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English69%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant70%

Reading

All Students72%
Female74%
Male70%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic61%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)81%
Free lunch eligible56%
Reduced lunch eligible81%
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch78%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities79%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English72%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant71%

Science

All Students48%
Female49%
Male46%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic33%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)62%
Free lunch eligible22%
Reduced lunch eligible63%
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch57%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities51%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English50%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant48%

Writing

All Students53%
Female60%
Male46%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic43%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)64%
Free lunch eligible42%
Reduced lunch eligible56%
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch59%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities58%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English55%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant54%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

The different student groups are identified by the Colorado Department of Education. If there are fewer than 16 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

All Students73%
Female72%
Male74%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asian85%
Hispanic60%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)80%
Free lunch eligible57%
Reduced lunch eligible88%
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch79%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities75%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English74%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant73%

Reading

All Students85%
Female87%
Male84%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asian90%
Hispanic78%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)88%
Free lunch eligible76%
Reduced lunch eligible88%
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch91%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities89%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English89%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant86%

Writing

All Students60%
Female67%
Male50%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asian80%
Hispanic52%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)60%
Free lunch eligible51%
Reduced lunch eligible50%
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch67%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities64%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English60%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant61%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

The different student groups are identified by the Colorado Department of Education. If there are fewer than 16 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

All Students66%
Female61%
Male75%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic61%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)69%
Free lunch eligible48%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch69%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities71%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English66%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant66%

Reading

All Students75%
Female74%
Male77%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic65%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)79%
Free lunch eligible68%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch76%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities80%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English76%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant75%

Writing

All Students74%
Female74%
Male75%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic71%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)74%
Free lunch eligible60%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch77%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities79%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English74%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant74%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

The different student groups are identified by the Colorado Department of Education. If there are fewer than 16 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

All Students79%
Female74%
Male85%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic62%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)89%
Free lunch eligible42%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch91%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities83%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English82%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant80%

Reading

All Students91%
Female92%
Male91%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic85%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)96%
Free lunch eligible75%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch96%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities92%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English92%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant92%

Science

All Students78%
Female71%
Male83%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic62%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)91%
Free lunch eligible50%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch87%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities80%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English77%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant78%

Writing

All Students79%
Female78%
Male81%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic56%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)98%
Free lunch eligible50%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch88%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities84%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English83%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant81%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

The different student groups are identified by the Colorado Department of Education. If there are fewer than 16 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
Average

Test score rating
Student growth rating

1-3 Below Average

4-7 Average

8-10 Above Average

 

How schools in the state rate:

23%
of schools in the state are Below average
52%
of schools in the state are Average
24%
of schools in the state are Above average

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

The graphs below compare this school's results in each area to other schools in the district and state.

Test score rating 20131What's this?

Test score rating examines how students at this school performed on standardized tests compared with other schools in Colorado. Test scores are based on 2012-13 TCAP results from the state of Colorado.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Student growth rating 20132What's this?

Student growth rating measures whether students at this school are making academic progress over time. Specifically, the rating looks at how much progress individual students have made on reading and math assessments during the past year or more.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Math growth at this school

Average

Reading growth at this school

Average


1 Test scores are based on 2012-13 TCAP results from the state of Colorado.

2 This rating is based on 2011-12 and 2012-13 Median Growth Percentiles in Math, English Language Arts, and Writing from the state of Colorado.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 55% 56%
Hispanic 31% 32%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 8% 3%
Two or more races 4% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 1%
Black 1% 5%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 40%N/A41%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
Assistant principal(s)
Music teacher(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school community.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Orchestra
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Fax number
  • (303) 982-8715

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Cafeteria
  • Library
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • Soccer
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Orchestra
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

9601 West Dartmouth Place
Lakewood, CO 80227
Phone: (303) 982-8714

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



Tetra Academy
Lakewood, CO





ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT