Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Bear Creek High School

Public | 9-12

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

18 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted September 9, 2014

I'm a freshman at Bear Creek High School and I wouldn't have it any other way! I am taking all honors classes and am just so happy to be excelling in school! All the teachers are so kind! There are no high school stereotypes here. All students are friendly to each other, racism does not exist. Also, the upperclassmen here are so nice to the freshman and they always ask if we need help getting to class! They haven't been wrong once! I LOVE THIS SCHOOL, THE PRINCIPAL, AND EVERYTHING ABOUT IT!
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 25, 2014

This school goes out of its way to ensure student success. It is an academically oriented campus with quality instruction. The communication between the school and the home is excellent !!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 3, 2013

We've been extremely impressed with Bear Creek - our son came from a private school and he is definitely excelling with plenty of challenging opportunities for growth and learning! The STEM program is excellent as well.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 27, 2013

I loved going to Bear Creek! I think their AP program was very diverse and adequately prepared me for college. I go to Purdue University for engineering where the majority of my classmates graduated from private high schools. However because of my AP experience I have no problems keeping up with the course load or difficult material.
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 19, 2012

My son is in 12 th grade. This is great school. they have Excellent teachers and strong helpful counselors . I want give 5 stars for this school rate
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 5, 2011

I love being a bear! I wouldn't have it any other way. Don't get me wrong, there are a few minor rules I don't agree with like the new grading system, but overall, Bear Creek is one awesome high school. The majority of the students are friendly and accepting. You're not going to find the typical high school stereo types here. Most of the students have great relationships with the staff. You'll see a girl asking a security guard if she wants anything from Starbucks haha. As much as I love my high school, I'm SO excited to be graduating. CLASS OF 2011!!!
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 7, 2009

I had two students graduate from Bear Creek High School, I feel that their education was delivered in a professional way. If my students ever had a issue with any class they went to the teacher and received help..For extracurricular activities they have an abundance of them you and your student need to research what they have...
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 31, 2009

I rate Bear Creek at 4.5 now. They have great, helpfull stuff and beautifull new school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 17, 2009

I am a Senior and am very pleased with the extent of the AP program at the school. The new building is also an added bonus that makes it even better.
—Submitted by a student


Posted December 28, 2007

I loved going to this school. The classes challenged my abilities and made me think outside the box. The teachers care about there students. The environment is amazing and I am glad that I graduated a Proud Bear. The never accept less then your best and I love that. I still had a life and I received an exceptional education in the process.
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 28, 2007

I am both a parent of a Senior and a former graduate of Bear Creek. I thrived at Bear Creek, and I have to say so does my daughter. It has a very supportive staff. The teachers are very dedicated and the counselors are also committed to the well being of the students. I have gotten to know some of the Administrators and I have to say they do a good job with the leadership at Bear Creek.I substitute teach for Jeffco. I feel this school is one of the best in the district and possibly one of the best in the state. I'm excited for the new school, even though we won't be there anymore. The school spirit and athletics run high at BC and academically it is very challenging with so many AP classes and an extensive World Language Dept. Go Bears!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 5, 2005

this is a great school. the expectaions are high and therefore students rise to the level they need to achive the goals. the teachers are wonderful and are very good with helping the students. class sizes are rather large, but over all it is a wonderful school to place your child into.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 12, 2004

Because I have a daughter already graduated and some currently going to this school I have a unique perspective on the results. My daughter is doing exceptionally well in the sciences and I do believe it's because of the excellent faculty and disciplined instruction i.e. Advanced Placement courses offered. You get what you put into this school. The key is participation, whether it be in the Sciences, Arts, and all Academics. As for sports, they have proven to enhance the experience of high school and improve grades.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 29, 2004

It seems to me that Bear Creek is a wonderful school. Yes, there may be those who believe that the school is concerned more about sports than academics. But, there are also those who believe the opposite. Parents are key here. If more parents were to be involved and not put all the blame on teachers, we may have a more involved student. We all need to work together to make a great school. If we don't have participation from students, parents and teachers as a whole, then, yes there will be problems. Let's work together to make Bear Creek all that it can be. I personally believe this school has a lot of heart. Je
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 18, 2004

It's easy to slip in between the cracks at BCHS. Academic and disiplinary problems are ignored completly. Sports are the main interest, and academics falter in the shadows. The big problem is that you have a staff that no longer cares. Skip class...so? You don't get this...too bad. BCHS is content being less then mediocre and their additudes work on the students.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted May 20, 2004

The administration and teachers at BCHS are dedicated to student success and refuse to let students slip between the cracks. They are persistant in contacting parents when there is a problem, either academic or disciplinary, and believe in holding students accountable for high performance.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted February 23, 2004

I have noticed more concern over sports than the importance of education at BCHS. The whole school seems to be tired and uninterested in it's primary job of educating students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 28, 2003

Proactive parents and students are frustrated from the lack of concern and involvement from the principal and teaching staff. Academic expectations are non existent at BCHS.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 39% in 2013.

462 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
40%

2012

 
 
42%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 68% in 2013.

462 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
67%

2012

 
 
67%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 55% in 2013.

462 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
56%

2012

 
 
50%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 34% in 2013.

448 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
36%

2012

 
 
34%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 70% in 2013.

448 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
74%

2012

 
 
67%
Science

The state average for Science was 51% in 2013.

448 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
56%

2012

 
 
49%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 49% in 2013.

448 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
53%

2012

 
 
44%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

All Students40%
Female41%
Male39%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asian63%
Hispanic30%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)44%
Free lunch eligible25%
Reduced lunch eligible40%
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch48%
Students with disabilities (IEP)6%
Students without disabilities42%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)19%
Proficient in English40%
Migrantn/a
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant40%

Reading

All Students67%
Female74%
Male61%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asian73%
Hispanic60%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)70%
Free lunch eligible49%
Reduced lunch eligible70%
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch77%
Students with disabilities (IEP)12%
Students without disabilities71%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)6%
Proficient in English69%
Migrantn/a
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant68%

Writing

All Students56%
Female64%
Male48%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asian67%
Hispanic45%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)61%
Free lunch eligible39%
Reduced lunch eligible54%
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch65%
Students with disabilities (IEP)3%
Students without disabilities60%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)13%
Proficient in English57%
Migrantn/a
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant56%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

The different student groups are identified by the Colorado Department of Education. If there are fewer than 16 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

All Students36%
Female30%
Male42%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asian74%
Hispanic29%
Multiracial30%
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)38%
Free lunch eligible23%
Reduced lunch eligible28%
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch44%
Students with disabilities (IEP)3%
Students without disabilities39%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English36%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant36%

Reading

All Students74%
Female79%
Male71%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asian93%
Hispanic70%
Multiracial80%
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)75%
Free lunch eligible66%
Reduced lunch eligible66%
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch79%
Students with disabilities (IEP)16%
Students without disabilities79%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English75%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant75%

Science

All Students56%
Female53%
Male59%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asian82%
Hispanic46%
Multiracial45%
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)61%
Free lunch eligible39%
Reduced lunch eligible47%
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch65%
Students with disabilities (IEP)13%
Students without disabilities59%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English57%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant56%

Writing

All Students53%
Female61%
Male45%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asian82%
Hispanic43%
Multiracial45%
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)57%
Free lunch eligible37%
Reduced lunch eligible45%
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch61%
Students with disabilities (IEP)3%
Students without disabilities57%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English54%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant53%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

The different student groups are identified by the Colorado Department of Education. If there are fewer than 16 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
Average

Test score rating
Student growth rating
College readiness rating

1-3 Below Average

4-7 Average

8-10 Above Average

 

How schools in the state rate:

23%
of schools in the state are Below average
52%
of schools in the state are Average
24%
of schools in the state are Above average

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

The graphs below compare this school's results in each area to other schools in the district and state.

Test score rating 20131What's this?

Test score rating examines how students at this school performed on standardized tests compared with other schools in Colorado. Test scores are based on 2012-13 TCAP results from the state of Colorado.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Student growth rating 20132What's this?

Student growth rating measures whether students at this school are making academic progress over time. Specifically, the rating looks at how much progress individual students have made on reading and math assessments during the past year or more.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Math growth at this school

Average

Reading growth at this school

Below Average


College readiness rating 20133What's this?

College readiness rating combines this high school's graduation rates with data about college entrance exams, both of which are indicators of how well schools are preparing students for success in college and beyond.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

ACT participation

95%

Average ACT score

20

Graduation rate

93%


1 Test scores are based on 2012-13 TCAP results from the state of Colorado.

2 This rating is based on 2011-12 and 2012-13 Median Growth Percentiles in Math, English Language Arts, and Writing from the state of Colorado.

3 This rating is based on composite ACT scores from 2012-13 and four-year adjusted graduation rates from 2011-12. ACT participation represents the percentage of 11th graders taking the ACT. Because the ACT is mandated in Colorado high schools, ACT participation is NOT included in the GreatSchools rating.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 56% 56%
Hispanic 32% 32%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 6% 3%
Two or more races 3% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 1%
Black 1% 5%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 35%N/A41%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Assistant principal(s)
ELL/ESL Coordinator
Librarian/media specialist(s)
School social worker/counselors(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school community.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Arts & music

Music
  • Band

Language learning

Staff resources available to students
  • ELL/ESL Coordinator
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Fax number
  • (303) 982-8856

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • ELL/ESL Coordinator
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Cafeteria
  • Library
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
  • Basketball
  • Football
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Cross country

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

9800 West Dartmouth Place
Lakewood, CO 80227
Website: Click here
Phone: (303) 982-8855

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



Tetra Academy
Lakewood, CO




Colorado Academy
Denver, CO


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT