Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Carmody Middle School

Public | 7-8 | 665 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 3 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

15 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted June 22, 2014

I give it a one because I came here in the middle of the year and they were very unclear about what was expected and the grading system. They did not explain to me what work habits was or anything else. The Library at the school is never open and the classes are boring and easy. I felt like i was being handed the answers, already knew everything on every test it was not a challenge at all and I was highly disappointed. Coming from my old school I was in all advanced placement were they teach you two years above grade level. I came to Carmody and they put me in grade level classes. I ended the year with strait A's in every class and I did not even have to try. I love learning and being challenged and a this school I learned nothing and was not challenged in the slightest.


Posted April 28, 2014

We have had a great two years at Carmody. The leadership and teachers are supportive of the students, no-nonsense about child safety, supportive of parents, and serious about educating the children. Although there are always areas for improvement, I feel that overall Carmody does a good job with the limited resources they have. I am disappointed in the parental involvement, however. With more parental involvement, the school could do great things.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 23, 2013

Carmody is an excellent school. The majority of the teachers are top notch, committed and always available for questions or help for the kids. The principal is a great leader and sets the tone for the entire school. He will not tolerate bullying and is always responsive. Not a huge fan of test scores but for those of you who live by them, Carmody had a double digit increase in scores last year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 28, 2013

My child just finished her 7th grade year at Carmody. Our family is extremely satisfied. This is not our home school, we chose to open enroll here. Liked things such as the after school program and open lab. Teachers are available twice a week for an hour after school. Students can get help with homework, make up missed work, and re-work items with low grades. The teachers are extremely dedicated and turnover is low compared to our past school. I believe they would stay any day of the week to help a child if you asked them to. Emails to the principal and teachers were returned within 48 hours, often within an hour - even if it was the weekend. Grades are posted online in a timely matter so the student knows where they stand. The counselor was instrumental in determining that my child was on the right academic path for her skill level. Respect for others is openly valued and encouraged in the weekly video announcements. The most valuable asset the staff and principal have is their willingness to try new things - such as the additional reading block for 7th graders this year. In order to increase future student achievement, the school should increase the amount of homework given.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 22, 2011

As a parent of children who attend and have attended Carmody, I am very pleased with their academic and social progress. The teachers are more then helpful and are always willing to help the children succeed. The environment is welcoming and the Principal is always interacting with the children and families. After school clubs are available on a daily basis. also, open lab is a great avenue for children needing extra help to stay on track. As we all know, we do have a choice on what school to send our children. As an educated parent, my choice is Carmody!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 13, 2011

Carmody is an overflow school for low scoring, low grade rating, low income community. Kids that can not cut it at surrounding choice schools are using this school as a last resort. The revamp of the school was great but a waste of money if the test scores are low and the problem children are attending this school. I am sure their are a few great teachers and staff, but everyone that knows this community or is a Colorado native knows the bad schools in colorado and this is one of them. I would never send a highly gifted, high scoring child to this school as they will become average and end up at Kennedy High School :(
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 31, 2011

Carmody has far exceeded my expectations as a parent. Simply taking a tour of the school doesn't do it justice. If you're a parent researching middle schools in the area, I suggest you chat with the parents and kids at the school. The teachers and staff are so involved and they seem to really enjoy teaching these kids. On the same note, the kids I know who go there love school and take pride in being a student at Carmody. There are far too many parent elitist in this district that give Carmody a bad rap and when you ask them why that can't even give one valid reason. So until you actually have a kid in the school, don't bag on it because there are many, many parents and students in the community who are proud of their home school of Carmody.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 2, 2010

My son currently attends Carmody and I would say the experience has been overall pretty good. I was very surprised about the diversity of this school, ecspecially the amount of hispanic and African American Students since I attended 17 years ago and my sister attended 9 years ago. Also, the teachers are great and involved, and the after school program is great. Overall, I am pleased.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 3, 2010

I currently attend Carmody and it has been wonderful. They have a great 'open lab' program afterschool Tuesday's and thursday's for kids who want extra help. I ma very satisfied- the teachers are great and helpful. This school school is one of the best i've seen.
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 2, 2009

I went to Carmody 30 years ago, and now my boys go there. It is a great little school full of awesome kids and teachers. In the face of recent budget cuts it is one of the schools that might be closing. That would be very sad :( Save our school!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 2, 2008

This school is very exceptionall but some of the teachers i would like replaced
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 12, 2008

I have my 4th child at Carmody Middle School. My experience with all 4 children has been great. Two of my children came from Elementary School with low self-esteem and Carmody's teachers managed to lift their self-esteem and make them believe that all things were possible. All four of my children have flourished both at Carmody and Bear Creek HS. Good Job Carmody!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 17, 2007

To me honestly i think Carmody Middle School is great, but there are some things I think Carmody should change. One thing they should change is their food. I am currently a student at Carmody and I believe that some food at Carmody is great, but making kids volunteer to help kids their own age out? Not really effective. Another thing I think should be changed at Carmody is their discipline system. Carmody to me is truly 50-50.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted June 1, 2005

Carmody Middle School is rated as a 4 star school the only thing they fail to mention is how they control child with fear. Fear of bringing in law enforcement for an arguement with another child. Fear of detention if you are not seated in your seat when the bell rings. Fear of being a child. As for the academic, I would rate it as good. Some of the electives are just walked thru such as choir. Parents are not told of the threatening tactics the Assistant Principals use to decipline children. All code of conduct violations are handled with out of school suspension or explusion, which is not productive.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 9, 2003

One of my sons went to Carmody MS and the 2nd in currently enrolled there. I wanted to add my comment in the hopes of encouraging other parents with special needs children. For different reasons both my sons are special needs students. In my experience, Carmody has a wonderful Special Needs program. My oldest son in now a junior and is in all regular ed classes. He is doing well and believe it or not he is even taking Japanese as a foreign language. My 2nd son has difficulty reading and spelling. Since he has been in the special reading class at Carmody, I have seen a remarkable improvement in his reading. The teachers and staff at Carmody helped me help my kids and I appreciate all their efforts. If anyone asks if Carmody is a good school for their kids I would have to say yes.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 55% in 2013.

274 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
59%

2012

 
 
49%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 68% in 2013.

274 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
77%

2012

 
 
71%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 61% in 2013.

274 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
72%

2012

 
 
60%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 52% in 2013.

365 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
44%

2012

 
 
46%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 67% in 2013.

365 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
65%

2012

 
 
66%
Science

The state average for Science was 52% in 2013.

365 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
53%

2012

 
 
52%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 56% in 2013.

365 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
56%

2012

 
 
49%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

All Students59%
Female63%
Male56%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic45%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)67%
Free lunch eligible49%
Reduced lunch eligible46%
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch69%
Students with disabilities (IEP)27%
Students without disabilities63%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English62%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant59%

Reading

All Students77%
Female83%
Male73%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic66%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)84%
Free lunch eligible69%
Reduced lunch eligible72%
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch84%
Students with disabilities (IEP)23%
Students without disabilities84%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English79%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant77%

Writing

All Students72%
Female84%
Male62%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic60%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)80%
Free lunch eligible64%
Reduced lunch eligible72%
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch78%
Students with disabilities (IEP)17%
Students without disabilities79%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English74%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant72%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

The different student groups are identified by the Colorado Department of Education. If there are fewer than 16 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

All Students44%
Female43%
Male46%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic35%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)49%
Free lunch eligible29%
Reduced lunch eligible31%
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch57%
Students with disabilities (IEP)3%
Students without disabilities48%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English46%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant44%

Reading

All Students65%
Female72%
Male59%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic50%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)74%
Free lunch eligible52%
Reduced lunch eligible60%
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch74%
Students with disabilities (IEP)13%
Students without disabilities70%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English67%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant65%

Science

All Students53%
Female51%
Male54%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic35%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)61%
Free lunch eligible36%
Reduced lunch eligible45%
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch65%
Students with disabilities (IEP)10%
Students without disabilities57%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English55%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant53%

Writing

All Students56%
Female66%
Male46%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic45%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)61%
Free lunch eligible43%
Reduced lunch eligible45%
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch66%
Students with disabilities (IEP)7%
Students without disabilities60%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English57%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant56%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

The different student groups are identified by the Colorado Department of Education. If there are fewer than 16 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
Average

Test score rating
Student growth rating

1-3 Below Average

4-7 Average

8-10 Above Average

 

How schools in the state rate:

23%
of schools in the state are Below average
52%
of schools in the state are Average
24%
of schools in the state are Above average

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

The graphs below compare this school's results in each area to other schools in the district and state.

Test score rating 20131What's this?

Test score rating examines how students at this school performed on standardized tests compared with other schools in Colorado. Test scores are based on 2012-13 TCAP results from the state of Colorado.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Student growth rating 20132What's this?

Student growth rating measures whether students at this school are making academic progress over time. Specifically, the rating looks at how much progress individual students have made on reading and math assessments during the past year or more.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Math growth at this school

Average

Reading growth at this school

Average


1 Test scores are based on 2012-13 TCAP results from the state of Colorado.

2 This rating is based on 2011-12 and 2012-13 Median Growth Percentiles in Math, English Language Arts, and Writing from the state of Colorado.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 59% 56%
Hispanic 33% 32%
Two or more races 3% 3%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 2% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 1%
Black 1% 5%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 48%N/A41%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
ELL/ESL Coordinator
Librarian/media specialist(s)
PE instructor(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school community.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
Visual arts
  • Photography
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Jazz band
Performing and written arts
  • Dance

Language learning

Staff resources available to students
  • ELL/ESL Coordinator

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • PE instructor(s)
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • ELL/ESL Coordinator
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Cafeteria
  • Library
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Photography
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Jazz band
Performing arts
  • Dance
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

2050 South Kipling St
Lakewood, CO 80227
Phone: (303) 982-8930

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools






Tetra Academy
Lakewood, CO


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT